THE HOUSE OF DUST D'ALISON KNOWLES - LAST DAYS

ARTISTES : A CONSTRUCTED WORLDTYLER COBURNBYRON PETERS,STEPHANE DEGOUTIN & GWENOLA WAGON, NICOLE FOURNIER, JEFF GUESS, MARTIN HOWSE, NORMAN C. KAPLAN, ALLAN KAPROW, JONATHON KEATS, ALISON KNOWLES, LOU-MARIA LE BRUSQ, AURÉLIE PÉTREL, JOSHUA SCHWEBEL AND DANIELA SILVESTRIN

In 1967, Fluxus artist Alison Knowles produced The House of Dust, one of the first computer-generated poems. Each quatrain began with “A house of ...” followed by random sequences of materials, sites or locations, light sources, and categories of inhabitants. In 1969, Knowles translated one of the quatrains into an architectural form, which was installed in Chelsea and then at CalArts, where a burgeoning community of artists and students were creating installations, performances, concerts, poetry courses, and film screenings.

The exhibition presented at the Darling Foundry retraces the history of The House of Dust and presents contemporary artists’ new interpretations of the poem-score. Aurélie Pétrel probes relations between The House of Dust and the work of Peter Eisenman through an examination of documents from the CCA. Other artists explore the phenomena of translation among different types of languages, media, and subjectivities – a central dimension of The House of Dust. For instance, Australian artists A Constructed World relate one of the poem’s quatrains to a “paper house” intended to communicate with eels, which will be used as a structure for hosting workshops, conferences, and performances at the beginning of the exhibition. This installation relates to the contributions of other invited artists whose works explore communication between humans and nonhumans – animals, plants or machines: Stéphane Dégoutin and Gwenola Wagon, Jeff Guess, Martin Howse, Jonathon Keats, Nicole Fournier, and the members of Art by Translation – Tyler Coburn, Lou-Maria Le Brusq, Joshua Schwebel, and Daniela Silvestrin. Knowles also presents a new version of Gift Objects for the House of Dust.

Curators: Maud Jacquin & Sébastien Pluot, with Jeff Guess and the members of Art By Translation. Art By Translation is a research and exhibition program organized by ESBA TALM Angers, ENSA Paris-Cergy, and CNEAI, Paris.

 

  

da

intergalactic artgram

THE HOUSE OF DUST D'ALISON KNOWLES - DERNIERS JOURS

ARTISTES : A CONSTRUCTED WORLDTYLER COBURNBYRON PETERS,STEPHANE DEGOUTIN & GWENOLA WAGON, NICOLE FOURNIER, JEFF GUESS, MARTIN HOWSE, NORMAN C. KAPLAN, ALLAN KAPROW, JONATHON KEATS, ALISON KNOWLES, LOU-MARIA LE BRUSQ, AURÉLIE PÉTREL, JOSHUA SCHWEBEL ET DANIELA SILVESTRIN

En 1967, Alison Knowles, artiste du mouvement Fluxus, réalise The House of Dust, l’un des premiers poèmes générés par un ordinateur. Chaque quatrain commence par « Une maison en…» suivi par des permutations aléatoires de matériaux, de sites ou de situation, de sources lumineuse et de types d’habitants. En 1969, Knowles traduit l’un des quatrains sous la forme d’une architecture installée à Chelsea puis à CalArts où converge une communauté foisonnante d’artistes et d’étudiants qui y proposent des installations, performances, concerts, cours de poésie, projections de films.

L’exposition présentée à la Fonderie Darling retrace l’histoire de The House of Dust et invite des artistes contemporains à s’emparer de ce poème-partition et à proposer des interprétations nouvelles. Aurélie Pétrel examine les relations entre The House of Dust et le travail de Peter Eisenman à partir de documents du CCA. D’autres œuvres interrogent les phénomènes de traductions entre différents types de langages, de médiums et de subjectivités, une dimension centrale de The House of Dust. Ainsi, A Constructed World interprète l’un des quatrains du poème en réalisant une « maison de papier » destinée à communiquer avec des anguilles et à servir de structure d’accueil à des ateliers, conférences et performances au début de l’exposition. Cette installation dialogue avec les propositions d’autres artistes invités dont les œuvres interrogent la communication entre les humains et non-humains, animaux, plantes ou machines : Stéphane Dégoutin et Gwenola Wagon, Jeff Guess, Martin Howse, Jonathon Keats, Nicole Fournier et les participants de Art by Translation Tyler Coburn, Lou-Maria Le Brusq, Joshua Schwebel et Daniela Silvestrin. Knowles propose également une nouvelle version de Gifts Objects For The House of Dust.

Commissariat : Maud Jacquin, Sébastien Pluot, avec Jeff Guess et les participants au programme Art By Translation.

ABT est un programme de recherche et d’expositions porté par L’ESBA TALM-Angers, l’ENSA Paris-Cergy et le CNEAI, Paris.

 

 da

intergalactic artgram