Place Publique 2016

FILIATIONS - PERFORMANCES SERIE 

Four evenings of performances enliven the Place Publique in order to show the connections between artists, who are invited to select, in turn, the headliners of the next evenings.

For the past 10 years, the Darling Foundry enlivens its Place Publique during the summer with art installations and evenings of performances. Art lovers return year after year, and the general public is often surprised by the propositions made by the Darling Foundry. The 2016 edition presents four nights centered on the theme “filiation”, revealing affinities and influences that nourish each performance community. Initiating the invitations, the Darling Foundry asked artists Michelle Lacombe (Montreal) and Richard Martel (Quebec), two well-known performers in the artistic scenes of Montreal and Quebec, from different generations and with distinct affinities, to kick off the series and the first evening. At the end, each invites a performer whose work they appreciate and that echoes their own practice, to perform the following night, and so on. We want to hear the voices of contributors of the different performance art scenes who know their artist colleagues and in doing so, the Darling Foundry wishes to adopt a non-authoritative stand by sharing the artistic direction and giving the Place Publique its purpose of free and spontaneous speech. 

THURSDAYS AT 7:30 PM 

JUNE 30 / JULY 14 / JULY 28 / AUGUST 11 

Thursday August 11, 2016

Filiations Evening 4⎟Danny Gaudreault + Kama La Mackerel

7:30 pm to 10 pm

Fourth and final evening of the series Filiations, which proposes to reveal the influences and affinities between local performance artists. Dayna McLeod, invited by the duo Jean-Sébastien Vague, chose…

Thursday July 28, 2016

Filiations Evening 3⎟Dayna McLeod + Suzanne Joly

7:30 pm to 10 pm

Filiations’ third evening will be your chance to discover the work of Dayna McLeod and Suzanne Joly. Invited by Jean-Sébastien Vague, who got to know McLeod’s work through her exhibition at La Centrale…

Thursday July 14, 2016

Filiations Evening 2⎟Karen Elaine Spencer + Jean-Sébastien Vague

7:30 pm to 10 pm

After a first evening featuring the performances of Michelle Lacombe and Richard Martel, it is now Karen Elaine Spencer and the duo Jean-Sébastien Vague’s turn to present their work at the Place Publique…

Thursday June 30, 2016

Filiations Evening 1 | Michelle Lacombe + Richard Martel

7:30 pm to 10 pm

Michelle Lacombe and Richard Martel, two well-known performers in the artistic scenes of Montreal and Quebec, from different generations and with distinct affinities, kick off the series and launch the…

Place Publique 2016

FILIATIONS - SÉRIE DE PERFORMANCES 

Quatre soirées de performances animent la Place Publique dans le but de faire apparaître les filiations qui relient les artistes entre eux.

Depuis près de 10 ans, la Fonderie Darling anime sa Place Publique avec des œuvres et des soirées de performances durant la période estivale. Fidèle au rendez-vous, les amateurs de la performance reviennent année après année, alors que le grand public se laisse surprendre au gré des propositions mises sur pieds par la Fonderie Darling. La structure de programmation des quatre soirées de l'édition 2016 s'organise autour du thème de la filiation, afin de faire apparaître les affinités et influences qui nourrissent les communautés de la performance. Initiant les invitations, la Fonderie Darling a proposé aux artistes Michelle Lacombe (Montréal) et Richard Martel (Québec), deux performeurs de générations différentes, bien implantés dans les scènes artistiques de Montréal et Québec, de présenter leur travail pour la première soirée. Eux-mêmes sont ensuite invités à choisir chacun un(e) performeur(se) dont ils apprécient le travail, et qui fait écho à leur démarche, qui se produiront lors de la deuxième soirée, et ainsi de suite. Ainsi, nous voulons donner directement la parole aux intervenants des scènes artistiques de la performance, qui connaissent bien leurs collègues artistes. Ce faisant, la Fonderie Darling souhaite adopter une posture non autoritaire en partageant la direction artistique de la programmation et donner à la Place Publique sa fonction de lieu de prise de parole libre et spontanée.

LES JEUDIS À 19H30 

30 JUIN / 14 JUILLET / 28 JUILLET / 11 AOÛT 

jeudi 11 août 2016

Filiations soirée 4⎟Danny Gaudreault + Kama La Mackerel

19h30 à 22h

Quatrième et dernière soirée d'une série de performances, Filiations propose de rendre tangible les influences et les affinités des artistes locaux de cette discipline. Dayna McLeod, invitée par le duo…

jeudi 28 juillet 2016

Filiations soirée 3⎟Dayna McLeod + Suzanne Joly

19h30 à 22h

La troisième soirée de performances de la série Filiations vous permettra de découvrir le travail de Dayna McLeod et de Suzanne Joly. Invitée par le duo Jean-Sébastien Vague, qui s’est familiarisé avec…

jeudi 14 juillet 2016

Filiations soirée 2⎟Karen Elaine Spencer + Jean-Sébastien Vague

19h30 à 22h

Après une première soirée inaugurée par les performances de Michelle Lacombe et Richard Martel, au tour de Karen Elaine Spencer et du collectif Jean-Sébastien Vague de présenter leur travail sur la Place…

jeudi 30 juin 2016

Filiations soirée 1 | Michelle Lacombe + Richard Martel

19h30 à 22h

Michelle Lacombe et Richard Martel, deux performeurs de générations et d’affinités différentes, bien connus des scènes artistiques de Montréal et Québec, lancent le bal en sélectionnant les deux artistes…