Roy Meuwissen  /  LAT. 17°33′13″N LONG. 99°24′37″W

The news and various artistic languages that recount it make up the subject matter of Roy Meuwissen’s LAT. 17°33′13″N LONG. 99°24′37″W. Basing his work on two student protests that turned tragic in Mexico, in 1968 and 2014, the artist superimposes historical events and anecdotes to present a cold and incisive report on silencing politics directed at young people, directly reminiscent of Québec’s Maple Spring. The first art history anecdote directly linked to these tragedies refers to artist On Kawara’s 1968 residency in Mexico, and his legendary tear-off calendar-style “Date paintings” series. The context of his current exhibition authorizes Meuwissen to appropriate the artistic standards of the “Date paintings”: the rectangular black format and sense of cold conceptual detachment. Each of his paintings therefore consists of newsprint clippings from the date of their production, which constitute artistic immunity and an intrinsic link to the news, in addition to representing archival documents in their own right.

The second anecdote conveys the fact that in the same year, graphic designer Lance Wyman’s visual signature would become the symbol of Mexico’s Olympic Games, and thus put young people on a pedestal. Meuwissen superimposes Wyman’s iconic font with On Kawara’s black background, and inscribes each student’s name, one by one, as if on epitaphs. A similar style single red painting is highlighted in the main exhibition space, given the name of the student who was discovered and identified. The coincidence of the anniversary date of the macabre event, September 26, 2014, in Iguala (Mexico), adds a further astounding circumstantial dimension.

Meuwissen also reappropriates British artist Victor Burgin’s conceptual photograph, Possession (1976), in a work in which he reinvents part of the content. Burgin’s question and answer: “What does possession mean to you? 7% of the population own 84% of our wealth” points to social inequalities between rich and poor. The image choice also conveys the powers of influence, seduction and manipulation. In this case, the visual has been substituted with a mythical snapshot of a couple in a sexual embrace, despite being surrounded by police during the protests that occurred throughout the Stanley Cup in Vancouver, in 2011. Expressed in statistical format, the title refers to a close reality: “We are the 99%” (of Occupy Montréal).

The interweaving of events, anecdotes and reappropriations, these back and forth tensions between history and news coverage, places Meuwissen’s work at the centre of current political debates, and imbues it with a social engagement dimension.

 

 

Roy Meuwissen

Meuwissen was born in the Netherlands and holds a BFA from the Alberta College of Art & Design and a MFA from the University of Windsor. His work has been exhibited both in Canada and internationally, most recently in Toronto, Vancouver, San Francisco and New York.

In tandem with studio projects, he has also presented ongoing artistic research in the form of academic lectures, most recently at the University of Copenhagen. Other professional activities include the collaborative project Kingdom of Ends initiated with Norwegian artist Ivan Galuzin in Kalliningrad, Russia.

Roy Meuwissen / LAT. 17°33′13″N LONG. 99°24′37″W

L'actualité et les différents langages artistiques qui la relatent, articulent " LAT. 17°33′13″N LONG. 99°24′37″W ", une proposition de Roy Meuwissen. Se basant sur deux manifestations d'étudiants au Mexique qui tournent au tragique en 1968 et 2014, l'artiste superpose ces événements à des anecdotes historiques pour livrer un compte-rendu froid et incisif sur les politiques de baîllon des plus jeunes, un écho direct au Printemps Érable. Première anecdote directement en lien à l'histoire de l'art et à ces tragédies, est la résidence à Mexico dans les années 1968 de l’artiste On Kawara et la réalisation en ces lieux de certaines de ses Date paintings, œuvre éphéméride légendaires. Cette circonstance l'autorise à s'approprier les standards artistiques des Dates paintings, dont il adopte le format noir et rectangulaire, ainsi que la froideur et le détachement conceptuel. Lien intrinsèque à l'actualité et titulaire de l'immunité artistique, chacune des peintures de Kawara est emballée de coupures de journal du jour de leur réalisation, et, à ce titre, représente un document d'archives à part entière, rescapée de la censure imposée par l'état.

La deuxième anecdote est la tenue cette même année des jeux olympiques de Mexico dont la signature visuelle de Lance Wyman deviendra le symbole de cet événement sportif, qui lui inversement tend à mettre la jeunesse sur un piedestal. L'artiste superpose la fonte iconique aux répliques des tableaux noirs de Kawara, inscrivant l'un après l'autre sur chacun, les noms des étudiants, tels des épitaphes. Une seule peinture rouge de même facture est mise en exergue de la salle principale, et porte le nom de l'étudiant découvert et identifié. La coïncidence de l'exposition avec la date anniversaire du funeste événement, le 26 septembre 2014 à Iguala (Mexique), ajoute une dimension circonstancielle accablante. 

Autre travail de ré-appropriation présentée ici par Meuwissen est celui des photographies conceptuelles Possesion (1976) de l'artiste britannique Victor Burgin dont il réinvente une partie du contenu. La question et la réponse que propose Burgin – « What does possession mean to you? 7% of the population own 84% of our wealth » - pointent le déséquilibre social entre riche et pauvre et, par le choix de l'image, les pouvoirs d'influence, de séduction, de manipulation. Substituant celle-ci par un cliché mythique d'un couple en position de coït malgré l’encerclement de policier lors des mouvements de protestation populaires durant la coupe Stanley en 2011 à Vancouver, le titre sous formulation de statistique, fait également référence à une actualité proche : " We are the 99% " d'Occupons Montréal.

Cette imbrication entre évènements, anecdotes et réappropriations, ces va-et-vient entre histoire et actualité, placent le travail de Meuwissen au cœur du débat politique actuel et lui confère une dimension sociale engagée.

 

Roy Meuwissen

Meuwissen est né aux Pays-Bas et est titulaire d'un baccalauréat de l' Alberta College of Art & Design et un MFA de l'Université de Windsor. Son travail a été exposé à la fois au Canada et à l'étranger, le plus récemment à Toronto, Vancouver, San Francisco et New York.

En tandem avec ses projets de studio, il a également présenté une recherche artistique en cours sous la forme de conférences académiques, plus récemment à l'Université de Copenhague. Ses autres activités professionnelles comprennent le projet de collaboration Kingdom of Ends avec l'artiste norvégien Ivan Galuzin à Kalliningrad, Russie.