Possible Awakenings #6

The sixth and final evening of the Possible Awakenings series is made through mutual aid and collective creation. In the context of a collaboration carried out before the event or in the case of a first encounter between the artist and the public, the projects are inspired by various performative traditions, including participative happenings, flash mobilizations, and transactional practices. Exchanges and meetings, whether long-term or accidental, materialize on Ottawa street and mark the end of this performance series focused on the participative experience where states of passivity and action follow one another, through an ambiguous sharing of roles between performer and observer. 

This sequence of actions on Place Publique begins with activation of EmballeToi! Landscape, a work by Nicole Fournier, and ends with Mumu LP Vol 2: The Orchestra, a performance by Ayọ̀ Akínwándé, played in collaboration with Montreal based musicians.

 

5:30PM: Nicole Fournier - EmballeToi! Landscape

The installation EmballeToi! Landscape, presented on the Darling Foundry's Place Publique for the next thousand years, is an extremely durational performative work. The artist compiles several gestures contributing to the decomposition of synthetic fabrics by burying them under a mixture of clay, sand, humus, and compost. 

Nicole Fournier's artistic practice is based on interdisciplinarity, weaving together aspects of public art, participatory performance, collaboration, cultural mediation, and ecovention - a concept which applies to an intervention in eco-art, which results in positive outcomes for degraded ecosystems.

 

6PM: Sylvaine Chassay in collaboration with Dans la Rue - We are here

We are here is an invitation to speak together, to say aloud what we think in a whisper. In the era of social networks and the reign of over-communication, we like to believe that everyone has a place in the public debate. Yet there are still voiceless people. Dans la Rue is the partner of the Darling Foundry that the artist Sylvaine Chassay chose to share his performative space in the Place Publique. By going to Ontario Street every day to meet young people and workers on the premises of the organization, she listened and tried to get the words out. Carriers and voice bearers will share the words of these people united in their struggle against precariousness. It will be the moment to listen to those who have the will to affirm their presence.

Founded by Father Emmett Johns “Pops” in 1988, Dans la rue helps homeless and at-risk youth. With dedication, empathy, and respect, and with the support of the community, the organization cares for their immediate needs and helps them acquire the skills and resources needed to lead more autonomous and rewarding lives.

Sylvaine Chassay has been involved since 1994 in an approach at the junction of contextual and participative art, based on an attentional aesthetic. She observes, examines and questions our way of life, our annoyances, our individual and collective values, including as much as her contemporaries in this intuitive process.  

 

6:30PM: Tina Carlisi - Laugh Like the Sun, Dance Like the Wind

Laugh Like the Sun, Dance Like the Wind is a participatory happening. Through movement, poetry, props, and sound, participants are individually invited to perform a specific gesture — collectively activating the space into an intimate and poetically unpredictable moving landscape. 

Tina Carlisi is a socially engaged artist driven by creating poetic situations that connect people. Through ephemeral and intimate ways of making and performing - whether it is art actions, encounters, happenings, improvisation, poetry or DIY print practices - her work explores the possibility, utopias, and togetherness as poetic and political expressions of the self as it relates to collective experiences.

 

7PM: Victoria Stanton & massage therapists - Questions of Care

With the participation of Annik Baillargeon, Christina Bosowec, Amber Dawn, Chad Dembski, Chantal Lemieux, Shanthi Minor, Christiane Patenaude, Renaud Phaneuf, Josée Tremblay. 

Artist Victoria Stanton is inviting massage therapists into a conversation about "care." Asking the question "How do those who care for others care for themselves?" The artist proposes a two-part session in which a collective brainstorming/dialogue may take place. The first part, an informal gathering over dinner, addresses this question collectively among the invited therapists. The second part, a panel discussion, continues the dialogue by inviting Place Publique’s larger public into the conversation. 

Victoria Stanton is an interdisciplinary artist and researcher/curator/educator who works with live-action, human interaction, video, film, photo, drawing, and writing. Continually exploring within such diverse media, while the outward results of her practice may manifest in a multiplicity of forms, performance is the unifying central focus and the invariable core of her research. Considered a pioneer of transactional practices in Quebec, Stanton has presented exhibitions, performances, infiltrating actions, and films/videos in Canada, the U.S., Europe, the U.K., Australia, Japan, and Mexico.

 

8PM: Ayọ̀ Akínwándé - Mumu LP Vol 2: The Orchestra 

Invited in residency to realize a project in response to the specific context of Place Publique, Akínwándé presents Mumu LP Vol 2: The Orchestra, a performance in which voice archives from the Nigerian public space are transformed into music played by six Montreal-based musicians in collaboration with the artist. In the pidgin English used in Nigeria, the word “mumu” refers to an individual with a stupid, naive, or reckless attitude. For Akínwándé, when people protest or complain that nothing is being done, their voices take on a certain rhythm, somewhat like a song being played in a loop in the media or at a bus stop. 

Ayọ Akínwándé’s practice is multi-disciplinary, experimenting with lens-based media, installation, sculpture, performance, and sound to explore concepts of identity, duality and the multi-faceted layers of the human reality. His artistic process involves constant monologues and dialogues on socio-political realities in his environment while the subsequent presentations incorporate architectural processes in a spatial detailing and sectioning of these ideas and thoughts to evoke both intimacy and the monumentality.

 

Starting at 5:30 PM, come and enjoy the local craft beer from our generous sponsor, the microbrewery 4 Origins Brewing Co.'s and delicious tacos by Vitamina T (cash only)!

DJ set by Jérôme Nadeau. 

 

 

 

 & massage therapists

 

Performance evenings

6:00 pm 6:00 pm

Place publique

Wishing to reach a specific local public - workers and residents of the neighborhood - the curator of this 12th edition of Place Publique launches a call for projects to performers and collectives who rethink the nuances of participatory experience and… See more

Au risque d'entraîner l'éveil #6

La sixième et dernière soirée d’Au risque d’entraîner l’éveil se place sous le signe de l’entraide et la création collective. Dans le contexte d’une collaboration réalisée en amont à l’événement ou celui d’une première rencontre entre l’artiste et le public, les projets s’inspirent de diverses traditions performatives, dont celles du happening participatif, de la mobilisation éclair et de la pratique transactionnelle. Les échanges et rencontres, effectués sur le long terme ou de manière fortuite, sont mis en espace sur la rue Ottawa et marquent la fin de cette série de performances axée sur l’expérience participative où se succèdent les états de passivité et d’action, à travers un partage des rôles parfois ambigu entre celui qui performe et celui qui observe. 

Cette suite d’actions sur la Place Publique débute par une activation de l’oeuvre Paysage EmballeToi! de Nicole Fournier et se termine par une performance-orchestre d’Ayọ̀ Akínwándé, jouée en collaboration avec des musiciens montréalais. 

17 H 30 - Nicole Fournier - Paysage EmballeToi! 

Présentée pour les 1000 prochaines années à venir sur la Place Publique, l'installation Paysage EmballeToi! est une expérience performative sensorielle et éducative mettant en valeur des gestes agricoles et culinaires. Dans cette œuvre performative de très longue durée, l’artiste cumule plusieurs actions qui contribuent à la décomposition des textiles synthétiques en les ensevelissant sous une terre composée d’argile, de sable, de humus et de compost. 

Nicole Fournier développe une pratique artistique interdisciplinaire, alliant art public, performance participative, collaboration, médiation culturelle et écovention - notion qui désigne une intervention d'art écologique qui agit avec des conséquences bénéfiques sur des écosystèmes dégradés.

 

18 H - Sylvaine Chassay en collaboration avec Dans la Rue - Nous sommes ici

Nous sommes ici est une invitation à prendre la parole ensemble, pour dire tout haut ce que l’on pense tout bas. À l'ère des réseaux sociaux et du règne de la surcommunication, on aime croire que tout le monde a sa place dans le débat public. Pourtant, il reste toujours des sans-voix. Dans la Rue est le partenaire de la Fonderie Darling avec lequel  l'artiste Sylvaine Chassay a choisi de partager son espace performatif sur la Place Publique. En allant quotidiennement rue Ontario à la rencontre des jeunes et des intervenantEs, dans les locaux de l'organisme, elle s'est mise à l'écoute et a cherché à faire sortir les mots. Des porteurs et des porteuses de voix partageront ainsi les paroles de ces personnes unies dans leur lutte contre la précarité. Ce sera le moment d'être à l'écoute de ceux et celles qui ont la volonté d'affirmer leur présence.

Fondé par le Père Emmett Johns « Pops » en 1988, Dans la rue vient en aide aux jeunes sans-abri ou en situation précaire. Avec dévouement, empathie et respect, et grâce au soutien de la communauté, l’organisme veille à leurs besoins immédiats et travaille avec eux afin qu’ils puissent acquérir les compétences et les ressources nécessaires pour mener une vie plus autonome et plus enrichissante. 

Sylvaine Chassay est engagée depuis 1994 dans une démarche à la jonction de l’art contextuel et participatif, basée sur une esthétique attentionnelle. Elle observe, examine et questionne notre mode de vie, nos contrariétés, nos valeurs individuelles et collectives, s’incluant tout autant que ses contemporains dans ce processus intuitif. 

 

18 H 30 - Tina Carlisi - Laugh Like the Sun, Dance Like the Wind

Laugh Like the Sun, Dance Like the Wind est un happening participatif. À travers le mouvement, la poésie, les accessoires et le son, les participants sont individuellement invités à exécuter un geste spécifique - activant collectivement l’espace en un paysage en mouvement, intime et poétiquement imprévisible.

Tina Carlisi est une artiste engagée socialement, qui crée des situations poétiques pour faire émerger des rencontres. À travers des manières éphémères et intimes de faire et de performer - qu’il s’agisse d’actions artistiques, de rencontres, d’évènements, d’improvisation, de poésie ou de pratiques DIY - son travail explore la possibilité, l’utopie et la convivialité en tant qu’expressions poétiques et politiques du soi en relation avec des expériences collectives. 

 

19 H - Victoria Stanton & massothérapeutes - Questions of Care

Avec la participation de Annik Baillargeon, Christina Bosowec, Amber Dawn, Chad Dembski, Chantal Lemieux, Shanthi Minor, Christiane Patenaude, Renaud Phaneuf, Josée Tremblay. 

L’artiste Victoria Stanton invite des massothérapeutes à discuter autour du sujet de « soin ». En posant la question « Comment celles et ceux qui s'occupent des autres s'occupent-ils d'eux-mêmes »? L’artiste propose une rencontre en deux parties au cours de laquelle un dialogue/brainstorming collectif pourrait prendre place. La première partie, une réunion informelle autour d'un souper, aborde cette question collectivement parmi les thérapeutes invité.es. La seconde partie, une table ronde, poursuit le dialogue en invitant maintenant le public élargi de la Place Publique à participer à la conversation.

Victoria Stanton est une artiste et chercheure/commissaire/éducatrice qui travaille avec l'action directe, les interactions humaines, la vidéo, le film, la photographie, le dessin et l'écriture. Explorant continuellement cette diversité de médias, si les résultats de sa pratique peuvent se manifester sous une multiplicité de formes, la performance constitue le centre et le noyau invariable de sa recherche. Considérée comme une pionnière des pratiques transactionnelles au Québec, Stanton a présenté des expositions, des performances, des actions infiltrantes et des films/vidéos au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe, au Royaume-Uni, en Australie, au Japon et au Mexique.

 

20 H - Ayọ̀ Akínwándé - Mumu LP Vol 2: The Orchestra

Invité en résidence à réaliser un projet en réponse au contexte spécifique de la Place Publique de la Fonderie Darling, Akínwándé dirige Mumu LP Vol 2: The Orchestra, une performance-orchestre au cours de laquelle des archives vocales issues de l’espace public nigérian sont transformées en musique grâce à la collaboration de l’artiste avec six musiciens montréalais. Dans le pidgin anglais utilisé au Nigéria, le terme « mumu » réfère à un individu avec une attitude idiote, naïve ou irréfléchie. Pour Akínwándé, lorsque les gens protestent ou se plaignent et que rien ne se passe, les voix entendues finissent par prendre un rythme, comme une chanson passée en boucle dans les médias ou à l’arrêt d’autobus. 

Ayọ̀ Akínwándé est un artiste nigérian contemporain dont la pratique multidisciplinaire mêle l'installation, la sculpture, la performance, l'art audio et la vidéo pour explorer les concepts d'identité, de dualité, et les multiples facettes de la réalité humaine. Sa démarche repose sur une série de monologues et de dialogues en continu questionnant les réalités sociopolitiques de son environnement, à travers des idées rassemblant la collectivité et l'individu. Matériellement, ses œuvres intègrent des procédés liés à l'espace et à l'architecture, en évoquant à la fois l'intimité et la monumentalité.

 

 

À partir de 17H30, venez déguster les bières artisanales de notre généreux commanditaire, la microbrasserie locale 4 Origines et les délicieux tacos de Vitamina T (argent comptant seulement) !

DJ set de Jérôme Nadeau. 

 

 

 

Soirées de performances

-

6:00 pm 11:00 pm

Place publique

Chaque été depuis plus de 10 ans, la Place Publique occupe une portion de la rue Ottawa en affirmant la présence de l’art et des artistes dans un secteur où cohabitent les grandes entreprises, les commerces innovants, les nouveaux résidents et ceux qui… Lire Plus