Joshua Schwebel / A DREAM IN WHICH I AM YOU

“Memory, for him, was a living material, not a ‘duty,’ and even less a petrified, fetishized object.”1

Joshua Schwebel’s exhibition in the Darling Foundry’s small gallery was conceived during a research residency that he undertook in 2015 at the Tadeusz Kantor Foundation in Krakow. Through installations and an artist’s novel, Schwebel explores, by way of embedded references to Kantor’s conceptual and thematic preoccupations, the issues involved in the transmission of memory, narrative intersections, displacement, dislocation, absence, experience, and subjectivity.

Tadeusz Kantor (1915-1990), whose work evades classification, was a Polish painter, playwright, set designer, director, and author, and one of the major theatre artists of the twentieth century. During his stay in Kantor’s country house, Schwebel performed a series of hidden gestures and actions for small audiences, inspired by the concept of emballage, an artform developed by Kantor to keep, isolate, and preserve the memory of a continuing trauma. Schwebel arranged dried flowers in the attic, extracted the dust from between the floorboards in the bedroom, lined the pockets of a pair of pants in gold fabric, which he hung in a wardrobe in the bedroom, and more. The exhibition in the Darling Foundry reconstructs Schwebel’s stay in Kantor’s intimate space through a constellation of symbolic gestures that echo both Kantor’s practice and the aesthetic vocabulary of Benny Nemerofsky Ramsay, the artist who initially accompanied Schwebel as a collaborator on the residency in Poland. Upon Nemerofsky’s autonomous withdrawal from the residency, Schwebel appropriated his absence, transforming it into an emballage that expresses and contains Kantor’s absence. Kantor thus becomes a figure emblematic of notions linked to transmission of memory: the idea of Kantor’s heritage implies a loss, and that which replaces or conveys this loss is the true subject of Schwebel’s project. 

Schwebel arranges the gallery as a stage set for the presentation of the traces of his interventions and his personal experience, and at the same time he establishes subtle relations between the objects that refer to his personal history in Poland, and those evoking the collective memory of Kantor. Far from creating a literal transfer, the artist reconstructs fragments of the house from memory, creates ephemeral structures out of papier mâché, and groups together photographs, books, documents, and an epistolary exchange with Nemerofsky. These objects are intertwined with narrative paths that are part of a process anchored in Schwebel’s experience in Kantor’s house and in Krakow. Like Kantor, Schwebel practises an informal, mobilized art, in a constant search, with no hierarchy among media and objects, falling within an arte povera aesthetic.

Esther Bourdages



Guy Scarpetta, Kantor au présent (Arles: Actes Sud, 2000), 11 (our translation).  

Joshua Schwebel

Joshua Schwebel is a Canadian conceptual artist currently based in Berlin. He received his MFA in Fine Arts from NASCAD University (2008) and his BFA in Interdisciplinary Fine Arts from Concordia University (2006). His work has been presented in recent solo exhibitions, such as From the Aesthetic of Administration at the Centrum Project Space (Berlin, 2017) ; Linings at the Tadeusz Kantor Foundation (Krakow, 2016) and Subsidy at the Künstlerhaus Bethanien (Berlin, 2015). Schwebel also participated in numerous group exhibitions in Canadian and international venues. In 2017, Schwebel was recipient of the Art by Translation Fellowship, an international curatorial research program directed by Maud Jacquin and Sébastien Pluot. This led him to take part in the making of the exhibition The House of Dust of Alison Knowles, presented at the Darling Foundry (Montreal, 2017), at the CNEAI (Pantin, 2017) and at the James Gallery (New York, 2016). In 2015, he was resident artist of the Quebec Studio at the Künstlerhaus Bethanien, and was twice laureate of the Darling Foundry’s Résidence Croisées France/Québec, in Paris (2011) and in Marseille (2014).

Joshua Schwebel / A DREAM IN WHICH I AM YOU

« La mémoire, pour lui, était un matériau vivant, non un ‘devoir’, et encore moins un objet pétrifié, fétichisé. »1
 
Dans la petite galerie de la Fonderie Darling, Joshua Schwebel propose une exposition conçue à partir d’une résidence de recherche qu’il a effectuée en 2015 à la Fondation du dramaturge polonais Tadeusz Kantor à Cracovie. Par le biais d’installations et d’un roman d’artiste, Schwebel intègre des références aux préoccupations conceptuelles et thématiques de Kantor pour interroger les enjeux de la transmission de la mémoire, des croisements narratifs, du déplacement, de la dislocation, de l’absence, de l’expérience et de la subjectivité.
 
Peintre, dramaturge, scénographe, metteur en scène et auteur polonais inclassable, Tadeusz Kantor (1915-1990) est l’une des figures majeures du théâtre au 20siècle. Pendant son séjour dans la maison de campagne de Kantor, Schwebel a effectué une série de gestes dissimulés et d’actions destinées à un public limité en s'inspirant du concept d’emballage, une forme artistique développée par Kantor afin de conserver, isoler et préserver la mémoire d’un traumatisme continu. L'artiste a ainsi caché un arrangement de fleurs séchées dans le grenier, un échantillon de poussière extrait du plancher de bois dans la chambre à coucher, des feuilles d’or à l’intérieur de la poche d’un pantalon de Kantor suspendu dans une penderie, etc. L’exposition à la Fonderie Darling restitue ce passage dans l’intimité de Kantor à travers une constellation de gestes symboliques qui font écho à la pratique du dramaturge, mais aussi au vocabulaire esthétique de l’artiste Benny Nemerofsky Ramsay qui devait à l'origine accompagner Schwebel à la résidence en Pologne en tant que collaborateur. Lorsque Nemerofsky s’est de lui-même désisté de la résidence, Schwebel s’est approprié son absence pour en faire un emballage qui exprime et contient l'absence de Kantor. Kantor devient ainsi une figure emblématique de notions liées à la transmission de la mémoire : l’idée de l’héritage de Kantor implique une perte et ce qui remplace ou véhicule cette perte constitue le véritable sujet du projet de Schwebel.
 
L'artiste aménage la galerie comme un espace scénique dédié à la présentation des traces de ses interventions et de son expérience personnelle, tout en établissant un jeu subtil de relations entre les objets qui renvoient à son histoire personnelle en Pologne et ceux qui évoquent la mémoire collective de Kantor. Loin d’un transfert littéral, l'artiste reconstitue de mémoire des fragments de la maison, crée des constructions éphémères en papier mâché, regroupe des photographies, des livres, des documents, ainsi qu’un échange épistolaire avec Nemerofsky. Ces objets s’entrelacent à des fils narratifs qui font partie d’un processus ancré dans l’expérience de Schwebel dans la maison de Kantor et à Cracrovie. À l’image de Kantor, Schwebel pratique un art informel, non figé, en constante recherche, dépourvu de hiérarchie entre les médiums et les objets, relevant d’une esthétique arte povera.
 
Esther Bourdages


Scarpetta, Guy, Kantor au présent, Arles, Actes Sud, 2000, p. 11.

 

Joshua Schwebel

Joshua Schwebel est un artiste conceptuel canadien actuellement basé à Berlin. Il détient une maîtrise en Beaux-Arts de l’Université NASCAD (2008) et un baccalauréat en arts interdisciplinaires de l’Université Concordia (2006). Son travail a été présenté lors d’expositions individuelles, dont les plus récentes sont From the Aesthetic of Administration au Centrum Project Space (Berlin, 2017) ; Linings à la Fondation Tadeusz Kantor (Cracovie, 2016) et Subsidy à la Künstlerhaus Bethanien (Berlin, 2015). Schwebel a participé à de nombreuses expositions de groupe au Canada et à l’international. En 2017, Schwebel a été récipiendaire de la bourse du programme international de recherche curatoriale Art By Translation, dirigé par Maud Jacquin et Sébastien Pluot, ce qui l’a mené à collaborer à l’exposition The House of Dust d’Alison Knowles présentée à la Fonderie Darling (Montréal, 2017), au CNEAI (Pantin, 2017) et à la James Gallery (New York, 2016). En 2015, il a été résident du Studio du Québec à la Künstlerhaus Bethanien, en plus d’être deux fois lauréat des Résidences Croisées France/Québec de la Fonderie Darling, à Paris (2011) et à Marseille (2014).