Alain Paiement  /  Arrangements d'après nature

Presented in coproduction with Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal, the exhibit Arrangements d’après nature heralds Alain Paiement’s return to the Montreal art millieu. Discover the artist’s latest artistic endeavors, as both galleries are packed with his creations.

Occupying the main exhibition hall, a photographic installation unravels a narrative framed around the residential space of a hunter and his spouse that is as racy as it is surprisingly insightful. In these pictures, the husband’s stuffed animals and other hunting trophies confront his wife’s wax dolls, silverware and curios in a stark dichotomic clash. This project follows previous research around spatial representations constructed from cartographical techniques. However, this newest work by Alain Paiement perverts his previous top-down view and documentary rigueur by restoring architectural volumes and deliberately using simplistic digital modifications. Optical distortions characterize the artist’s work, they present his unique view of the world.

A selection of photographic works produced between 1996 and 2008 is presented in the smaller gallery and help to put into perspective the artist’s transition from geographical perspectives to new procedures of fictions that characterize his newest productions.

 

Alain Paiement

Born in 1960 in Montreal (Quebec, Canada), Alain Paiement studied Fine Arts at Université du Quebec à Montréal, E.N.S.A.V. La Cambre (Brussels) and the University of Paris. A major artist in the Canadian art scene, his work has been exhibited internationally in Europe, America, Japan and China. Paiement is represented by Leo Kamen Gallery in Toronto (Canada) and Espace photographique Contretype in Brussels (Belgium). He is a professor at the Université du Québec à Montréal.

His work is in the collections of the Musée National des Beaux-Arts du Québec, the Musée d’Art Contemporain de Montréal, the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography(National Gallery). His work was part of Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal in 2009 and has been presented in major museums in Canada, at Pratt Manhattan Gallery in New York; Mai Manó, the Hungarian House of Photography; the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein in Berlin; the Musée Carnavalet in Paris and the Whitney Museum (downtown) in New York, among other museums.

Alain Paiement / Arrangements d'après nature

Présentée en coproduction avec Le Mois de la Photo de Montréal, l’exposition Arrangements d’après nature marque le retour en force d’Alain Paiement sur la scène montréalaise. Occupant les deux espaces d’expositions de la Fonderie Darling, l’artiste nous invite à découvrir le fruit de ses dernières recherches artistiques.

Une installation photographique, occupant la grande salle, nous dévoile l’espace résidentiel aussi typé qu’étonnant d’un chasseur et de son épouse. Les animaux empaillés et autres trophées de chasse qui peuplent le repaire de Monsieur répondent aux bibelots, argenteries, poupées de cire et dentelle qui ornent l’espace de Madame. Ce projet poursuit les recherches sur la représentation spatiale amorcées précédemment par l’artiste avec une série d’œuvres conçues à partir de procédés cartographiques. Toutefois, Alain Paiement pervertit ici la vue zénithale et la rigueur documentaire qui caractérisaient ces dernières, en restituant les volumes architecturaux et en procédant à des manipulations numériques délibérément factices lors du montage des images. Des distorsions optiques qui deviennent pour l’artiste un véritable moyen d’expression, une manière singulière d’interpréter le monde qui l’entoure.

Une sélection d’œuvres photographiques produites entre 1996 et 2008, présentée dans la petite galerie, permet par la suite de mettre en perspective le passage entre une photographie fondée sur une méthode issue de la géographie et de nouvelles procédures de fiction qui caractérisent la production récente d’Alain Paiement.

 

Alain Paiement

Né en 1960 à Montréal (Québec, Canada), Alain Paiement a étudié les Arts Plastiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, à l’École de La Cambre (Bruxelles) et à la Sorbonne (Université de Paris). Artiste majeur de la scène artistique canadienne, son travail a été exposé internationalement en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, notamment dans le cadre du Mois de la Photo à Montréal en 2009. Alain Paiement est représenté par la galerie Leo Kamen à Toronto (Canada) et l’Espace photographique Contretype à Bruxelles (Belgique). Il est professeur attitré à l’Université du Québec à Montréal.