PERFORMANCE : KELLY MARK

EVERYTHING AND NOTHING

The Darling Foundry is pleased to present, as part of the group exhibition Drinkers of Quintessences, the performance Everything and Nothing (2013) by Canadian conceptual artist Kelly Mark, performed in duo with the artist Dean Baldwin.

The work features a dialogue on every subject under the sun between a man and a woman (the artist herself), in an exercise of style between two contradictory expressions that end up intermingled. Freely mixing about a hundred aphorisms and advertising slogans, organized roughly in alphabetical order, Everything and Nothing reveals the irony of our difficulty with grasping the nuances of the “rules” that govern our daily behaviours, as well as the subversive admixtures of philosophical thought and marketing claims.

This performance is related to another of Mark’s works in the exhibition: The Kiss (2007), a video sculpture composed of two CRT television sets placed screen to screen on a human-height platform. A pink-tinted monochromatic image, borrowed from the glow emanating from pornographic movies, runs on both screens, which are touching – a contact resembling a kiss.

PERFORMANCE : KELLY MARK

EVERYTHING AND NOTHING

Dans le cadre de l'exposition collective Buveurs de Quintessences, la Fonderie Darling est heureuse de présenter la performance Everything and Nothing (2013) de l'artiste conceptuelle canadienne Kelly Mark, interprétée en duo avec l'artiste Dean Baldwin.

L'œuvre met en scène un dialogue sur tout et sur rien entre un homme et une femme (l'artiste elle-même), dans un exercice de style entre deux expressions antinomiques qui finissent par se confondre. Mêlant librement une centaine d'aphorismes et de slogans commerciaux, passablement organisés en ordre alphabétique, Everything and Nothing ironise sur notre difficulté à saisir les nuances des soi disantes règles qui régissent nos comportements quotidiens, mais également les amalgames subversifs entre pensée philosophique et réclame publicitaire.

La performance fait écho à une autre œuvre de Kelly Mark présentée dans l'exposition : The Kiss (2007), une vidéo-sculpture composée de deux téléviseurs à tube cathodique placés écran contre écran sur un socle à hauteur d'homme. Une image monochromatique rosée, dérivée de la lueur émanant de films pornographiques, anime les deux écrans dont le contact simule un baiser.