Gast Bouschet & Nadine Hilbert  / Unground

Modernist architecture immersed in a murky haze, threatening abyssal chasms, video images in black and white crossed by perpetual motion flow, and streaming end of the world experimental tones by Stephen O’Malley, UNGROUND, the multi-layered installation curated by Kevin Muhlen, artistic director at Casino Luxembourg, opens our 2015 season, offering visitors an immersive, sensitive and thought-provoking experience.

Unground is an immersive multi-channel video installation bursting with references to the mineral understructures of the modern metropolis, financial meltdowns, thawing glaciers, archaic caves and volcanic, arctic wastelands at the border of the inhabitable world. It is an invitation to feel, think and meditate the forces which have cut off human beings from the rest of nature. Our civilization has reached a crisis point – the surface of our planet has been profoundly transformed by economies of excess and capitalist consumerism. As a result, Unground has transformed these feelings of alienation and cultural estrangement into sorcerous gestures of insurrection.  It reevaluates experiences of anger and discontent in order to face the threats of a civilization that is heading towards the abyss. The video installations, representing both modern city infrastructures and inhabitable Arctic wildernesses, offer an alternative understanding of our world beyond the limits of capitalist realism. They suggest a manner of resistance and dissent, opening a gateway to a dark and secret realm charged with new freedoms and possibilities.

Gast Bouschet & Nadine Hilbert

Luxembourg artists Gast Bouschet and Nadine Hilbert began collaborating in the 1990s.  They have since created a complex body of work based primarily on photographic and moving images. Their work has been shown internationally with exhibitions at Cube Space, Taipei, Taiwan; Philharmonie, Luxembourg; Muzeum Sztuki Lodz, Pologne; Casino Forum d'Art Contemporain, Luxembourg; Triennial of Luanda, Angola; Busan Biennale of Contemporary Art, South-Korea; Camouflage Johannesburg, South Africa; Museum of Modern Art, Antwerp, Belgium; and CCA, Glasgow. In 2009, Gast Bouschet and Nadine Hilbert also represented Luxembourg at the Venice Biennale.

Gast Bouschet & Nadine Hilbert / Unground

Des architectures modernistes plongées dans une brume ténébreuse, des gouffres abyssaux menaçants, des images vidéo en noir et blanc traversées par de perpétuels mouvements de flux défilant sur les tonalités expérimentales de fin du monde de Stephen O'Malley, l’installation UNGROUND présentée par le commissaire Kevin Muhlen, directeur artistique au Casino Luxembourg, ouvre la programmation 2015 en offrant aux visiteurs une expérience immersive, sensible et réflexive.

Unground est une installation vidéo à canaux multiples qui dépeint la liquéfaction de la matière solide dans une complexité de flux. Les images se réfèrent au processus alchimique de la dissolution, plongeant le spectateur dans un sentiment prononcé que la civilisation capitaliste mondiale est en train de fondre. C'est une invitation à sentir, penser et méditer les forces qui ont coupé l’humain du reste de la nature. Notre monde contemporain a été profondément transformé par les économies de l'excès et le consumérisme. Nous assistons à une prise de conscience mondiale sans precedent; l’impression que ce monde qui ne dort jamais est plongé dans une nuit profonde, baigné dans une masse brumeuse évoluant de manière menacante. Les vidéos de l'installation, des infrastructures de nos métropoles modernes aux friches de l’arctique à la frontière du monde habitable pointent vers une façon d'être dans le monde en dehors des limites du réalisme capitaliste. Ainsi Unground offre un mode de résistance et de dissidence en ouvrant une brèche vers un royaume sombre chargé de potentialités et de nouvelles libertés.

Gast Bouschet & Nadine Hilbert

Les artistes Luxembourgeois Gast Bouschet & Nadine Hilbert ont commencé à travailler ensemble dans les années 90 et ont depuis créé un corpus d’oeuvres basées sur la photographie et l’image en mouvement. Leur travail a été largement montré à l’international notamment au Cube Space Taipei, Taiwan; Philharmonie, Luxembourg; Muzeum Sztuki Lodz, Pologne; Casino Forum d'Art Contemporain, Luxembourg; Triennale de Luanda, Angola; Busan Biennale d’Art Contemporain, Corée du Sud; Camouflage Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud; MUHKA Antwerp, Belgique; et CCA, Glasgow. Ils ont également représenté le Luxembourg lors de la Biennale de Venise en 2009.