Place Publique

Since 2007, Place Publique has established itself every summer on Ottawa Street as a space dedicated to the visual arts and its expanded audience. Site-specific artworks, performances and workshops enliven the space and transform it into an interactive platform by bringing together artists and citizens. By way of a variety of activities, the general public is thus invited to experience unique aesthetic experiences in a friendly and festive, open-air environment. By creating this site of expression, the Darling Foundry affirms the role of art in enriching the community's well-being and quality of life.

The Darling Foundry aims to make Place Publique a permanent project that will be animated throughout the year. Never-ending constructions, noise, visual and air pollution, cars everywhere… It is high time to establish a space dedicated to the citizens in a neighbourhood increasingly shaken by the destruction of old buildings, the construction of new ones and the traffic of multiple vehicles. Conceived as a space of collaborative construction from the inception to the realization, Place Publique aims thus at being a portion of asphalt appropriated by artists and citizens. Let’s ask for a permanent Place Publique dedicated to citizens, arts and ecology in Griffintown! 

The petition for a permanent Place Publique in Griffintown has completed with more than 3000 signatures. The Darling Foundry warmly thanks the precious support of our neighbours and fellow citizens in helping to realize this project.

Performance evenings

-

5:00 pm 10:00 pm

Place publique

The theme for Place Publique 2020 is synchronized with the group show presented from June 11 to August 23, 2020: FEEDBACK, Marshall McLuhan and the arts, a travelling project composed of exhibitions and publics programs initiated in 2017 by German-Canadian… See more

Performance evenings

-

5:30 pm 10:00 pm

Place publique

Every summer for the past ten years, Place Publique has occupied a section of rue Ottawa, confirming the presence of art and artists in a neighbourhood where major companies, innovative businesses, and new and long-established residents live side by side.… See more

Performance evenings

-

5:30 pm 10:00 pm

Place publique

For the 11th edition of Place Publique, the Darling Foundry offers neighborhood residents and art enthusiasts an exploratory, diversified and participative program. While reaffirming its role as an artistic and cultural landmark in an ever-changing neighborhood,… See more

Performance evenings

-

5:30 pm 10:00 pm

Place publique

Since 2007, Place Publique has established itself every summer on Ottawa Street as a space dedicated to the visual arts and the public. Site-specific artwork, performances and workshops animate and transform the space to become an interactive platform,… See more

Performance evening

-

7:30 pm 10:00 pm

Place publique

FILIATIONS - PERFORMANCE SERIES  Place Publique hosts four evenings of performances in order to reveal the connections between artists. For the past 10 years, the Darling Foundry has enlivened its Place Publique during the summer season with art installations… See more

Performance evenings

-

7:00 pm 10:00 pm

Place publique

Summer is just around the corner and the Darling Foundry is already busy concocting an ambitious project on the square that is opened to the public in front of its premises during the summer season. In parallel to the inauguration of the artwork Sans… See more

Performance evenings

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

For the eighth year in a row, the Darling Foundry expands its activities outdoors by occupying the Ottawa street between Queen and Prince streets. During the summer 2014, the Darling Foundry's ephemeral Place Publique has been very busy with artistic… See more

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

In 2013, swirls of smoke were floating all summer long over the Darling Foundry’s Place Publique. With its trademark caustic wit, the trio BGL has chosen to take over that space by showing Chicha Muffler, a participatory installation that lures us to… See more

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

In 2012, visitors gathered all summer long in front of the Darling Foundry and enjoyed the picnic tables designed by Mathieu Beauséjour to admire the impressive Courte-Pointe by Philippe Allard and Justin Duchesneau. Exhibited from June 14 to October… See more

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

In the summer of 2011, the Place Publique was organised around Plat-form, a sculpture by Alexandre David which fits somewhere between furniture and architecture. Plat-form also allowed to the Torontonian  Malcolm Sutton to present The Coming Envelope… See more

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

The 2010 theme of the Place Publique was Fugue urbaine, an in situ cavalcade with artworks of Canadian and international artists that intertwined with the urban fabric in a neighbourhood facing increasing uncertainty ahead of a major redevelopment. Centred… See more

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

From July 16th to September 3rd 2009, the Place Publique of the Darling Foundry has stressed the value of artistic performances thanks to an audacious program. These performances gathered enthousiasts again but also workers and residents of the neighborhood… See more

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

The second edition of the Place Publique was full of public art and events with audacious installations and lively days. Following up on his 2007 vegetation wall, the French artist Jean-Paul Ganem used a new technique to colour and add green to the Darling… See more

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

For the first time, an artistic platform has been settled every Thursday of the summer 2007 and has allowed new visitors to discover the Darling Foundry. The extended hours of the center and the gratuity of the exhibitions these days, the various and… See more

Place Publique

Depuis 2007, la Place Publique s’établit chaque été sur la rue Ottawa comme un espace dédié aux arts visuels et à ses publics. Œuvres in situ, performances et ateliers animent cet espace qui devient alors une véritable plate-forme interactive rassemblant artistes et citoyens. À travers une panoplie d’activités, le grand public est ainsi invité à vivre des expériences esthétiques uniques dans un cadre convivial et festif, à ciel ouvert. En créant ce lieu d’expression, la Fonderie Darling affirme le rôle de l’art dans l'enrichissement au bien-être et à la qualité de vie de la communauté.

La Fonderie Darling aspire à faire de cette Place Publique un projet permanent, animé tout au long de l'année. Travaux à répétition, pollution sonore, visuelle et atmosphérique constante, voitures omniprésentes… Il devient indispensable d'établir un espace dédié à l’humain dans un quartier de plus en plus bouleversé par la destruction d’anciennes bâtisses, la construction de nouveaux bâtiments, et la circulation de multiples véhicules. Pensée comme un espace de construction collective de la conception à la réalisation, la Place Publique a ainsi pour vocation d’être une portion d’asphalte que se réapproprient artistes et citoyens. Demandons l'installation à Griffintown d'une Place Publique permanente dédiée aux citoyens, aux arts et à l’écologie!

Une pétition pour une Place Publique permanente à Griffintown est disponible via ce lien ainsi qu'à l'accueil de la Fonderie Darling.

Un sit-in est également prévu le jeudi 27 septembre 2018 sur la Place Publique (plus d'informations à venir).

3:00 pm 10:00 pm

La Fonderie Darling organise une manifestation pacifique et performative pour défendre le projet d’une Place Publique permanente sur la portion de la rue Ottawa entre les rues Queen et Prince. Depuis maintenant plus de dix ans, la Fonderie Darling met… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

Pour cette 11ème édition de la Place Publique, la Fonderie Darling offre aux résidents du quartier et à tous les curieux une programmation exploratoire, diversifiée et participative. Tout en confirmant son rôle de repère artistique et communautaire dans… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

6:00 pm 6:00 pm

Place publique

Destinée à dynamiser la Place Publique 2017, une campagne de socio-financement a permis de financer l'œuvre d'art publique Unité d'habitation, par Antoine Caron. Initiée depuis 2007, la Place Publique s’établit chaque été sur la rue Ottawa comme un espace… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

7:30 pm 10:00 pm

Place publique

FILIATIONS - SÉRIE DE PERFORMANCES  Quatre soirées de performances animent la Place Publique dans le but de faire apparaître les filiations qui relient les artistes entre eux. Depuis près de 10 ans, la Fonderie Darling anime sa Place Publique avec des… Lire Plus

Vernissage

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

La belle saison se pointe et la Fonderie Darling concocte d’ores et déjà un projet des plus ambitieux pour la place rendue publique pendant la saison estivale en avant de ses bâtiments. En parallèle de l'inauguration de l'oeuvre Sans titre (Enseignes… Lire Plus

Discussion avec l'artiste

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

Pour la huitième année consécutive, la Fonderie Darling étend ses activités hors les murs dans le cadre du projet Place Publique en investissant la rue Ottawa entre les Queen et Prince. La saison estivale 2014 à la Fonderie Darling fut très occupée avec… Lire Plus

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

En 2013, les volutes de fumée étaient à l’honneur sur la Place Publique de la Fonderie Darling. Le trio à l’humour décapant BGL a choisi d’investir l’espace en y présentant Chicha Muffler, une installation participative qui invite à adopter le rythme… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

Cette année, les visiteurs se sont rassemblés devant la Fonderie Darling au cours de l’été sur les tables de pique-nique de Mathieu Beauséjour, tous attirés par l’imposante et flamboyante Courte-Pointe de Phillipe Allard et Justin Duchesneau. Exposée… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

A l’été 2011, la Place Publique s’est articulée autour de Plate-forme, une sculpture d’Alexandre David qui se situe entre mobilier et architecture. Plate-forme a notamment permis au Torontois Malcolm Sutton de présenter The Coming Envelope 3, publié aux… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

L’édition 2010 de la Place Publique s’est faite sous le thème de la Fugue urbaine avec un parcours d’oeuvres d’art visuel in situ d’artistes canadiens et internationaux, où l’art s’entrelace au tissu urbain au sein d’un quartier en pleine transformation.… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

Du 16 juillet au 3 septembre 2009, la Place Publique de la Fonderie Darling a souligné son intérêt pour les performances artistiques grâce à une programmation audacieuse qui a encore une fois rassemblé les amateurs de cette discipline ainsi que les travailleurs… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

La deuxième édition de la Place Publique 2008 fut riche en art public et en événements avec des installations audacieuses et des journées animées. Pour faire suite à l’édition 2007 du mur végétal, l’artiste français Jean-Paul Ganem a utilisé une nouvelle… Lire Plus

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

Pour la première fois, une plate-forme artistique a été mise en place les jeudis de l’été 2007 et a ainsi permis à de nouveaux publics de découvrir la Fonderie Darling. L’horaire prolongé du centre et la gratuité des expositions ce jour là, les nombreuses… Lire Plus