Julie Favreau  /  Délicat Pulse

Performances: Volmir Cordeiro (Brazil), Emily Wardill (United Kingdom), Adva Zakaï (Israel/Belgium)

Julie Favreau’s work is situated between the visual and performing arts. It mixes video installations, sculptures and photographs shown in galleries as well as performances and scenographic elements presented in theaters and festivals. She now presents her latest production in Délicat Pulse, a hybrid and performative exhibition, monographic and plural at the same time, a way to shed light on the link between her studio practice, her collaboration with other artists and her approach to performance, that she always sees in echo with her visual work. 

Julie Favreau's studio was sponsored by the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts in 2015, period during which she worked on this project.

Performances

-       October 27, 2016 at 6pm: Doux, a collaboration between Julie Favreau and Anne Thériault, and a special creation by Adva Zakaï, presented in collaboration with Usine C and the Actoral Festival
-       November 4, 2016 at 6pm: Ciel by Volmir Cordeiro
-       November 24, 2016 at 6pm: Emily Wardill (performed by Ishan Davé)

Discussion

Café de l’Usine C, October 27, 12:30pm to 2pm 

On the occasion of Actoral Festival, interested in the new forms of writings for the stage, and Julie Favreau’s exhibition at the Darling Foundry, including collaborations with dancers and performers, ICI, a programme of UQAM’s École des arts visuels et médiatiques, Actoral, Usine C and the Darling Foundry organize a discussion on the links between visual arts and dance.
Restaurants on site.

Julie Favreau

Holding an MFA from Concordia University, Julie Favreau was included in the Québec Triennial (Montreal, Canada, 2011) at the Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, and was awarded the Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Fellowship in Contemporary Art (2012) as well as the Pierre-Ayot Prize, granted by the City of Montreal (2014). Having exhibited extensively in North America and Europe, she has also taken part in many live art and performance art projects. A commission of the Edinburgh Art Festival, her work She Century was presented as a solo exhibition by the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art (Edinburgh, United Kingdom, 2015) and the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Montreal, Canada, 2016).  In 2017, Favreau will be investing the space of Künstlerhaus Bethanien (Berlin, Germany) for a yearlong residence awarded by the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec. She is represented by Battat Contemporary.

Julie Favreau / Délicat Pulse

Performances de Volmir Cordeiro (Brésil), Emily Wardill (Royaume-Uni) et Adva Zakaï (Israël/Belgique) 

Le travail de Julie Favreau se situe à la lisière des arts visuels et des arts vivants. Il mêle aussi bien des vidéos, des installations sculpturales et des photographies, exposées dans des galeries, que des performances chorégraphiées et des spectacles, présentés dans des théâtres et des festivals. Sa toute dernière création Délicat Pulse, une exposition à la fois hybride et performative, monographique et plurielle, tend à rendre visible les liens entre sa pratique d’atelier, ses collaborations avec d’autres artistes et son approche de la performance, qu’elle envisage toujours en écho à ses œuvres visuelles. 

L'atelier de Julie Favreau a été parrainé par le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal en 2015, période pendant laquelle elle a travaillé sur ce projet. 

Performances

27 octobre 2016 à 18h : Doux, une collaboration de Julie Favreau et Anne Thériault. et une création spéciale d'Adva Zakai, présentées en collaboration avec l’Usine C et le Festival Actoral

4 novembre 2016 à 18h : Ciel de Volmir Cordeiro 

24 novembre 2016 à 18h : Emily Wardill (interprète Ishan Davé)

Table-ronde

Au café de l'Usine C, 27 octobre, de 12h30 à 14h

À l'occasion du festival Actoral, intéressé par les nouvelles formes d'écriture scénique, et de la présentation de l'exposition de Julie Favreau à la Fonderie Darling, impliquant une collaboration avec des danseurs et performeurs, le programme ICI de l'École des arts visuels et médiatiques de l'UQAM, Actoral, l'Usine C et la Fonderie Darling proposent une table-ronde explorant les liens entre arts visuels et danse.
Restaurants sur place 

Julie Favreau

Titulaire d’une maitrise des Beaux-Arts de l’Université de Concordia, Julie Favreau a participé à la Triennale québécoise (Montréal, Canada, 2011) au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, et elle a reçu le Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Fellowship in Contemporary Art (2012) ainsi que le Prix Pierre-Ayot, décerné par la Ville de Montréal (2014).  Ayant exposé de manière soutenue en Amérique du Nord et en Europe, elle a aussi participé à de nombreux projets d'art vivant et d'art performatif. Son projet She Century, une commission du Edinburgh Art Festival, a été présenté à la Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art (Édimbourg, Écosse, 2015) et au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (Montréal, Canada, 2016) lors d'expositions solo. En 2017, Favreau sera en résidence à la Künstlerhaus Bethanien (Berlin, Allemagne) grâce au Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec. Elle est représentée par Battat Contemporary.