Barbara Steinman  /  Diving for Dreams

A careful observer of what she once called “layers of impermanence,” that is the intertwined pathways of time and History, of individual and collective memory, Barbara Steinman invites visitors to consider the space of the Darling Foundry—a building located in the midst of radical architectural transformation and other urban development, and whose volume embodies both the height of luxury and a kind of endangered species. Choosing to leave the space almost empty, the artist has created a series of light interventions around the perimeter of the Main Hall. Three sections of sky-blue walls display a composition of neon lights, which calls to mind a rebus by associating quasi-childish drawings with figures of wild animals. Day and Night (1989), initially commissioned by the National Gallery of Canada as a site-specific photographic work, has been removed from its context and reconfigured to evoke the memory of a past life—that of the place or of the work, but perhaps also our past life. A work of mirrors and glass is nestled in the crevice streaking the large brick wall at the back, triggering dreams and animating the building’s entire palimpsestic surface. A postcard transmits a barely altered “souvenir” of the iconic facade of the Darling Brothers Foundry. The exhibition Diving for Dreams transforms the former foundry into a shelter and temporary home for harbouring childhood dreams, endangered beings and species, the promise of belonging, and a care for others.

 

Ji-Yoon Han
(translated from French by Oana Avasilichioaei) 

Barbara Steinman

Known for her multidisciplinary work, Montreal-based artist Barbara Steinman began her career in Vancouver as a video artist. At the beginning of the 1980s she was the co-director of artist-run centers Vidéo Véhicule and Powerhouse Gallery.

Steinman's works have been presented in numerous biennials and exhibitions in Canada, Europe, Japan and the US, among which the Museum of Modern Art in New York (MoMA), the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, the Art Institute of Chicaco, and the National Gallery of Canada. Steinman was the recipient of the Governor General's Award for her outstanding contribution to the fields of visual and media arts (2002). She received an honorary doctorate from the Fine Arts Faculty of Concordia University in Montreal (2015). Her work is represented by Galerie Françoise Paviot in Paris and Olga Korper Gallery in Toronto.

Barbara Steinman  /  Diving for Dreams

Observatrice attentive de ce qu’elle a jadis nommé les « strates d’impermanence », c’est-à-dire des trajectoires entrelacées du temps et de l’Histoire, des mémoires individuelle et collective, Barbara Steinman invite les visiteurs à une réflexion sur l’espace — sur ce lieu de la Fonderie Darling situé en plein cœur des transformations architecturales radicales et autres aménagements urbains du quartier, et dont le volume incarne à la fois le comble du luxe et comme une espèce en voie de disparition. Prenant le parti de laisser l’espace pratiquement vide, l’artiste effectue une série d’interventions lumineuses tout autour du périmètre de la Grande salle. Une composition en néon se déploie sur trois pans de murs bleu ciel et se livre comme un rébus, associant des dessins quasi enfantins à des silhouettes d’animaux sauvages. L’œuvre photographique Jour et Nuit (1989), initialement une commande in-situ pour le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, est déplacée de son contexte et reconfigurée pour évoquer le souvenir d’une vie antérieure – celle du lieu, celle de l’œuvre, peut-être aussi la nôtre. Dans l’anfractuosité qui zèbre le grand mur de briques, au fond, se niche une pièce de verre et de miroir, comme un déclencheur de rêves animant toute la surface palimpseste du bâtiment. Une carte postale dissémine un « souvenir », à peine altéré, de la façade iconique de la Darling Brothers Foundry. L’exposition Diving for Dreams transforme ainsi l’ancienne fonderie en refuge et en maison temporaire, pour abriter les rêves d’enfance, les êtres et les espèces en danger, les promesses d’appartenance et le souci de l’autre. 

Ji-Yoon Han

Barbara Steinman

Reconnue pour son œuvre multidisciplinaire, l'artiste montréalaise Barbara Steinman a commencé sa carrière à Vancouver comme artiste vidéo. Au début des années 1980, elle a été co-directrice de Vidéo Véhicule, ainsi que de la Centrale Galerie Powerhouse, centres d’artistes autogérés. 

Les œuvres de Steinman ont été présentées dans de nombreuses biennales et expositions au Canada, en Europe, au Japon et aux États-Unis, dont le Museum of Modern Art de New York (MoMA), le Stedelijk Museum à Amsterdam, l'Art Institute of Chicago ainsi que le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. L’artiste est récipiendaire du Prix du Gouverneur général pour sa contribution exceptionnelle en arts visuels et arts médiatiques (2002) et d’un doctorat honoris causa de la Faculté des beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia à Montréal (2015). Son travail est représenté par la Galerie Françoise Paviot à Paris et Olga Korper Gallery à Toronto.