Barbara Steinman

For over thirty years, Barbara Steinman's work has consistently given shape to migration of identities and symbols, as well as the intertwined pathways of time and History, of individual and collective memory. From her critically acclaimed installations of the 1980s and 1990s, that were often site-specific and multimedia, to her more recent photographic series addressing the echo of time-based forms (the flight of a bird, a soundwave or a magnetic tape), through numerous public commissions, Steinman uses a great variety of media and materials to explore what she once called "layers of impermanence" in ways that are both sensible and conceptual.

Biography

Known for her multidisciplinary work, Montreal-based artist Barbara Steinman began her career in Vancouver as a video artist. At the beginning of the 1980s she was the co-director of artist-run centers Vidéo Véhicule and Powerhouse Gallery.

Steinman's works have been presented in numerous biennials and exhibitions in Canada, Europe, Japan and the US, among which the Museum of Modern Art in New York (MoMA), the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, the Art Institute of Chicaco, and the National Gallery of Canada. Steinman was the recipient of the Governor General's Award for her outstanding contribution to the fields of visual and media arts (2002). She received an honorary doctorate from the Fine Arts Faculty of Concordia University in Montreal (2015). Her work is represented by Galerie Françoise Paviot in Paris and Olga Korper Gallery in Toronto.

Recent exhibitions

2018-19

Hope is Maybe, touring group exhibition: Munich International Airport; Jesuit Refugee Camp; Der Gasteig; Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule; Hochschule für Philosophie, Munich; St. Canisius Kirche, Berlin

2017

Le Regard écoute, works from the permanent collection, Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, Montréal (Canada)
De Ferron à BGL. Art contemporain du Québec, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (Canada)
Sounds Assembling: Communication and the Art of Noise, Museum London, London, ON (Canada)

2016

In the Name Of, Olga Korper Gallery, Toronto (Canada)
Au Nom De, Galerie Antoine Ertaskiran, Montreal (Canada)

2015

Barbara Steinman, MA2 Gallery, Tokyo (Japan)

2014

Un Calme trompeur, Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris (France)
Reconfigurations, Galerie Antoine Ertaskiran, Montreal (Canada)
Barbara Steinman: The Giants’ Dance, MacKenzie Art Gallery, Regina, SK (Canada)

Barbara Steinman

Depuis plus de trente ans, le travail de Barbara Steinman s'est attaché à donner forme à la migration des identités et des symboles, ainsi qu'aux trajectoires entrelacées du temps et de l'Histoire, des mémoires individuelle et collective. Depuis ses installations remarquées des années 1980-90, souvent in-situ et multimédia, jusqu'à ses plus récentes séries photographiques qui interrogent l'écho de formes-temps (vol d'oiseau, onde sonore, bande magnétique), en passant par de nombreuses commandes publiques, Steinman convoque une grande variété de médiums et de matériaux pour les mettre au service d'une exploration à la fois sensible et conceptuelle de ce qu'elle a nommé jadis les "strates d'impermanence".

Biographie

Reconnue pour son œuvre multidisciplinaire, l'artiste montréalaise Barbara Steinman a commencé sa carrière à Vancouver comme artiste vidéo. Au début des années 1980, elle a été co-directrice de Vidéo Véhicule, ainsi que de la Centrale Galerie Powerhouse, centres d’artistes autogérés. 

Les œuvres de Steinman ont été présentées dans de nombreuses biennales et expositions au Canada, en Europe, au Japon et aux États-Unis, dont le Museum of Modern Art de New York (MoMA), le Stedelijk Museum à Amsterdam, l'Art Institute of Chicago ainsi que le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. L’artiste est récipiendaire du Prix du Gouverneur général pour sa contribution exceptionnelle en arts visuels et arts médiatiques (2002) et d’un doctorat honoris causa de la Faculté des beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia à Montréal (2015). Son travail est représenté par la Galerie Françoise Paviot à Paris et Olga Korper Gallery à Toronto.

Expositions récentes

2018-19

Hope is Maybe, exposition de groupe itinérante : Aéroport international de Munich ; Camp Jésuite des Réfugiés, Munich ; Der Gasteig, Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule ; Hochschule für Philosophie München, Munich ; St. Canisius Kirche, Berlin

2017

Le Regard écoute, accrochage de la collection permanente, Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal
De Ferron à BGL. Art contemporain du Québec, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec
Sounds Assembling: Communication and the Art of Noise, Museum London, London, ON

2016

In the Name Of, Olga Korper Gallery, Toronto
Au Nom De, Galerie Antoine Ertaskiran, Montréal

2015

Barbara Steinman, MA2 Gallery, Tokyo (Japon)

2014

Un Calme trompeur, Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris (France)
Reconfigurations, Galerie Antoine Ertaskiran, Montréal
Barbara Steinman: The Giants’ Dance, MacKenzie Art Gallery, Regina, SK