Carte blanche PERFform 18

This evening offers a carte blanche to PERFform 18, a performance art tour from New Brunswick, conceived by Linda Rae Dornan and Mathieu Léger.

Linda Rae Dornan

In a series of connected actions, Dornan will perform with language systems forgotten and unknown, both physically and written, in an effort to communicate. Sometimes playful, often autobiographical, she gently queries life’s possibilities by creating poetic scenes about language, place and being.

Linda Rae Dornan’s art practice is performative and interdisciplinary, inclusive of video, installation, performance, sound and writing. Each feeds into the other exploring how we speak/communicate and connect to each other and the land around us through voice and body, language, place, memory and being. Winner of the 2010 Strathbutler Award, the NB Linda Joy Media Arts Award and numerous art grants, she has exhibited, performed and screened her work in North America, Europe and Asia. Recent projects include the performances Performing Rituals of Place in Arbroath, Scotland and Reykjavík, Iceland; PERFform 17, performance art tour with Mathieu Léger; Woven woven lost and found, Visualeyez Performance Art Festival, Latitude 53, Edmonton, AB; Calling the Cuckoo at 7a*11d International Festival of Performance Art in Toronto. Upcoming is an evening of performances with Mathieu Léger at La Fonderie Darling in Montreal. Her performance art work is included in the 2016 publication, More Caught in the Act; An Anthology of Performance Art by Canadian Women. Dornan’s work is in the New Brunswick Museum, Owens Art Gallery, NB Art Bank, Canada Council Art Bank, La Province du Québec, and numerous private collections.

Mathieu Léger

For PERFform 18, Mathieu Léger will continue developing his series In Regard to Rendering (2016-present). These works are a performance experiment in matter, time, and form using objects and actions that speak about the temporary and the permanent. In Regard to Rendering is an exploration into how we attach meaning to space through the use of processes and materials that refer to permanence. This project engages with interstitiality: the space within one boundary and the next4, that is to say, the research is interested in engaging our level of comfort in uncertain, transitory spaces, as well as volumetric awareness.

Mathieu Léger hails from the Maritime region of Eastern Canada. Serial artist-in-residence, he has participated in 50 artist's residencies. Léger holds a Bachelor of Arts (Literature / Fine Art - Université de Moncton, 01998). His work reflects on ideas surrounding wilderness, geological time, and process related activities of the natural world. Scouring time, place, and space, his projects are delivered through performance, textworks, photography, and video/sound installations. He is currently developing several long-term projects that investigate the physicality of spatial awareness through performance, sound, and image. He shares his time between far away places and Moncton, NB, Canada.

From 6pm, enjoy the Darling Foundry's Second Nature Bar and the tacos kiosk by Café Cantina, on a set by DJ Jérôme!

The artists would like to acknowledge the support of the following organizations:

The New Brunswick Arts Board
Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation
Canada Council for the Arts
Galerie Sans Nom
PERFform 18
 
 

From June 21 to August 16, 2018

Place Publique 2018

6 pm

For the 11th edition of Place Publique, the Darling Foundry offers neighborhood residents and art enthusiasts an exploratory, diversified and participative program. While reaffirming its role as an artistic…

Carte blanche PERFform 18

Cette soirée offre une carte blanche à PERFform 18, une tournée d'art performance venue du Nouveau-Brunswick, conçue par Linda Rae Dornan et Mathieu Léger.

Linda Rae Dornan

Dans une série d'actions liées entre elles, Linda Rae Dornan performe à partir de langages oubliés et inconnus, aussi bien physiques qu'écrits, afin d'inventer une manière de communiquer. Parfois ludiques, souvent autobiographiques, ses performances questionnent avec douceur les possibilités qu'offre la vie, en imaginant des scènes poétiques sur le langage, le lieu et l'être. 

Performative et interdisciplinaire, la pratique artistique de Linda Rae Dornan mobilise vidéos, installations, performances, sons et écriture. Chaque médium se nourrit de l'autre pour explorer la façon dont nous parlons/communiquons, dont nous nous connectons les uns aux autres et avec l'environnement autour de nous à travers la voix et le corps, le langage, le lieu, la mémoire et l'être. En plus d'avoir remporté de nombreuses bourses artistiques, elle a exposé, performé et diffusé son travail en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie. Parmi ses projets les plus récents, on compte les performances Performing Rituals of Place à Arbroath (Écosse) et Reykjavík (Iceland); PERFform 17, la première édition de la tournée d'art performance réalisée avec Mathieu Léger; Woven woven lost and found, dans le cadre du Visualeyez Performance Art Festival, Latitude 53, Edmonton, AB; Calling the Cuckoo au 7a*11d International Festival of Performance Art à Toronto. Son œuvre performative est détaillé dans la publication More Caught in the Act: An Anthology of Performance Art by Canadian Women (2016). Le travail de Dornan fait partie des collections du New Brunswick Museum, de l'Owens Art Gallery, de la NB Art Bank, de la Banque d'œuvres du Conseil des Arts du Canada, de La Province du Québec, et de nombreuses collections privées.

Mathieu Léger

Pour PERFform 18, Mathieu Léger poursuit une séquence d’actions issue de la série In Regard to Rendering (2016-présent). In Regard to Rendering (En ce qui concerne le rendu) est un projet d’expérimentation en performance qui explore matière, temps et forme pour établir un dialogue avec les thèmes du temporaire et du permanent. Ce projet explore la façon dont nous attachons un sens à l'espace grâce à l'utilisation de procédés et de matériaux qui se réfèrent à la permanence. Il est motivé par l’interstitialité : l’espace entre une frontière et la prochaine, interrogeant ainsi notre confort dans des espaces incertains et transitoires, de même que notre conscience volumétrique.

Mathieu Léger est né dans les Provinces Maritimes du Canada. Artiste-en-résidence en série, il a participé à plus de 50 résidences d’artiste. Il détient un Baccalauréat es arts libres (Littérature et arts visuels — Université de Moncton, 1998). Ses projets incarnent des idées autour de la nature sauvage, du temps (géologique), ainsi que des procédés biologiques du monde naturel. En essayant d’appréhender le temps, l’espace et le lieu, ses projets se concrétisent sous forme de performances, de textes, de photographies et d’installations vidéo/audio. Entre 2013 et 2017, Mathieu s’est concentré sur un projet de performance et d’écriture dans lequel il scrutait les aspects physiques de la conscience spatiale et, parallèlement, les conventions cartographiques. Il partage son temps entre des pays lointains et Moncton, NB, Canada.

Dès 18H, profitez du Bar Second Nature de la Fonderie Darling pour vous rafraîchir autour d'un verre !

 

Les artistes désirent souligner l'appui des organismes suivants:
 
Conseil des arts du Nouveau-Brunswick
La Fondation Sheila Hugh Mackay
Conseil des arts du Canada 
Galerie Sans Nom
PERFform 18