Always mind... 3

This third evening of performance cycle Fermons les yeux pour voir. Always mind your surroundings will revolve stories of displacement through multiple-channel video installations, inviting the audience to roam around Place Publique. In addition, artistic duo Catherine Landry and Gabriel Lapierre will activate for the third time Générateur Spectaculaire - the performative installation exhibited at Place Publique all summer long.

Rixt de Boer - Passage

The street is a blank canvas that provides a stage for constant accumulation of volatile and unwitnessed moments/events, leaving no traces behind. Nothing that happens on the street is permanent, except for the street itself. All space is constantly in transition, whether visible or not. As a public space, the street at once belongs to everyone and no one. It often serves only an an intermediate zone from points A to B. However in some cases, the street takes on a different function and the line between public and private space blurs. Space is often appropriated in different ways, allowing its function to change. Various types of structures arise for different reasons, temporarily assigning new functions and perceptions of the street. The temporary installation created by Rixt de Boer emphasizes the meaning of space through video material gathered during the month she spent in Bolivia, in spring 2018.

Rixt de Boer is a Dutch multi-disciplinary artist, who obtained her BA in photography at the Royal Academy of Arts in The Hague (Netherlands) in 2014. Her work explores the way we relate to different landscapes, by investigating the symbolic value of objects or situations connected to it. Often these are framed instances taken out of our daily surroundings, that play a role in our collective memory. History, traces and memory are recurrent themes in her practice.

Natalia Lassalle Morillo - Retiro

Retiro is both a multimedia documentary and a performance project, combining autobiography, the extraordinary and potential stories. The artwork is comprised of interviews with women over 60 in Cuba, Miami, Montreal and Puerto Rico. This documentary projection reconstructs and reinvents the memories of the participating women through interviews, behind-the-scenes footage, and re-enactments. These techniques allow for an intimate exploration of the fragile human experience, the ephemeral nature of time, and the aging of a wife. The performance presented in the Place Publique focuses on the creation of a transitory and ephemeral cinema based on the documentary process. It intertwines the film's recreation and its realization, but also the reflections on daily life of these women in their geographical contexts and respective politics.

Natalia Lassalle Morillo is a playwright, filmmaker, performer and visual artist from Puerto Rico. Her work focuses on the convergence of autobiography and re-­imagined history in live and permanent artistic mediums. She earned her BFA at the Experimental Theatre Wing of New York University. She has been an artist-in-residence at the Miami Light Project and the Miami Theatre Center, as well as at the Darling Foundry in Montreal and Lake Studios in Berlin, Germany. Her work has been shown in galleries and venues in Miami, Berlin, Los Angeles, New York and Puerto Rico. She is currently based in Los Angeles, California and Bayamón, Puerto Rico.

Starting at 6 pm, join us and enjoy the Second Nature Bar of the Darling Foundry and the tacos kiosk by Café Cantina, on a set by DJ Jérôme!

 

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

For the 11th edition of Place Publique, the Darling Foundry offers neighborhood residents and art enthusiasts an exploratory, diversified and participative program. While reaffirming its role as an artistic and cultural landmark in an ever-changing neighborhood,… See more

FERMONS LES YEUX... 3

Pour cette troisième soirée de performances du cycle Fermons les yeux pour voir. Always mind your surroundings, Rixt de Boer et Natalia Lassalle Morillo présentent des histoires de déplacements par le biais d'installations vidéo à canaux multiples, invitant le public à un parcours déambulatoire sur la Place Publique. De plus, le duo d’artistes Catherine Landry et Gabriel Lapierre active pour la troisième fois Générateur Spectaculaire, l'œuvre d'art public performative présentée tout au long de l’été sur la Place Publique.

Rixt de Boer - Passage

La rue est une zone propice à l'accumulation continuelle d'instants volatiles, de moments passant inaperçus, d'événements ne laissant aucune trace... En dehors de la rue elle-même, rien de ce qui se passe dans la rue n'est permanent. L'espace est constamment en transition, de manière visible ou non. En tant qu'espace public, la rue appartient à tout le monde mais pourtant à personne, car elle ne sert le plus souvent que de zone intermédiaire entre un point A et un point B. Toutefois, dans certains cas, la rue endosse une fonction différente et la frontière entre sphère publique et sphère privée devient plus fine. L'espace est souvent approprié de différentes manières, modifiant ainsi son rôle. Divers types de structures s'élèvent pour diverses raisons, attribuant de manière temporaire une nouvelle fonction et une nouvelle perception de la rue. L'installation temporaire créée par Rixt de Boer sur la Place Publique insiste sur la signification de l'espace par le biais d'une projection de vidéos que l'artiste a réalisées lors de son périple en Bolivie, au printemps 2018. 

Rixt de Boer est une artiste néerlandaise multi-disciplinaire, diplômée en photographie à la Royal Academy of Arts de La Haye (Pays-Bas) en 2014. Son travail explore notre rapport au paysage, en interrogeant la valeur symbolique des objets et situations liés à celui-ci. Il s'agit souvent de moments précis extraits de notre environnement quotidien et qui jouent un rôle dans notre mémoire collective. L'histoire, les traces et la mémoire sont des thèmes récurrents dans son travail.

Natalia Lassalle Morillo - Retiro

Réalisé à partir d'entrevues avec des femmes âgées de plus de 60 ans à Cuba, Miami, Montréal et Puerto Rico, Retiro est à la fois un documentaire multimédia et un projet de performance alliant autobiographie, extraordinaire et histoire potentielle. Cette projection documentaire reconstruit et réinvente les souvenirs des femmes participantes par le biais d'entrevues, de séquences filmées en coulisses, et de reconstitutions, qui permettent une exploration intime de la fragile expérience humaine, du caractère éphémère du temps, et du veillissement chez la femme. La performance présentée sur la Place Publique se concentre sur la création d'un cinéma transitoire et éphémère à partir du procédé documentaire, entrelaçant le loisir du film et sa réalisation, mais aussi des réflexions sur la vie quotidienne de ces femmes dans leurs contextes géographiques et politiques respectifs. 

Natalia Lassalle ­Morillo est une artiste portoricaine dont la pratique articule le théâtre, le cinéma, la performance et les arts visuels. Son travail porte sur la convergence entre l'autobiographie et l'histoire ré-imaginée en direct ou sur des médiums artistiques permanents. Elle a obtenu son BFA en théâtre expérimental à la New York University. Elle été en résidence au Miami Light Project, au Miami Theatre Center, à la Fonderie Darling et aux Lake Studios à Berlin. Son travail a été exposé dans des galeries et salles d'exposition à Miami, Berlin, Los Angeles, New York et Porto Rico. Natalia Lassalle ­Morillo vit actuellement entre Los Angeles et Bayamón, Porto Rico.

Dès 18H, profitez du Bar Second Nature de la Fonderie Darling et du comptoir à tacos de Café Cantina, sur un set de DJ Jérôme !

Soirée performance

-

7:00 pm 7:00 pm

Place publique

Pour cette 11ème édition de la Place Publique, la Fonderie Darling offre aux résidents du quartier et à tous les curieux une programmation exploratoire, diversifiée et participative. Tout en confirmant son rôle de repère artistique et communautaire dans… Lire Plus