Lorna Bauer / Soleil

The Soundless Hum by Kevin Rodgers

Let us wander through the streets slowly, fuelled by an indefatigable curiosity. By gaudy t-shirts sold near the Panthéon, the secular mausoleum and final resting place for such French luminaries as Voltaire, Victor Hugo and Emile Zola, to narrow passages with quiet cafes diverting our gaze. There is a double alley of plane trees that run the length of the Jardin des Plantes, the botanical gardens founded in 1626 as a medicinal herb garden for Louis XIII. Cultivated in six greenhouses and outdoor plots are approximately 23,500 species of plants: cacti, grasses, bromeliads, orchids, ferns, aroids, Australian flora, alpine plants, iris, cannas, and conifers. These impressions are but a few. Images of some are offered on display here, in Lorna Bauer’s evocative Soleil.

This body of work was created (for the most part) while on a three-month residency at Couvent des Récollets in Paris in late 2013 and early 2014. Upon first glance, one notices a persistent doubling taking place: the pairings of particular images differentiated by minor moments in time, recurrent stripes that line the walls acting as both image and object. Fabrication. Even the installation itself is a second—although substantially different—iteration of one in early 2015 at Modern Fuel in Kingston, Ontario. When in front of such work, I double back and retrace my own steps. Things change, and trade places; nothing remains and nothing disappears.[1]

In the 5th arrondissement of Paris, a bouquiniste unlocks and lifts the green lids of four green boxes. There is a smell of dust and newsprint, an olfactory backdrop to a survey of vintage literature, social sciences and political tracts. Behind flows the river Seine. A stray cat meanders along a pathway. Beneath La Ville Lumière, old limestone quarries fan out hundreds of miles and are explored by Cataphiles—those fleeing the surface world into the non-light, which is not to say darkness.

Informing Soleil are two writers who also tended to the contours of daily life in Paris, Georges Perec and Walter Benjamin. That which is habitual and quotidian often appears in Soleil: photographs of an awning caught in the breeze or the back of a grazing fawn. Fleeting glimpses and reflections. Bauer is concerned with the limitations of and in our attempts to capture, name and inscribe. The results are never rigid, and like language, elusive. It has been said that, through naming, things are called into being, though there is always that which escapes notice or retreats from the boredom of order and illumination.

That a number of the photographs were taken in the Jardin des Plantesis especially fitting: this historic garden-museum complex includes greenhouses, a botanical library and school, labyrinth and small Ménagerie. It houses one of the world's most extensive collections of tropical and desert flora.  It is exemplary of domestication and distinction. Bauer is drawn to the mute techniques that process this distinction—windows, or glass and fencing. Light, in turn, is another manner of capture and service. One need look no further than towering structures of glass and ornate serres at the Jardin des Plantes, where sunlight is collected and converted in service of the cultivation, study and documentation of botanical life. A sort of green colonialism.

Here within the confines of the Darling Foundry, Bauer has inserted panes of light purple glass into one wall, as well as placed fabric awnings at strategic thresholds. Together, they draw attention to our own bodies as we maneuver from one space to another, where a hand carefully pushes aside the fabric to pass by and a shadow is cast. They not only function architecturally, but rhythmically. They act as registers of time, a metronome counting the hours or days.Two black cats scramble across the hollow of an old quarry.

Our experiences are comprised of disparate images and impressions. Much like the installation before us, this is a fragmented or fractured—even distracted—encounter. What we have in Lorna Bauer’s Soleil is simultaneously intimate and expansive. It too grows under light, and will adapt to new surroundings, demarcating a space for inhabitation. I am comfortable here, warm outside the sharp glare of clarity.

 Lorna Bauer is also featured at the Galerie Nicolas Robert in Montreal from April 2nd to May 7th.



[1] Benjamin, Walter. “In the Sun.” Selected Writings Volume 2: Part 2. Ed. Michael W. Jennings et al. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University, 2005. 663-665.

Lorna Bauer

Lorna Bauer (b. Toronto, Ontario) lives and works in Montreal. Bauer has recently presented her  work at Model Projects (Vancouver), Modern Fuel (Kingston), Dazibao (Montreal), YYZ Artist Outlet (Toronto), Musée d'art Contemporain de Montréal (Montreal), Art Metropole (Toronto), Convenience gallery (Toronto) among other places. Bauer has participated in numerous national and international residencies, including stays in Paris, New York and most recently she has been awarded the Conseil des arts et des lettres Québec studio residency at The Banff Centre. Upcoming projects include a residency at the Atlantic Centre for the Arts (Florida), and a solo exhibition at Gallery Nicolas Robert where her work is represented. She received her BFA from Concordia University, and her MVS from the University of Toronto.

Lorna Bauer / Soleil

Le murmure muet par Kevin Rodgers

Vagabondons par les rues sans nous presser, propulsés par une infatigable curiosité. Devant les t-shirts de mauvais goût vendus près du Panthéon, le mausolée laïc et lieu de sépulture d’éminentes personnalités françaises telles que Voltaire, Victor Hugo et Émile Zola, jusqu’aux étroits passages avec leurs cafés tranquilles qui distraient notre regard. Il y a une double allée de platanes qui court le long du Jardin des Plantes, le jardin botanique fondé en 1626 comme un jardin d’herbes médicinales pour Louis XIII. Environ 23 500 espèces de plantes sont cultivées dans six serres et carrés extérieurs : cactus, herbes, Bromélias, orchidées, fougères, aroïdées, flore australienne, plantes alpines, iris, cannes et conifères. Ce ne sont là que quelques impressions. Des images de certaines sont présentées ici, dans le Soleil évocateur de Lorna Bauer.

Ce corpus a été créé (en majeure partie) durant une résidence de trois mois au Couvent des Récollets à Paris à la fin de 2013 et au début de 2014. Au premier coup d’œil, on remarque qu’un doublement persistant se produit : les couplages d’images particulières différenciées par des moments mineurs dans le temps, des bandes récurrentes qui tapissent les murs, agissant à la fois comme image et comme objet. Fabrication. L’installation elle-même est une seconde itération —quoique substantiellement différente— d’une autre de début 2015 à Modern Fuel à Kingston en Ontario. Quand je suis devant du travail de cet ordre, je fais demi-tour et reviens sur mes pas. Les choses changent et échangent leurs places ; rien ne demeure et rien ne disparaît.[1]

 Dans le 5e arrondissement de Paris, un bouquiniste ouvre et soulève les couvercles verts de quatre boîtes vertes. Il y a une odeur de poussière et de papier-journal, le décor olfactif d’un inventaire de littérature, de sciences sociales et de pamphlets politiques d’époque. Derrière coule la Seine. Un chat errant vagabonde le long d’un sentier. Sous la Ville Lumière, de vieilles carrières de calcaire se déploient sur des centaines de milles et sont explorées par les Cataphiles —ceux qui fuient le monde de la surface dans la non-lumière, ce qui ne veut pas dire l’obscurité.

Soleil est informé par deux écrivains qui se sont également occupés des contours de la vie quotidienne à Paris, Georges Perec et Walter Benjamin. Ce qui est habituel et quotidien apparaît souvent dans Soleil : photographies d’un auvent pris dans la brise ou du dos d’un faon en train de paître. Aperçus et réflexions fugaces. Bauer est préoccupée par les limitations de et dans nos tentatives de capturer, de nommer et d’inscrire. Les résultats ne sont jamais rigides, et comme le langage, ils sont insaisissables. On a pu dire qu’en nommant les choses, celles-ci sont appelées à l’être, bien qu’existe toujours ce qui n’est pas remarqué ou se dérobe à l’ennui de l’ordre et de l’illumination.

Il convient particulièrement que bon nombre des photographies aient été prises dans le Jardin des Plantes : ce complexe de jardin-musée historique comprend des serres, une bibliothèque et une école de botanique, un labyrinthe et une petite ménagerie. Il héberge l’une des plus vastes collections au monde de flore tropicale et désertique.  Il est exemplaire de domestication et de distinction. Bauer est attirée par les techniques muettes qui traitent cette distinction —les fenêtres ou le verre et les clôtures. La lumière en revanche est une autre manière de capturer et de servir. On n’a pas besoin de chercher plus loin que les gigantesques structures de verre et les serres très ornées du Jardin des Plantes, où la lumière du soleil est recueillie et convertie au service de la culture, de l’étude et de la documentation de la vie botanique. Une sorte de colonialisme vert.

Ici, dans les limites de la Fonderie Darling, Bauer a inséré des panneaux de verre violet pâle dans un mur, ainsi que placé des auvents en tissu à des seuils stratégiques. Ensemble, ils attirent l’attention sur nos propres corps comme nous manœuvrons d’un espace à un autre, où une main écarte soigneusement le tissu pour passer et une ombre est portée. Ils ne fonctionnent pas seulement architecturalement, mais rythmiquement. Ils agissent comme des registres temporels, un métronome comptant les heures ou les jours. Deux chats noirs se précipitent à travers le creux d’une vieille carrière.

Nos expériences sont constituées d’images et impressions disparates. Plutôt comme l’installation devant nous, il s’agit d’une rencontre fragmentée ou fracturée—voire distraite. Soleil de Lorna Bauer est quelque chose de simultanément intime et étendu. Cette œuvre aussi croît à la lumière et s’adapte à de nouveaux environnements, démarquant un espace pour l’habitation. Je suis à l’aise ici, au chaud hors de l’éclat éblouissant de la clarté.

 Lorna Bauer est également exposée à la galerie Nicolas Robert à Montréal du 2 avril au 7 mai 2016.



[1] Benjamin, Walter. « In the Sun. » Selected Writings Volume 2: Part 2. Ed. Michael W. Jennings et al. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University, 2005. 663-665.

 

 

Lorna Bauer

Lorna Bauer, originaire de Toronto (Ontario), vit et travaille à Montréal. Bauer a présenté son travail, entre autre à Model Projects (Vancouver), Modern Fuel (Kingston), Dazibao (Montréal), YYZ Artist Outlet (Toronto), Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (Montréal), Art Metropole (Toronto), Convenience gallery (Toronto). Bauer a participé à plusieurs programmes nationaux et internationaux de résidences, entre autres à Paris et à New York. Elle est récipiendaire du prix du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec pour une résidence à The Banff Centre. Elle a également plusieurs projets à venir dont une résidence au Atlantic Centre for the Arts (Floride) et une exposition solo à la galerie Nicolas Robert (Montréal) qui la représente. Elle est récipiendaire d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia et une maitrise en arts visuels de l’Université de Toronto.