Always mind... 1

This first performance night from the cycle Fermons les yeux pour voir. Always mind your surroundings paints a portrait of Darling Foundry’s district and its history. The artists mobilize places and uncared-for objects: Jean-Philippe Luckhurst-Cartier does this through a field survey of vacant Griffintown buildings; Kévin Pinvidic transforms a collection of neighborhood waste into an installation in the Depotium warehouse by the Darling Foundry.

Jean-Philippe Luckhurst-Cartier - Soap Ottawa

Having met with the non-profit organization Entremise, Jean-Philippe Luckhurst-Cartier offers a playful performance on the Place Publique about the issues related to Griffintown’s architecture and urbanism.

A multidisciplinary artist, Jean-Philippe Luckhurst-Cartier practices action-based art through mediation, appropriation as well as historical and daily dérives. The contexts in which he works become raw materials for his art. Whether revealed through found objects, installation, painting or performance, the environments he explores become as much personal, micropolitical and potentially reflective of the public and intimate places that inhabit us. His work has been presented and hosted in residencies by different organizations, such as the 3e Impérial (2017-2018), Verticale – centre d'artistes (2018), la SERRE – arts vivants (2017), the Halle de Pont-in-Royans (France, 2017), the Musée de Lachine (2016), the festivals OFFTA (2016) and Viva! Art Action (2015). He will be performing at Folie Culture (Quebec) and VIVA! Art Action (Montreal) this fall.

Kévin Pinvidic - Appareillage : entrepôt 6055 quai no. 6

Kévin Pinvidic presents an on-site low-tech scenographic and media installation, conceived from a collection of waste, materials, and objects created while meandering the Griffintown district for a year from May 2017 to May 2018. His installation is housed in a warehouse under the railway line of the Bonaventure station, which has been a real physical boundary of the district throughout its history. Pinvidic’s work highlights the traffic between Griffintown’s various sites and the collection site. The installation of the collection, produced in the warehouse a month prior to its presentation, is accompanied by dynamic lighting and a 3D animated projection. Developing a nomadic practice in the city, this project explores ways in which the drawing process – and more broadly the mapping process – emerges from the opposing forces of attraction and repulsion between the poles of the neighborhood in order to reveal them in a node of culminating intensity. The navigation map Bordées that accompanies the installation presents the desire to link the lived and observed situations – urban, architectural or social. With the aim of exposing the thought-process that led to the project’s execution, this map also offers participants the opportunity to continue or complete their installation experience by tracing the actions carried out in the district.

Several visits to the warehouse located by the Darling Foundry are organized from the Place Publique:
- during the evening of June 28, 2018 (opening of the exhibition Appareillage : entrepôt 6055 quai no. 6)
- From June 29 to July 05, 2018 inclusively, by reservation only (10 people per time slot)

An identifiable landmark marks the meeting point at the Bar/Terrace of Place Publique. The artist will accompany you to the place from there.

The navigation map is available on site to accompany you in your experience. Do not hesitate to ask at the reception of Darling Foundry.

Kévin Pinvidic is a visual artist, architect-scenographer and designer. His reflections, rendered 2D or 3D, physical or virtual, relate to representation and usage of urban space. After several years of studying architecture and design in France, he currently is finishing his master’s degree in visual and media arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal. His work was exhibited at the Espace Contemporain Gallery (Montreal), the Sora Gallery (Osaka) and the Espace des Arts Abstraits (Paris), among other places.

From 6:00pm, enjoy the Darling Foundry's Second Nature Bar to cool off with a drink!

Fermons les yeux... 1

Cette première soirée de performances du cycle Fermons les yeux pour voir. Always mind your surroundings dresse un portrait du quartier de la Fonderie Darling et de son histoire en mobilisant des lieux et des objets mai-aimés : Jean-Philippe Luckhurst-Cartier, par une enquête de terrain sur les bâtiments vacants de Griffintown ; Kévin Pinvidic, par une collecte de déchets effectuée dans le quartier et transformée en une installation dans l'entrepôt Depotium voisin de la Fonderie Darling. 

Jean-Philippe Luckhurst-Cartier - Soap Ottawa

Après être allé à la rencontre de l'organisme à but non lucratif Entremise, Jean-Philippe Luckhurst-Cartier propose sur la Place Publique une performance ludique sur les problématiques liées à l'architecture et à l'urbanisme de Griffintown. 

Artiste multidisciplinaire, Jean-Philippe Luckhurst-Cartier pratique l’art-action dans une perspective de médiation, d’appropriation et de dérives historiques et quotidiennes. Les contextes dans lesquels il œuvre deviennent en quelque sorte les matériaux premiers de ses œuvres d’art. Qu’ils soient révélés par le biais d’objets trouvés, de l’installation, de peinture ou de manière performative, les environnements qu’il explore deviennent autant des réflexions personnelles, micropolitiques ou potentielles des lieux publics et intimes qui nous habitent. Son travail a été présenté et accueilli en résidences par différents organismes comme le 3e Impérial (2017-2018), Verticale – centre d'artistes (2018), la SERRE – arts vivants (2017), la Halle de Pont en Royans (France, 2017), le Musée de Lachine (2016), les festivals OFFTA (2016) et Viva! Art Action (2015). Il présentera cet automne des performances à Folie Culture (Québec) et au festival VIVA! Art Action (Montréal). 

Kévin Pinvidic - Appareillage : entrepôt 6055 quai no. 6

Kévin Pinvidic présente une installation scénographique et médiatique low tech in situ, conçue à partir d’une collecte de déchets, de matériaux, et d’objets effectuée lors d’errances dans le quartier de Griffintown pendant une année, de mai 2017 à mai 2018. Occupant un entrepôt situé sous la voie ferrée de la gare Bonaventure, véritable frontière physique du quartier marquant plusieurs époques de son histoire, cette installation met en évidence les multiples mouvements de va-et-vient réalisés entre les nombreux chantiers de Griffintown et le lieu de la collecte. Réalisée dans l’entrepôt sur une période de travail d’un mois avant sa présentation, la mise en espace de la collecte s’accompagne d’un éclairage dynamique et d’une projection d’animation 3D. Développant une pratique nomade dans la ville, ce projet explore de quelles manières le processus du dessin et plus largement du mapping présent dans la création émerge des forces contraires d’attraction et de répulsion existantes entre les pôles du quartier afin de les révéler dans un nœud d’une intensité culminante. Cette volonté de faire lien entre les différentes situations vécues et observées – urbanistiques, architecturales et sociales - se retrouve également dans la carte de navigation Bordées qui accompagne l’installation. Ayant pour objectif de rendre lisible et visible les mouvements de la pensée qui ont conduit à l’exécution du projet, cette carte offre également la possibilité aux participants de poursuivre ou de compléter l’expérience de l’installation en retraçant les actions réalisées dans le quartier.

Plusieurs visites vers l'entrepôt situé aux abords de la Fonderie Darling sont organisées à partir de la Place Publique:
- lors de la soirée du 28 juin 2018 (vernissage de l'exposition Appareillage : entrepôt 6055 quai no. 6)
- du 29 juin au 05 juillet 2018 inclusivement, sur réservation uniquement (10 personnes par plage horaire)
Un repère identifiable marque le lieu de rendez-vous à la Terrasse/Bar de la Place Publique. L'artiste vous accompagne ensuite vers le lieu de la visite.
La carte de navigation est disponible sur place pour vous accompagner dans votre expérience. N'hésitez pas à la demander à l'accueil de la Fonderie Darling.

Kévin Pinvidic est un artiste plasticien, architecte-scénographe et designer. En 2D ou 3D, par la matérialité comme par le virtuel, ses réflexions portent sur la représentation et l’usage de l’espace urbain. Après plusieurs années d'études d'architecture et de design en France, il termine actuellement sa maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques à l'Université du Québec à Montréal. Son travail a été exposé, entre autres, à la galerie Espace Contemporain (Montréal), à la galerie Sora (Osaka) et à l'espace des Arts Abstraits (Paris).

Dès 18H, profitez du Bar Second Nature de la Fonderie Darling pour vous rafraîchir autour d'un verre !