Place Publique

Since 2007, Place Publique has established itself every summer on Ottawa Street as a space dedicated to the visual arts and its expanded audience. Site-specific artworks, performances and workshops enliven the space and transform it into an interactive platform by bringing together artists and citizens. By way of a variety of activities, the general public is thus invited to experience unique aesthetic experiences in a friendly and festive, open-air environment. By creating this site of expression, the Darling Foundry affirms the role of art in enriching the community's well-being and quality of life.

The Darling Foundry aims to make Place Publique a permanent project that will be animated throughout the year. Never-ending constructions, noise, visual and air pollution, cars everywhere… It is high time to establish a space dedicated to the citizens in a neighbourhood increasingly shaken by the destruction of old buildings, the construction of new ones and the traffic of multiple vehicles. Conceived as a space of collaborative construction from the inception to the realization, Place Publique aims thus at being a portion of asphalt appropriated by artists and citizens. Let’s ask for a permanent Place Publique dedicated to citizens, arts and ecology in Griffintown! 

A petition for a permanent Place Publique in Griffintown is available via this link and at the Darling Foundry.

A sit-in is also scheduled on Place Publique on Thursday, 20 September 2018 (more information will follow).

 

From June 21 to August 16, 2018

Place Publique 2018

5 pm

For this 11th edition of Place Publique, the Darling Foundry offers to neighborhood residents and all art amateurs an exploratory, diversified and participative program. While confirming its role as a…

From June 15 to August 17, 2017

Place Publique 2017

6 pm

This edition marks the 10th anniversary of the Place Publique and is a major event for the Darling Foundry, participating in the social and artistic dynamism of the City of Montreal. The 2017 programming,…

From June 30 to August 11, 2016

Place Publique 2016

7:30 pm to 10 pm

FILIATIONS - PERFORMANCE SERIES  Place Publique hosts four evenings of performances in order to reveal the connections between artists. For the past 10 years, the Darling Foundry has enlivened its Place…

From June 18 to August 12, 2015

Place publique 2015

7 pm

Summer is just around the corner and the Darling Foundry is already busy concocting an ambitious project on the square that is opened to the public in front of its premises during the summer season. In…

From June 19 to September 26, 2014

Place Publique 2014

7 pm

For the eighth year in a row, the Darling Foundry expands its activities outdoors by occupying the Ottawa street between Queen and Prince streets. During the summer 2014, the Darling Foundry's ephemeral…

From July 11 to August 24, 2013

Place Publique 2013

7 pm

In 2013, swirls of smoke were floating all summer long over the Darling Foundry’s Place Publique. With its trademark caustic wit, the trio BGL has chosen to take over that space by showing Chicha Muffler,…

From June 14 to September 27, 2012

Place Publique 2012

7 pm

In 2012, visitors gathered all summer long in front of the Darling Foundry and enjoyed the picnic tables designed by Mathieu Beauséjour to admire the impressive Courte-Pointe by Philippe Allard and Justin…

From July 28 to October  6, 2011

Place Publique 2011

7 pm

In the summer of 2011, the Place Publique was organised around Plat-form, a sculpture by Alexandre David which fits somewhere between furniture and architecture. Plat-form also allowed to the Torontonian  Malcolm…

From June 17 to August 29, 2010

Place Publique 2010

7 pm

The 2010 theme of the Place Publique was Fugue urbaine, an in situ cavalcade with artworks of Canadian and international artists that intertwined with the urban fabric in a neighbourhood facing increasing…

From July 16 to September  3, 2009

Place Publique 2009

7 pm

From July 16th to September 3rd 2009, the Place Publique of the Darling Foundry has stressed the value of artistic performances thanks to an audacious program. These performances gathered enthousiasts again…

From June 26 to August 31, 2008

Place Publique 2008

7 pm

The second edition of the Place Publique was full of public art and events with audacious installations and lively days. Following up on his 2007 vegetation wall, the French artist Jean-Paul Ganem used…

From August 12 to November  1, 2007

Place Publique 2007

7 pm

For the first time, an artistic platform has been settled every Thursday of the summer 2007 and has allowed new visitors to discover the Darling Foundry. The extended hours of the center and the gratuity…

Place Publique

Depuis 2007, la Place Publique s’établit chaque été sur la rue Ottawa comme un espace dédié aux arts visuels et à ses publics. Œuvres in situ, performances et ateliers animent cet espace qui devient alors une véritable plate-forme interactive rassemblant artistes et citoyens. À travers une panoplie d’activités, le grand public est ainsi invité à vivre des expériences esthétiques uniques dans un cadre convivial et festif, à ciel ouvert. En créant ce lieu d’expression, la Fonderie Darling affirme le rôle de l’art dans l'enrichissement au bien-être et à la qualité de vie de la communauté.

La Fonderie Darling aspire à faire de cette Place Publique un projet permanent, animé tout au long de l'année. Travaux à répétition, pollution sonore, visuelle et atmosphérique constante, voitures omniprésentes… Il devient indispensable d'établir un espace dédié à l’humain dans un quartier de plus en plus bouleversé par la destruction d’anciennes bâtisses, la construction de nouveaux bâtiments, et la circulation de multiples véhicules. Pensée comme un espace de construction collective de la conception à la réalisation, la Place Publique a ainsi pour vocation d’être une portion d’asphalte que se réapproprient artistes et citoyens. Demandons l'installation à Griffintown d'une Place Publique permanente dédiée aux citoyens, aux arts et à l’écologie!

Une pétition pour une Place Publique permanente à Griffintown est disponible via ce lien ainsi qu'à l'accueil de la Fonderie Darling.

Un sit-in est également prévu le jeudi 20 septembre 2018 sur la Place Publique (plus d'informations à venir).

Du 21 juin au 16 août 2018

Place Publique 2018

18h

Pour cette 11ème édition de la Place Publique, la Fonderie Darling offre aux résidents du quartier et à tous les curieux une programmation exploratoire, diversifiée et participative. Tout en confirmant…

Du 15 juin au 17 août 2017

Place Publique 2017

18h

Cette nouvelle édition marque le 10e anniversaire de la Place Publique et constitue un événement majeur de la Fonderie Darling, participant au dynamisme social et artistique de la Ville de Montréal. La…

Du 30 juin au 11 août 2016

Place Publique 2016

19h30 à 22h

FILIATIONS - SÉRIE DE PERFORMANCES  Quatre soirées de performances animent la Place Publique dans le but de faire apparaître les filiations qui relient les artistes entre eux. Depuis près de 10 ans,…

Du 18 juin au 12 août 2015

Place Publique 2015

19h

La belle saison se pointe et la Fonderie Darling concocte d’ores et déjà un projet des plus ambitieux pour la place rendue publique pendant la saison estivale en avant de ses bâtiments. En parallèle de…

Du 19 juin au 26 septembre 2014

Place publique 2014

19h

Pour la huitième année consécutive, la Fonderie Darling étend ses activités hors les murs dans le cadre du projet Place Publique en investissant la rue Ottawa entre les Queen et Prince. La saison estivale…

Du 11 juillet au 24 août 2013

Place Publique 2013

19h

En 2013, les volutes de fumée étaient à l’honneur sur la Place Publique de la Fonderie Darling. Le trio à l’humour décapant BGL a choisi d’investir l’espace en y présentant Chicha Muffler, une installation…

Du 14 juin au 27 septembre 2012

Place Publique 2012

19h

Cette année, les visiteurs se sont rassemblés devant la Fonderie Darling au cours de l’été sur les tables de pique-nique de Mathieu Beauséjour, tous attirés par l’imposante et flamboyante Courte-Pointe…

Du 28 juillet au 6 octobre 2011

Place Publique 2011

19h

A l’été 2011, la Place Publique s’est articulée autour de Plate-forme, une sculpture d’Alexandre David qui se situe entre mobilier et architecture. Plate-forme a notamment permis au Torontois Malcolm Sutton…

Du 17 juin au 29 août 2010

Place Publique 2010

19h

L’édition 2010 de la Place Publique s’est faite sous le thème de la Fugue urbaine avec un parcours d’oeuvres d’art visuel in situ d’artistes canadiens et internationaux, où l’art s’entrelace au tissu urbain…

Du 16 juillet au 3 septembre 2009

Place Publique 2009

19h

Du 16 juillet au 3 septembre 2009, la Place Publique de la Fonderie Darling a souligné son intérêt pour les performances artistiques grâce à une programmation audacieuse qui a encore une fois rassemblé…

Du 26 juin au 31 août 2008

Place Publique 2008

19h

La deuxième édition de la Place Publique 2008 fut riche en art public et en événements avec des installations audacieuses et des journées animées. Pour faire suite à l’édition 2007 du mur végétal, l’artiste…

Du 12 août au 1 novembre 2007

Place Publique 2007

19h

Pour la première fois, une plate-forme artistique a été mise en place les jeudis de l’été 2007 et a ainsi permis à de nouveaux publics de découvrir la Fonderie Darling. L’horaire prolongé du centre et…