Make Space for a Surprise to Arise

For this carte blanche evening, the SenseLab from Concordia University presents Make Space for a Surprise to Arise, a set of individual and collective experiments created in response to the work of artist Lygia Clark.

Emblematic of a generation of Brazilian artists and intellectuals known to have rethought the question of participation according to the inextricable entanglement between art and life, Lygia Clark, from the 1960’s, a subjective and organic art. The SenseLab program thus highlights the diversity of participative proposals inspired by Clark's work and her relational objects, including their negations and contradictions. In the Place Publique, the artists of the Quimeras collective explore our various inner states by calling to the concept of vivências, a concept dear to Clark that refers to the lived experience, in particular to the authentic sensory presence of the body that allows a resistance to any ideologization. 

Each person participates differently, feels things differently. To live these experiences thus opens the way to a deep introspection, to a dialogue between one's body, that of others, and their existences.

 

18 H 30 - QUIMERAS 

Flo Sophia Dacy-Cole, Mariana Marcassa, Cadu Mello, Céline Pereira et Rodrigo Velasco.

The body is the proposition”–Lygia Clark

This is not a performance night: it is a set of propositions for individual and collective experimentation.

Lygia Clark’s propositions assert that everyone is an artist: drawing the emphasis away from the cult of the artist, and towards experience and participation. Life is artful. Art has to be felt.

Every day the body is captured by the institutions, limiting experience to what already exists. When institutions capture us, they take us from our vitality and creativity.

Propositions return us to the possible.

We learnt from Lygia Clark’s work that individual experimentation can create a ground for collective attunement.

We are learning from Clark’s work: playing with how the body primes us for the world. We are thinking about structuring the self. We are thinking about mobius knots. We are thinking about cannibalistic baba. We are thinking about the space between mutism and the world. We are thinking liveness of coding. We are thinking about thinking is not rational.

These propositions give space to feel new sensations. What is the feeling of newness that gives a different felt perspective? How is the somatic political? How is the somatic ethical?

Lygia’s propositions have a political and ethical engagement, because they call up a body’s perception, dissolving its unity. When we dissolve the unity of the body, we touch the disorganization of sensation: the beautiful chaos of vitality.

This event is part of the worldwide Minor Movements events that celebrate the collective work of the SenseLab: "When art becomes the way and not the endpoint minor movements become orientors for processes to come.”–Erin Manning

 

Starting at 5:30pm, come and enjoy the Darling Foundry's Second Nature Bar and enjoy local craft beer from our generous sponsor, the microbrewery 4 Origins Brewing Co.'s, and delicious vegetarian sandwiches from FreshMint! 

Dj set of Rodrigo Velasco

Make Space for a Surprise to Arise

À l’occasion de cette soirée carte blanche, le SenseLab de l’Université Concordia présente Make Space for a Surprise to Arise, un ensemble d’expérimentations individuelles et collectives créées en réponse au travail de l’artiste Lygia Clark.

Figure de proue d’une génération d’artistes et d’intellectuels brésiliens connus pour avoir repensé la question de la participation selon l’enchevêtrement inextricable entre l’art et la vie, Lygia Clark revendique à partir des années 1960 un art subjectif et organique. Le programme du SenseLab met ainsi de l’avant la diversité des propositions participatives inspirées par l’œuvre de Clark et ses objets relationnels, en incluant leurs négations et leurs contradictions. Sur la Place Publique, les artistes du collectif Quimeras explorent nos divers états intérieurs en appelant au concept de vivências, une notion chère à Clark qui renvoie à l’expérience vécue, notamment à la présence sensorielle authentique du corps qui permet une résistance à toute idéologisation. Chaque personne participe différemment, ressent les choses différemment. Vivre ces expériences ouvre la voie vers une profonde introspection, vers un dialogue entre son corps, celui des autres, et leurs existences. 

 

18 H 15 - QUIMERAS 

Flo Sophia Dacy-Cole, Mariana Marcassa, Cadu Mello, Céline Pereira et Rodrigo Velasco.

"Le corps est la proposition" - Lygia Clark

Ceci n’est pas une soirée de performance: c’est un ensemble de propositions d’expérimentation individuelle et collective.

Les propositions de Lygia Clark affirment que tout le monde est un artiste: détourner l’accent du culte de l’artiste, au profit de l’expérience et de la participation. La vie est pleine de vitalité. L'art doit être ressenti.

Chaque jour, le corps est capturé par les institutions, limitant son expérience à ce qui existe déjà. Lorsque les institutions nous capturent, elles soustraient notre vitalité et de notre créativité.

Les propositions nous ramènent au possible.

Grâce aux travaux de Lygia Clark, nous avons appris que l’expérimentation individuelle peut créer un terrain propice à l’harmonisation collective.

Nous osons avec le travail de Clark. Nous osons jouer avec la façon dont le corps nous prépare pour le monde. Nous pensons à la structuration du soi. Nous pensons aux nœuds de Mobius. Nous pensons au cannibalisme baba. Nous pensons à l'espace entre le mutisme et le monde. Nous pensons à la vivacité du codage. Nous pensons que le processus de la pensée n'est pas rationnel. 

Ces propositions font de la place pour de nouvelles sensations. Quel est le sentiment de nouveauté qui donne une perspective différente? De quelle façon le somatique est-il politique? Comment le somatique est-il éthique?

Les propositions de Lygia ont un engagement politique et éthique, car elles appellent la perception d’un corps, en dissolvant son unité. Lorsque nous dissolvons l'unité du corps, nous touchons à la désorganisation de la sensation: le magnifique chaos de la vitalité.

Cet événement fait partie des événements Gestes Mineurs qui célèbrent le travail collectif du SenseLab: "Quand l'art devient le moyen et non le point final, les mouvements mineurs deviennent des orienteurs pour les processus à venir." - Erin Manning

 

 

Dès 17h30, venez profiter du Bar Second Nature de la Fonderie Darling et déguster les bières artisanales de notre généreux commanditaire, la microbrasserie locale 4 Origines, et les délicieux sandwichs végétariens FreshMint !

 

Dj set de Rodrigo Velasco

 

 

 

 

 

 

Soirées de performances

-

6:00 pm 11:00 pm

Place publique

Chaque été depuis plus de 10 ans, la Place Publique occupe une portion de la rue Ottawa en affirmant la présence de l’art et des artistes dans un secteur où cohabitent les grandes entreprises, les commerces innovants, les nouveaux résidents et ceux qui… Lire Plus