Off-Site Exhibition: Drinkers of Quintessences at Casino Luxembourg

ARTISTS: Fortner Anderson, Steve Bates, Marie-Claire Blais, Olivia Boudreau, Claude Closky, Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Alexandre David, Adriana Disman, Kitty Kraus, Stéphane La Rue, Kelly Mark, János Sugár.

Drinkers of Quintessences was first shown at the Darling Foundry in 2018. The exhibition brings together twelve artists from Canada and Europe around the concept of emptiness, understood as both a critical position and a quest for the infinite. Presenting works of art that are minimal, seemingly empty of content, ephemeral and furtive, this exhibition takes a stance against the society of the spectacle. It puts forward a direct encounter with the works, and invite viewers to let themselves be carried away by an experience beyond the gaze.

PROGRAM

OPENING
Friday, January 18, 6 PM - 9 PM

CATALOGUE LAUNCH
Saturday, January 19, 11 AM

The bilingual catalogue (French/English) Drinkers of Quintessences is edited by the Darling Foundry in collaboration with Casino Luxembourg — Forum d'art contemporain. The book launch at Casino Luxembourg brings together the contributing authors to the catalogue, as well as a number of artists participating in the exhibition.

ART LX GOES MONTREAL
Saturday, January 19, 12 PM

Art LX goes Montreal presents a public conversation with the team of the Darling Foundry and the Luxembourg artists who took part in a residency in the institution or collaborated with it: Bruno Baltzer & Leonora Bisagno, Laurianne Bixhain, Marco Godinho and Claudia Passeri. Please join us at Casino Luxembourg to know more about the residency programs at the Darling Foundry and the work of Luxembourg artists who stayed there.

PERFORMANCES

FORTNER ANDERSON
Points of Departure
Thursday, January 31, 10:50 AM - 11 PM

STEVE BATES
Before, After, During
Thursday, February 14, 7 PM

KELLY MARK
Everything and Nothing
Thursday, Febrauary 28, 2019, 7 PM 

ADRIANA DISMAN
Thresholding
Thursday, March 21, 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

OLIVIA BOUDREAU
Corps Aveugles, Corps Voyants
Thursday, April 4, 7PM - 11PM

Hors-les-murs: Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg

ARTISTES : Fortner Anderson, Steve Bates, Marie-Claire Blais, Olivia Boudreau, Claude Closky, Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Alexandre David, Adriana Disman, Kitty Kraus, Stéphane La Rue, Kelly Mark, János Sugár.

L'exposition Buveurs de quintessences, présentée à la Fonderie Darling en 2018, regroupe douze artistes canadiens et européens autour de la notion de vide, comprise à la fois comme une posture critique et une quête d’infini. Avec des œuvres minimales, en apparence vides de contenu, éphémères et furtives, cette exposition se positionne à contre-courant de la société du spectacle. Elle met l’accent sur le contact direct aux œuvres, invitant les regardeurs à se laisser porter par une expérience au-delà du regard. 

PROGRAMME

VERNISSAGE
Vendredi 18 janvier, 18 H - 21 H

LANCEMENT DU CATALOGUE D'EXPOSITION
Samedi 19 janvier, 11 H

La publication bilingue (français/anglais) Buveurs de quintessences est éditée par la Fonderie Darling en collaboration avec le Casino Luxembourg — Forum d'art contemporain. Le lancement au Casino Luxembourg a lieu en présence des auteurs et de plusieurs artistes participant à l'exposition.

ART LX GOES MONTREAL
Samedi 19 janvier, 12 H

Art LX goes Montreal propose une rencontre avec l'équipe de la Fonderie Darling et les artistes luxembourgeois ayant été invités en résidence par l'institution ou ayant collaboré avec celle-ci : Bruno Baltzer & Leonora Bisagno, Laurianne Bixhain, Marco Godinho et Claudia Passeri. Celles et ceux désireux de mieux connaître le programme de résidences à la Fonderie Darling ou le travail des artistes luxembourgeois y ayant séjourné, sont invités à assister à cette présentation au Casino Luxembourg.

 

PERFORMANCES

FORTNER ANDERSON
Points of Departure
Jeudi 31 janvier, 10 H 50 - 23 H

STEVE BATES
Before, After, During
Jeudi 14 février, 19 H

KELLY MARK
Everything and Nothing
Jeudi 28 février, 19 H 

ADRIANA DISMAN
Thresholding
Jeudi 21 mars, 18 H 30 - 21 H 30

OLIVIA BOUDREAU
Corps Aveugles, Corps Voyants
Jeudi 4 avril, 19 H - 23 H