Abbas Akhavan  /  Beacon

This exhibition is curated by Andria Hickey, Associate Curator at Public Art Fund (New York).

 

For his first solo exhibition in Montreal at the Darling Foundry, Toronto-based artist Abbas Akhavan will alter the visitor experience of the foundry’s unique architecture with two symbolic sculptural works. Each resonates with the notion of vulnerability, encouraging subtle discovery. As with previous work, this exhibition explores the nature of loss, alienation and confrontation in relationship to territory and power.

Central to the exhibition is a hot air balloon, toppled to the floor, slowly inflating, filling the room, only to deflate and rise once again. Referencing the rise and fall of the sun, an organ, a breath filling a cavity, the once-functional, now-defunct aircraft never reaches its full potential.

Adjacent to this amorphous form is a seemingly abstract stone sculpture. Made of mortar, the large shape resembles the corroded figure of a lion.   Based on a sculpture in Hamedan, Iran, known as the “stone lion” of Hamedan, the origins and the evolution of the creature are speculative: dated as far back as the Hellenistic Period, the sculpture was one of a pair of lions seated at the gate of the city, acting as a talisman protecting the city from catastrophic storms and ill will.

One of the artist’s most ambitious installations to date, this body of work explores the poetic and cyclical nature of transformation, both symbolic and political. Transforming found materials only to return them to ruin forms; Akhavan addresses our shifting relationships with the inheritance of ambivalence in relation to historical symbols of power and loss.

In the artist’s words, “monuments of the lion as a symbol of power and empire have many cross national associations. This shifting endangered animal becoming sometimes symbolic of longing, hostility, and ruin.” Within the gallery, as the balloon rises and falls with each inflation, the lion and sun point to an unknown territory and the unexpected steadiness of change.

Abbas Akhavan

Born in Tehran, Abbas Akhavan currently lives and works in Toronto.

Akhavan’s work has been exhibited spaces including Darling Foundry, Vancouver Art Gallery & Power Plant (Canada), KW Institute of Contemporary Art (Germany), Performa 11(USA), Bucharest Biennal 5 (Romania) and Belvedere Museum (Vienna). Recent and upcoming residencies include Fundacion Marcelino Botin with Mona Hatoum (Spain), Axeno7, Video In, TSV, and Fogo Islands (Canada), Watermill Centre (USA) and The Delfina Foundation (Dubai, UAE & London, UK). Akhavan was the recipient of the Berlin Kunstpreis 2012. 

Akhavan is represented by The Third Line.

Abbas Akhavan / Beacon

Cette exposition est réalisée sous le commissariat d’Andria Hickey de la Public Art Fund (New York).

 

Pour sa première exposition solo à Montréal, l’artiste Torontois Abbas Akhavan propose de transformer l’architecture caractéristique de la Fonderie Darling afin d’en offrir une expérience unique aux visiteurs. Les deux œuvres sculpturales présentées, hautement symboliques, sont insufflées d’une certaine vulnérabilité qui appelle à une contemplation intelligente et subtile. Fidèle à son travail antérieur, l’artiste y explore les notions de la désolation, de l’aliénation et du conflit, sous la résonnance des thèmes du territoire et du pouvoir.

Dominant l’installation, un énorme ballon à air chaud se trouve initialement affaissé au sol, puis il  est gonflé de façon à graduellement remplir l’espace, avant de s’affaisser de nouveau. Ce cycle n’est pas sans évoquer le lever et le coucher du soleil, le ronflement d’un orgue, voir un souffle inhalé puis exhalé. Pourtant,  le dirigeable est marqué par la désuétude; il n’atteint jamais sa pleine capacité, sa fonction première.

Parallèlement à cette masse informe, l’espace est également habité d’une sculpture en mortier aux lignes incertaines. Cette figure, qui  rappelle une sculpture de lion érodée, fut inspirée d’un monument à Hamad?n (Iran) connu sous le nom de « lion de pierre d’Hamada », dont  l’origine et les fonctions exactes demeurent incertaines. Il est dit que, datant de l’époque hellénistique, il aurait fait partie d’une paire de lions posés aux portes de la ville et qui devaient agir tel un talisman, la protégeant de toute forme de malveillance ainsi que des désastres naturels.

L’une des œuvres des plus ambitieuses de l’artiste à ce jour, cette installation se veut une exploration de la nature cyclique et poétique du changement; changement à la fois symbolique et politique. Avec la transformation d’objets trouvés dans le dessein de les amener à l’état de ruines, Akhavan en appelle aux perceptions changeantes et à l’ambivalence ressentie face à des symboles de pouvoir et de désolation ayant de riches héritages.

« La symbolique attribuée à la figure du lion dans les monuments – qui en est une de pouvoir et d’empire - transcende les frontières nationales. Cet animal en danger d’extinction symbolise alternativement la mélancolie, l’hostilité, la désolation », dit l’artiste. Dans l’espace de la galerie, suivant le gonflement puis l’affaissement du ballon, le lion et le soleil nous appellent à un territoire inconnu; ils nous confrontent à l’étonnante stabilité du changement.

Abbas Akhavan

Abbas Akhavan vit et travaille à Toronto.

Les œuvres d’Akhavan ont notamment été présentées dans les espaces suivants : Vancouver Art Gallery, Artspeak (Vancouver), Mercer Union (Toronto), ABC Art Berlin Contemporary, KW Institute for Contemporary Art (Berlin), Kunsten Museum of Modern Art (Aalborg, Danemark), Le Printemps de Septembre à Toulouse (France), Performa 11 (New York), Belvedere Museum (Vienne), Center A (Vancouver), Peel Art Gallery (Brampton, Ontario), Delfina Foundation (Londres, Royaume-Uni). 


Abbas Akhavan est représenté par The Third Line (Dubaï).