Laurianne Bixhain

Anachronistic Screens

‘The true picture of the past flits by. The past can be seized only as an image which flashes up at the instant when it can be recognized and is never seen again.’
– Walter Benjamin, ‘On the Concept of History’1

This survey exhibition by Laurianne Bixhain presents a selection of photographs from different series made over the last three years. Taken during urban perambulations in the framework of residencies and stays abroad, these images suspend our gaze between two temporalities: that of history and that of progress. Prompting us to question the acceleration of obsolescence in the technological era, sometimes by emphasising the anachronisms in her photographs, Bixhain aims to reveal the discrepancies between human concerns, advanced technology and the remnants of the industrial revolution.

Using analogue and digital techniques, the artist directly confronts these two generations of photographic processes, which straddle two centuries. By doing so, she highlights the parallels between technological aspects and mechanical, computerised industrial production on the one hand, and artistic practices that are themselves subject to the vicissitudes of time on the other.

In Bixhain’s images the transition between these two temporalities manifests itself systematically through the presence of screens or mirroring surfaces that filter or reflect the light. When absorbing, they create the impression of a haze blurring the subjects’ outlines; when reflecting, they prompt a juxtaposition of smooth and textured surfaces highlighting the chasm between two different states. The light, which is omnipresent in Bixhain’s photographs, bounces off the glazed surfaces of a window, the chromed bodywork of a car, the tubes of a scaffold or the fireproof clothes of a contemporary foundry worker. It shimmers on the surface of a lake or a partly frozen pool of water. It infiltrates a windshield misted with reflections through which one glimpses the racy seats of a car, a crumpled sheet of plastic foil covering a pile of books, a bouquet of flowers or an advertising sign seen through a shop window, an everyday scene shot from a bush that lies out of focus. When it is not physically present, the light is suggested by the technology that simulates it artificially, such as the plane of an LED screen, an accumulation of different bulbs or the headlight of a car.

It is also the subtly perceptible matter that transcends the photographic medium and that the artist seeks to communicate through architectural elements, such as the bricks of an Arts and Crafts industrial building or a fence of barn wood, or through decoration, such as the curtains of an exhibition space, as elements underlining the contrasts between different textures.

Like Paul Klee’s Angelus Novus, the ‘Angel of History’ that Walter Benjamin interprets as a figure caught between a past it does not want to relinquish and a future that attracts it irresistibly, Bixhain plunges us into the heart of the storm called progress. The photograph of Manchester’s tallest tower, for instance, taken through the decrepit window of an old industrial building, confronts these two temporalities, each representing – in their own time – the notion of progress, while conversely, the weathered logo of a luxury car brand projects us into a past future.

During her residency at Darling Foundry in Montreal, the artist stayed in the heart of a historic neighbourhood grown out of the industrial revolution, which has now been converted into a new hub for the digital industry. The title of her Montreal series, On the Other End, expresses this shift between two temporalities, while the screens function as metaphors for our enslavement to new technologies. Gleaned within a restricted perimeter, these images seek to reveal the traces of a past taken hostage by modernity, as the pace of progress continues to accelerate.

Caroline Andrieux

Recent exhibitions

2016

Serendipität, EMOP – Monat der Fotografie, Luxembourg Embassy, Berlin
Cercle 5, Cercle Cité, Luxembourg & Centre National de l'Audiovisuel (CNA), Dudelange

2015

Meisterschüler Ausstellung, der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Gallery, Leipzig
Illumination is the new interior sensation, EMOP – European Month of Photography, Kiosk/Aica, Luxemburg

2014

Artmix 8, KuBa, Saarbrücken & Annexes, Bourglinster
Mood Board - Ambigu sous Terre, Torna, Istanbul
Bathing by electric light, Nei Liicht Art Center, Dudelange

2013

Keep your feelings in memory, Agence Borderline, National Museum of Resistance, Esch-sur-Alzette
Prints made in Leipzig, Academy of Visual Arts, Leipzig & Hungarian University of Fine Arts, Budapest
You I Landscape - Triennale jeune création, Centre National de l'Audiovisuel (CNA), Dudelange & Carré Rotondes
Iakary, Exposition des diplomés de l'École d'Enseignement Supérieur d'Art de Bordeaux,  Bernard Magrez Cultural Institute, Bordeaux

Laurianne Bixhain

Écrans anachroniques

L’image vraie du passé passe en un éclair. On ne peut retenir le passé que dans une image qui surgit et s’évanouit pour toujours à l’instant même où elle s’offre à la connaissance.
– Walter Benjamin, « Sur le concept d’histoire »

Cette exposition bilan de Laurianne Bixhain présente des photographies sélectionnées à partir de différentes séries, réalisées dans l’intervalle des trois dernières années. Ces images, captées à l’occasion de déambulations urbaines, lors de résidences et de séjours à l’étranger, suspendent notre regard entre deux temporalités : celle de l’histoire et celle du progrès. Forçant un questionnement sur l’obsolescence accélérée à l’ère technologique, poussant parfois dans ses photos l’anachronisme, l’artiste cherche à saisir le décalage entre l’humain, la technologie de pointe et les reliquats de la révolution industrielle.

Employant les techniques de l’argentique et du numérique, l’artiste confronte d’entrée de jeu ces deux générations de procédés photographiques, à cheval sur deux différents siècles. Elle souligne ainsi les correspondances entre l’aspect technologique et la production industrielle mécanique et informatique en vis-à-vis des pratiques artistiques qui elles aussi subissent les affres du temps.

Le passage entre ces deux temporalités se manifeste de façon systématique dans les images de Bixhain, par la présence d’écrans ou de surfaces réfléchissantes, qui filtrent ou reflètent la lumière. L’absorbant, ils engendrent un effet vaporeux aux contours imprécis de ses sujets; la renvoyant, elles provoquent la juxtaposition de surfaces lisses et texturées, accentuant l’écart entre deux différents états. La lumière, omniprésente dans les images, est éclatante sur les surfaces vitrées d’une fenêtre, sur la tôle chromée d’une carrosserie, sur les tubulures d’un échafaudage, sur les vêtements ignifugés d’un fondeur contemporain. Elle miroite sur la surface d’un lac ou celle d’une flaque d’eau en partie gelée. Elle s’infiltre à travers un pare-brise embué de reflets qui laisse transparaître les sièges design d’une voiture, une pellicule de plastique froissée recouvrant une pile de livres, un bouquet de fleurs ou une enseigne publicitaire captés à travers une vitrine, une scène du quotidien prise à partir d’un buisson de  graminées hors focus. Quand elle n’est pas présente matériellement, la lumière est suggérée par la technologie qui la simule artificiellement, tel le plan d’un écran LED, l’amoncellement d’ampoules diverses, le phare d’une voiture.

C’est aussi la matière finement perceptible qui transcende le support photographique et que l’artiste cherche à communiquer par des éléments d’architecture, tels les briques d’un immeuble industriel Arts and Crafts, la palissade de bois de grange, de décoration, comme les rideaux d’une salle d’exposition, autant d’éléments qui mettent l’emphase sur les contrastes entre différentes textures.

Tel l’Angelus Novus de Paul Klee, cet « Ange de l’histoire » que Walter Benjamin interprète comme figé entre un passé dont il ne veut se séparer et un futur qui l’aspire irrésistiblement, Bixhain nous plonge au coeur de cette tempête appelée le progrès. La photo de la tour la plus haute de Manchester prise à travers la fenêtre décrépie d’un ancien bâtiment industriel confronte par exemple ces deux temporalités, chacune correspondant, à leur époque, à la notion de progrès, alors que le logo patiné par le temps d’une marque de voiture de luxe, nous projette inversement dans un futur antérieur.

À Montréal, lors de sa résidence à la Fonderie Darling, l’artiste s’est trouvée au coeur d’un ancien quartier issu de la révolution industrielle aujourd’hui reconverti en nouveau hub de l’informatique. Le titre de la série montréalaise, On the other end, exprime ce dédoublement entre deux temporalités, alors que les écrans fonctionnent comme les métaphores de notre asservissement aux nouvelles technologies. Glanées à l’intérieur d’un périmètre restreint, ces images cherchent à révéler les traces d’un passé pris en otage par la modernité, alors que le tempo de la course au progrès ne cesse de s’accélérer.

Caroline Andrieux

Expositions récentes

2016

Serendipität, EMOP – Monat der Fotografie, Ambassade du Luxembourg, Berlin
Cercle 5, Cercle Cité, Luxembourg & Centre National de l'Audiovisuel (CNA), Dudelange

2015

Meisterschüler Ausstellung, Galerie der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, Leipzig
Illumination is the new interior sensation, EMOP – Mois Européen de la Photographie, Kiosk/Aica, Luxembourg

2014

Artmix 8, KuBa, Saarbrücken & Annexes, Bourglinster
Mood Board - Ambigu sous Terre, Torna, Istanbul
Bathing by electric light, Centre d'Art Nei Liicht, Dudelange

2013

Keep your feelings in memory, Agence Borderline, Musée National de la Résistance, Esch-sur-Alzette
Prints made in Leipzig, Academy of Visual Arts, Leipzig & Hungarian University of Fine Arts, Budapest
You I Landscape - Triennale jeune création, Centre National de l'Audiovisuel (CNA), Dudelange & Carré Rotondes
Iakary, Exposition des diplomés de l'École d'Enseignement Supérieur d'Art de Bordeaux, Institut Culturel Bernard Magrez, Bordeaux