Performance Chloe Lum and Yannick Desranleau (Seripop)

PROGRAM THURSDAY, AUGUST 6 - 7PM

Seripop is interested in the life and actions of materials; how shifting, scuffing, peeling, crushing and fading creates performative gestures within space. Their performative work with dancers builds on these gestures as well as the movements of their own bodies when deploying objects within the exhibition space. They are interested in the body as material object and in the material object as performing body. Both are beings in space with physical qualities and will. By building choreographies of object-related tasks they are furthering their exploration of materiality, entropy, collaboration and labour.
 
 

BIOGRAPHIES

Chloe Lum and Yannick Desranleau 

Based in Montréal, they have exhibited in Canada and abroad, most recently at the University of Texas (Austin, 2015), the Center for Books and Paper Arts (Columbia College Chicago, 2015), Confederation Centre Art Gallery (Charlottetown, 2014).
 
Lum and Desranleau have been also active as musicians, touring internationally with the experimental rock band AIDS Wolf, and producing a series of award-winning concert posters under the monicker Seripop.
 
They are represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau. 
 

Karen Fennell 

Karen Fennell is a contemporary dance artist originally from Newfoundland, and now based in Montreal.  A graduate of the Concordia University Dance Program, she has worked as a dancer with choreographers Dana Gingras, Sasha Kleinplatz, Susanna Hood, Maria Kefirova, Erin Flynn, and Peter Trosztmer, among others.  As a choreographer, her own short works have been presented on a variety of stages in Montreal, Quebec City, and Halifax.  Since 2013, she has collaborated regularly with musician Jackie Gallant, and their interdisciplinary co-creations have been presented by the Phenomena Festival, Edgy Redux, The Rhubarb Festival, and Tangente.  In addition to her work as a choreographer and dancer, Karen produces and hosts the open performance night, ‘So You Think That Was Dance?’ and is a certified instructor of the GYROTONIC® and GYROKINESIS® Methods.  

Deborah Dunn

Deborah Dunn was first introduced to dance at university where she was studying visual arts. The art form immediately began to influence her drawing and painting; the body finally leaping off the canvas and leading her to dance class. She then found herself steadily seduced by the theatre, first as a photographer and costume designer, then as a performer and choreographer. She founded her company Trial & Eros in Vancouver in the early 90s and is now based in Montreal. Deborah has created ten evening length works: ‘Trial & Eros’, ‘Pandora's Books’, ‘The Little Queen’, ‘The Birds’, ‘Blackmail’, ‘Elegant Heathens’, ‘Nocturnes’,‘Four Quartets’, ‘Orlando’ and ‘Le délire domestique’.

Mary St-Amand Williamson

Mary St-Amand Williamson's photos, installations and sound sculptures have been exhibited in Toronto at Harbourfront Centre, the Premier Dance Theatre and AWOL Gallery and featured in literary and arts publications in Canada and the United States.  She has performed and presented independent and collaborative choreographies (with Zohar Melinek) in various festivals and theatres in Berlin, Montreal, New York, Paris, and Toronto.  She has collaborated with artists  of diverse artistic disciplines including  Chun Hua Catherine Dong, Bettina Hoffmann, Ray Lavers, Manuel Mathieu, ODNi (Lena Massiani/Katya Montaniac), Seripop (Yannick Desranleau/Chloe Lum), Moheb Soliman and Gein Wong.

From June 18 to August 12, 2015

Place publique 2015

7 pm

Summer is just around the corner and the Darling Foundry is already busy concocting an ambitious project on the square that is opened to the public in front of its premises during the summer season. In…

Performance Chloe Lum et Yannick Desranleau (Seripop)

PROGRAMMATION JEUDI 6 AOÛT - 19H

Seripop s'intéresse à la vie et aux actions des matériaux : comment le déplacement, l’éraflure, l’épluchage, le broyage et la décoloration créent des gestes performatifs dans l'espace. Leur travail de performance avec des danseurs se fonde sur ces gestes ainsi que sur les mouvements de leurs propres corps lors du déploiement d'objets dans l'espace d'exposition. Ils s'intéressent aux corps comme objets matériels et aux objets matériels comme des corps performants. Les deux sont des êtres dans l'espace avec des qualités physiques et de la volonté. En construisant des chorégraphies basées sur des tâches liées à des objets, ils approfondissent leur exploration de la matérialité, de l'entropie, de la collaboration et du travail.

Chloe Lum et Yannick Desranleau sont basés à Montréal. Ils ont exposé au Canada et à l'étranger, le plus récemment à l'Université du Texas (Austin, 2015), au Center for Books and Paper Arts (Columbia College de Chicago, 2015), et au Centre des arts de la Confédération (Charlottetown, 2014).

Lum et Desranleau, également actifs en tant que musiciens, ont participé aux tournées internationales du groupe de rock expérimental AIDS Wolf et ont produit une série d'affiches de concerts primées, signées du surnom Seripop.
 
Ils sont représentés par la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau. 
 


BIOGRAPHIES

Chloe Lum and Yannick Desranleau 

Based in Montréal, they have exhibited in Canada and abroad, most recently at the University of Texas (Austin, 2015), the Center for Books and Paper Arts (Columbia College Chicago, 2015), Confederation Centre Art Gallery (Charlottetown, 2014).
 
Lum and Desranleau have been also active as musicians, touring internationally with the experimental rock band AIDS Wolf, and producing a series of award-winning concert posters under the monicker Seripop.
 
They are represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau. 
 

Karen Fennell 

Originaire de Terre-Neuve, elle s’est installée à Montréal en 2004 afin de suivre sa passion pour la danse contemporaine.  Diplômée de l’Université Concordia, elle a dansé pour les chorégraphes Dana Gingras, Sasha Kleinplatz, Maria Kefirova, Erin Flynn, Susanna Hood, et Peter Trosztmer, entre autres.  Comme chorégraphe, elle a présenté ses œuvres éclectiques sur diverses scènes à Montréal, Québec, et Halifax.  Depuis 2013, elle collabore avec la musicienne Jackie Gallant, et leurs co-créations interdisciplinaires ont été présentées par le Festival Phenomena, Edgy Redux, The Rhubarb Festival, et Tangente..  Parallèle à sa carrière d’interprète et chorégraphe, Karen produit et anime l’événement de performances, So You Think That Was Dance? (un <<micro-ouvert>> pour la danse contemporaine), et enseigne les méthodes de GYROTONIC® et GYROKINESIS®.

Deborah Dunn

Deborah Dunn a d'abord été introduite à la danse à l'université où elle étudiait les arts visuels. Cette forme d'art a immédiatement commencé à influencer son dessin et sa peinture; le corps sautant hors de la toile et la guidant en classe de danse. Elle se trouva par la suite séduite par le théâtre, d'abord comme photographe et costumière, puis comme interprète et chorégraphe. Elle a fondé sa compagnie Trial & Eros à Vancouver au début des années 90 et est maintenant basée à Montréal. Deborah a créé dix œuvres sous forme de soirées : " Trial & Eros », « Pandora Livres », « la petite reine », « Les Oiseaux », «Chantage », « Païens élégants », « Nocturnes », « Four Quartets ',' Orlando » et « Le délire domestique ».

Mary St- Amand Williamson 

Les photos, installations et sculptures sonores de Mary St- Amand Williamson ont été exposées à Toronto, au Harbourfront Centre , le Premier Dance Theatre et AWOL Gallery et présenté dans des publications littéraires et artistiques au Canada et aux États-Unis. Elle a joué et présenté des chorégraphies indépendantes et de collaboratives (avec Zohar Melinek) dans divers festivals et théâtres à Berlin, Montréal, New York, Paris et Toronto. Elle a collaboré avec des artistes de diverses disciplines artistiques y compris Chun Hua Catherine Dong, Bettina Hoffmann, Ray Lavers , Manuel Mathieu , ODNI (Lena Massiani / Katya Montaniac ), Seripop (Yannick Desranleau / Chloe Lum), Moheb Soliman et Gein Wong .

 

Du 18 juin au 12 août 2015

Place Publique 2015

19h

La belle saison se pointe et la Fonderie Darling concocte d’ores et déjà un projet des plus ambitieux pour la place rendue publique pendant la saison estivale en avant de ses bâtiments. En parallèle de…