Marie-Michelle Deschamps / L*

Marie-Michelle Deschamps’s fascination with languages, shifts in meaning, handwriting and calligraphy, and the materials of language – graphite, paper as support, or voice as organ – naturally led her toward the figure of Louis Wolfson, a linguist with a unique method, whose work then informed an entire layer of her research. A “student of schizophrenic language,” Wolfson inhabits Deschamps’s exhibition space as an implicit presence at the heart of all of the conversations that form her project.

Visitors are invited to follow his traces while reading and wandering through the space. In turn, they pass in front of his table and work tools; imagine his obsession with modes of pronunciation depending on the placement of the tongue in relation to the palate and the jaw; and recognize his compulsion with exhausting the meaning of a word by putting it through a translation process that exposes it to the effects of coincidence, emotion, and subjectivity. His method of learning – or, rather, unlearning – involves a process of association of ideas and phonetic and semantic declensions in order to replace English, his mother tongue, with which he maintains a disturbing relationship, by exchanging its vocables for others taken from Russian, French, Hebrew, and German.

Galerie UQO 

Marie-Michelle Deschamps

Marie-Michelle Deschamps’ work explores the problematic nature of signification, as well as the fragile boundaries that organise the world. From letter to word and from word to image and objects her installations, sculptures, sound works and books recall, allude to, and deconstruct language as a means of investigating whether there is any content separate from the process or means of revealing.

Born in Montreal in 1980, Deschamps graduated from a MFA at the Glasgow School of Art in 2012. Recent exhibitions include The Working Day, Galerie Gregor Staiger, Zurich (2017); That Cool Decline, Occidental Temporary, Paris (2016); L*, Fonderie Darling, Montreal (2016). Deschamps has upcoming projects at the Austellungraum Kligenthal, Basel and at YYZ, Toronto.

Marie-Michelle Deschamps / L*

La fascination de Marie-Michelle Deschamps pour les langues, les glissements de sens, la graphie et la calligraphie, les matériaux du langage, qu’il s’agisse du graphite, du papier comme support ou de la voix comme organe, l’a menée naturellement vers la figure de Louis Wolfson, linguiste à la méthode singulière, qui a par la suite informé tout un pan de ses recherches. « Étudiant de langues schizophrénique », Wolfson habite l’espace d’exposition de Deschamps, telle une présence en creux au cœur de toutes les conversations qui composent son projet.

Le visiteur est invité à pister sa trace au fur et à mesure de sa déambulation et de ses lectures. Tour à tour il passe devant sa table et ses outils de travail ; l’imagine à sa fixation sur les modes de prononciation dépendant de l’emplacement de la langue dans son rapport au palais et aux maxillaires; ou le reconnaît dans sa compulsion à épuiser le sens d’un mot en lui faisant subir un processus de traduction qui l’ouvre aux effets des coïncidences, des émotions et de la subjectivité. Sa méthode d’apprentissage, ou plutôt de désapprentissage, implique un processus d’associations d’idées et de déclinaisons phonétiques et sémantiques afin de remplacer l’anglais, sa langue maternelle avec laquelle il entretient un rapport trouble, en permutant ses vocables avec d’autres issus du russe, du français, de l’hébreu et de l’allemand.

Galerie UQO 

Marie-Michelle Deschamps

Marie-Michelle Deschamps explore dans son travail les problématiques du processus de signification, et joue avec les frontières fragiles qui organisent le monde. De la lettre au mot, du mot à l’image et à l’objet, ses installations dissèquent, déconstruisent et réinventent le langage pour mieux interroger la relation entre les mots et les choses, et ce, en donnant à voir entre les lignes du texte le langage comme expérience.

Née à Montréal en 1980, elle est revenue s’y installer après avoir vécu en Suisse, et après avoir obtenu une maîtrise en arts visuels de la Glasgow School of Art en 2012. Ses expositions récentes comprennent The Working Day, Galerie Gregor Staiger, Zurich (2017); That Cool Decline, Occidental Temporary, Paris (2016); L*, Fonderie Darling, Montréal (2016). Prochainement elle présentera son travail au Austellungraum Kligenthal, Basel et à YYZ, Toronto.

         galerie uqo