Stephanie Loveless / For Romantic Fantasy

For Romantic Fantasy is both precursor to and extension of a project called Performance Prescriptions (2009) “an apothecary of actions prescribed for audience-identified ailments”. With Prescriptions, Loveless invited her community to tell her their perceived ailments, whether “psychic, physical, or psychological,” for which she would then prescribe curative actions. Most of her cures involved the voice: she proposed learning non-human languages, speaking to trees, to a body part, or to the dead.

For Romantic Fantasy was a self-prescription, and offers Loveless’ own voice repeating the heteronormative song of optimistic longing, “Some Day My Prince Will Come”, with increasing loss of linguistic intelligibility. Produced through digital time shift and documenting her attempts to master these new sounds, For Romantic Fantasy is played out in multiple speakers and in increasingly slower time signatures until the voice moves well beyond language. Its process is evocative of Alvin Lucier’s germinal project, I am Sitting in a Room, wherein he recorded, played back and re-recorded a simple text spoken by himself until the text itself was lost. His didactic language is replaced with that of the resonant and formant frequencies in the room caused by the interrelation of the subject voice, the recording device’s capabilities and the architectural volume and material, or acoustics, of the room in question. Loveless has fully engaged the spatial here in the form of physical installation, but has replaced the recording device as the interlocutor, and does not activate the acoustic phenomena of the architecture to perform the work. Instead, the handmade speaker structures and their orientation within the room hint at both the complexity of location and the difficulty of making a sound, and assert the nature of the exhibition as a constructed and deeply coded site.  It is with this distinct series of actions that Loveless places the act of listening at the forefront of the work, and importantly, the first listener is herself. This unique subject position offers up the individual as literally polyphonic as she dismantles a seemingly antiquated and prescriptive text into the sonorous.

“…what secret is at stake when one truly listens, that is, when one tries to capture or surprise the sonority rather than the message?” … jean-luc nancy, listening, p5

In this exploded view she also implicates the environs, the spaces and the tools of both construction and delivery in her engagement of the Disney song, shifting the focus from individual performance to the range of reception. Transforming the textual message of the original lyrics into overt vocalization asserts more fully the spatial nature of song. To sing, the body must physically shift the boundaries of acoustical space within the throat and expand its potential for breath - it must change its own parameters.  It is within this complex series of registers: the physical, sonic, spatial, and the social, that Loveless engages the tireless refrain of prescriptive coupling and masculine saviours, but she performs the dismantling of the ideas with a display of coded feminine powers, one of which is the double bind of embodiment. Her occupation of space begins an undoing and invites us into experience.

Biographies

Stephanie Loveless is a Montréal-born artist, who currently lives and works in upstate New York. With a MFA from Bard College and a MFA from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, her sound, video and performance works have been presented widely in festivals, galleries, museums and artist-run centers in North America, South America, Europe and the Middle East. She is the recipient of awards from Kodak, the International Festival of Cinema and Technology, and the Malcolm S. Morse Foundation. Loveless has completed residencies at Centro Mexicano para la Musica y las Artes Sonoras (Morelia, Mexico), the Coleman Center for the Arts (York, Alabama), and Studio XX (Montréal, Québec).

jake moore is an intermedia artist, educator, and exhibition maker. Her interest in social and cultural organization has lead to arts administration positions in organizations as varied in size and intention as MAWA (Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art) in Winnipeg and most recently as Director of the FOFA Gallery at Concordia University for the past five and a half years. She works with any medium necessary to produce intricate yet minimal site installation with a particular fascination for the material nature of media and the communicative potential of material. She considers her primary medium to be space and its occupation.

Stephanie Loveless / For Romantic Fantasy

For Romantic Fantasy anticipe et prolonge le projet intitulé Performance Prescriptions (2009), « une pharmacopée d’actions prescrites pour des affections identifiées par le public ». Avec Prescriptions, Loveless invitait les gens qui l’entouraient à lui confier ce qui les affectait, que ce soit sur les plans « psychique, physique ou psychologique », pour ensuite leur prescrire des actions curatives. La plupart de ses remèdes faisaient appel à la voix: elle proposait d’apprendre des langues non humaines, de parler aux arbres, à une partie du corps ou aux morts.


For Romantic Fantasy était une autoprescription et offre Loveless elle-même répétant la chanson hétéronormative d’aspiration optimiste « Some Day My Prince Will Come » avec une perte croissante d’intelligibilité linguistique. Produite par décalage temporel numérique comme documentation de ses tentatives de maîtriser ces sons nouveaux, For Romantic Fantasy est jouée sur des haut-parleurs multiples et avec des indications de mesure de plus en plus lentes jusqu’à ce que la voix se transpose au-delà de tout langage. Ce processus évoque le projet germinal d’Alvin Lucier, I am Sitting in a Room, où il enregistrait, repassait et réenregistrait un texte simple qu’il lisait jusqu’à ce que le texte lui-même soit perdu. Son langage didactique est remplacé par celui des fréquences résonantes et formatrices suscitées dans la pièce par l’interrelation de la voix du sujet, des capacités de l’appareil enregistreur et du volume et des matériaux architecturaux, ou acoustique, de ladite pièce. Loveless a ici pleinement intégré l’élément spatial sous la forme d’une installation physique, mais elle a remplacé l’appareil enregistreur en tant qu’interlocuteur et n’active pas les phénomènes acoustiques de l’architecture afin de performer l’œuvre. Au lieu de cela, les structures de haut-parleurs fabriquées à la main et leur orientation à l’intérieur de la pièce suggèrent tant la complexité de la localisation que la difficulté de produire un son et affirment la nature de l’exposition comme un site construit et profondément codifié. C’est avec cette série caractéristique d’actions que Loveless situe l’acte d’écouter au premier plan de son œuvre, et il n’est pas sans importance que le premier auditeur ne soit autre qu’elle-même. Cette position subjective singulière présente l’individu comme littéralement polyphonique alors qu’elle démonte en matière sonore un texte apparemment vieillot et prescriptif.

« …de quel secret s’agit-il lorsqu’on écoute proprement, c’est-à-dire lorsqu’on s’efforce de capter ou de surprendre la sonorité plutôt que le message? » Jean-Luc Nancy, À l’écoute (Paris: Galilée, 2002, p. 17).

Elle inclut également dans cette vue explosée l’environnement, les espaces et les outils tant de la construction que de la diffusion de son affrontement avec la chanson de Disney, déplaçant l’accent de la performance individuelle vers la gamme de sa réception. La transformation du message textuel des paroles originales en vocalisation explicite affirme plus pleinement la nature spatiale de la chanson. Pour chanter, le corps doit physiquement déplacer les frontières de l’espace acoustique à l’intérieur de la gorge et étendre son potentiel de respiration – il doit changer ses propres paramètres. C’est parmi cette série complexe de registres: physique, sonore, spatial et social, que Lovelessaffronte la rengaine inusable de l’impératif d’être en couple et des sauveurs masculins, mais elle effectue la déconstruction d’idées avec un étalage de pouvoir féminins codés, parmi lesquels se trouve le double bind de l’incarnation. Son occupation de l’espace commence par déconstruire afin de nous inviter à plonger dans l’expérience. jake moore

Biographies

Stephanie Loveless est une artiste Montréalaise, qui vit et travaille actuellement dans le nord de l’état de New York. Diplomée des Beaux-Arts de Bard College et du Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, ses œuvres sonores, vidéos et performatives ont été largement présentées dans les festivals, les galeries, les musées et les centres d’artistes autogérés en Amérique du Nord, en Amérique du Sud, en Europe et au Moyen-Orient. Elle a été récipiendaire des prix Kodak, de l’International Festival of Cinema and Technology et de la Malcolm S. Morse Foundation. Loveless a séjourné en résidences au Centro Mexicano para la Musica y las Artes Sonoras (Morelia, Mexique), au Coleman Center for the Arts (York, Alabama) et au Studio XX (Montréal, Québec). 

Jake moore est une artiste interdisciplinaire, une enseignante et une conceptrice d’expositions. Son intérêt pour les organismes sociaux et culturels l’a amené à occuper des postes administratifs au sein d’organismes d’ampleur et de mandats variés, tel MAWA (Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art) à Winnipeg, et plus récemment, comme directrice de la FOFA Gallery de l’Université Concordia depuis les cinq dernières années et demi. Elle travaille avec tous les médiums nécessaires pour produire des installations in situ qui sont élaborées, mais minimales, avec un penchant pour la nature matérielle du média et le potentiel communicatif du matériel. Elle considère l’occupation de l’espace comme étant son principal médium.