Antoine Caron / Unité d'habitation

Emerging artist Antoine Caron examines the society around him and how it is collectively represented by placing his works, their viewers, and their environment in a situation of dialogue. Transfiguring everyday objects by deconstructing how they are usually looked at, Caron challenges the utilitarian essence of these objects, taking them beyond their original use into the realm of self-determination to present an analysis of social and political phenomena. He pays particular attention to emancipatory potential of his works and the plurality of meanings that may be created in visitors’ eyes over time.

In Unité d’habitation, Caron reinterprets the concept of the 'housing unit' by building a metallic structure of aquarium-modules, each of which inhabited by different types of algae and by objects found in the Darling Foundry. Theorized by Le Corbusier and Nadir Afonso, the 'housing unit' is a modernist architectural principle involving extremely functional yet brutal and unadorned housing complexes. Between 1947 and 1952, Le Corbusier built the first 'housing unit' in Marseille, which was called Cité Radieuse or Maison du fada. By incorporating an exogenous component – growing algae – with pre-existing components – found objects – Caron reprises the model of the 'housing unit' and plays the roles of urban planner, politician, and contractor. He reflects on the phenomenon of gentrification and the future of condominiums by casting a critical gaze at Le Corbusier’s utopia and the failure of Cité Radieuse.

The objects found by Antoine Caron, once abandoned, take on a new life. Leaving behind their original meaning, they return to the visitors’ gaze as artworks writing their own history over time. With the algae – fragile biological elements but very profligate reproducers – Caron also probes his work’s potential for failure. He thus places entropy at the heart of the work by playing on the random possibility of algae expansion and on the multiple possible developments of this work. The organic elements become vectors of disorder and disorganization that lead the aquariums to evolve in distinct ways, becoming metaphors for contemporary societies. A tension is thus percpetible between human order and natural disorder, the grid of the glass condominiums and the development of the internal ecosystem, the stasis of the objects and the unpredictable growth of the algae.

Unité d’habitation is poetic and organic, both immersing us in the past of the Darling Foundry and offering a perspective on very current political and social issues. The work, which will be in situ for the summer, becomes a metallic fabric made of interstices to fill, a frame shot through with vanishing lines, a work that will emerge and be transformed throughout the exhibition period. Like Alison Knowles decades ago, Caron materializes his own quatrain for the Place Publique, displaying a work that is open and always evolving:

 

A glass house

       Using natural light

              Inhabited by algae and old objects

                    In the Place Publique, in the heart of Griffintown

 

Caron is currently completing his bachelor’s degree in fine arts, concentration in visual arts, at Concordia University in Montréal.

After participating for a semester in a research program on the Place Publique under the supervision of Michael Robinson and Caroline Andrieux, Caron was selected to present Unité d’habitation in the context of the exhibition The House of Dust by Alison Knowles, displayed in the Darling Foundry’s indoor galleries.

Théo Gorin.

Antoine Caron / Unité d'habitation

Artiste émergent, Antoine Caron porte son attention sur la société qui l’entoure et ses représentations collectives en créant des situations de dialogues entre ses œuvres, les visiteurs et leur environnement. Transfigurant la banalité des objets en déconstruisant le regard habituel, Antoine Caron questionne l’essence utilitaire de ces objets, pour en faire des éléments qui s’autodéterminent en dehors de leur utilisation première afin d’analyser des phénomènes sociaux et politiques. Il prête ainsi une attention particulière aux possibilités d’émancipation de ces œuvres et à la pluralité de sens pouvant se créer dans l’œil du visiteur au cours du temps.

Dans le cadre de l’œuvre présentée, Antoine Caron réinterprète le concept d’unité d’habitation en construisant une structure métallique dont chaque module-aquarium est habité par différentes sortes d’algues et par des objets récupérés dans les sous-sols de la Fonderie Darling. Théorisé par Le Corbusier et Nadir Afonso, l’unité d’habitation  est un principe moderne d’architecture qui envisage des complexes d’habitations extrêmement fonctionnels aux allures esthétiques brutales et épurées. L’architecte construit de 1947 à 1952, la première unité d’habitation à Marseille qui prendra le nom de Cité Radieuse, ou encore de Maison du fada. En implantant un composant exogène -culture d’algues- à des composants préexistants -des objets récupérés-, Antoine Caron reprend le modèle de l’unité d’habitation et joue le rôle d’un planificateur urbain, d’un politicien ou encore d’un entrepreneur. Il développe alors une réflexion sur le phénomène de gentrification et le futur des condominiumset porte ainsi un regard critique sur l’utopie de Le Corbusier et l’échec de sa grande Cité Radieuse.

Ces objets du passé laissés à l’abandon prennent ainsi une nouvelle vie. Ils sortent de leur signification première pour revenir aux yeux des visiteurs comme des œuvres écrivant leur propre histoire au cours du temps. En utilisant des algues, éléments biologiques fragiles mais ayant une grande capacité de prolifération, Antoine Caron s’intéresse aussi au potentiel d’échec de son œuvre. Il place alors l’entropie au cœur de sa réalisation en jouant sur la possibilité aléatoire d’extension des algues et sur le devenir multiple de son oeuvre. Ces éléments organiques deviennent des vecteurs de désordre et de désorganisation qui donnent à chaque aquarium une évolution propre, comme autant de métaphores de nos sociétés contemporaines. On y trouve alors une tension certaine entre l’ordre humain et le désordre naturel, le quadrillage des condominiums de verre et  le développement de l’écosystème interne, l’immobilisme des objets et la croissance imprévisibles des algues.

Unité d’habitation est ainsi une œuvre poétique et organique, qui nous plonge au cœur du passé de la Fonderie Darling tout en proposant une vision sur des enjeux politiques et sociaux très actuels. L’œuvre présente tout au long de l’été devient un tissu métallique fait d’interstices à remplir, un cadre troué de lignes de fuites, qui émergera et se transformera au cours de sa période d’exposition. Tout comme Alison Knowles il y a plusieurs décennies, Antoine Caron matérialise pour la Place Publique son propre quatrain, et donne à voir une œuvre ouverte toujours en évolution :

 

Une maison de verre,

       Utilisant la lumière naturelle

              Habitée par des algues et des objets anciens

                    Sur la Place Publique, au cœur de Griffintown

 

Antoine Caron finalise actuellement son baccalauréat en Beaux Arts mention arts plastiques à l’Université Concordia (Montréal). 

Après avoir participé tout au long du semestre à un programme de recherche autour de la Place Publique supervisé par Michael Robinson et Caroline Andrieux, Antoine Caron a été sélectionné pour présenter Unité d’habitation dans le cadre de l’exposition The House of Dust d’Alison Knowles, présente dans les salles intérieures de la Fonderie Darling.

Théo Gorin