Damla Tamer / "Due to its nature, it only moves forward."

The text here, I wished, would not think of itself as distributing identity bit by bit, noun by noun to the creature we have at hand here that is the exhibition. The immediate issue that presented itself was what to do without this sort of text, apart from cherishing its absence as compensation. Therefore I turn, not for the first time, to the thing that I know of that can move forward and stay present simultaneously -it was about three years ago that I came across the plant in Vancouver, growing in a bush under a street lamp, and placed its stalk between my palms and rubbed them together.

Pisi pisi, it's called, an allusion to the sound used to call cats to oneself in Turkish. Many times I have stolen from it since then; each time, after bringing upon a formalization with its operations it has climbed out of my pockets, leaving them empty. Thus pisi pisi enters the picture again, the picture that is the gallery and the table and the sheet of letter size paper; it is not so that for the sake of proliferation I and you can exhaust the possibilities provided by it, as there are none to begin with in the field surrounding the encounter, only indeterminacies.

It is the encounter therefore that generates the contradictory operations of the works in the exhibition, contradiction not being due to ambiguity in a so-called methodology, nor to irony (which jumps from one supposed worldview to another and then back in two elegant strides), but to the very state of encounter, capable of accommodating both self-involvedness and world-involvedness within one unitary clumsy human experience.

Damla Tamer

Born in Istanbul (Turkey), lives in Vancouver, BC. Damla Tamer has received her MFA in Fine Arts from the University of British Columbia in 2011. She teaches at UBC as well as at the Emily Carr University of Art and Design.

Damla Tamer / "Due to its nature, it only moves forward."

Le présent texte, souhaitais-je, ne prétendrait pas distribuer l’identité petit à petit, nom après nom, à la créature que nous avons ici, qu’est l’exposition. La question qui se présentait d’emblée était celle de savoir quoi faire sans cette sorte de texte, si l’on excepte savourer cette absence en guise de compensation. Je me tourne donc, et ce n’est pas la première fois, vers la chose que je connais qui peut avancer et demeurer présente simultanément —c’est il y a trois ans environ que je suis tombée sur cette plante à Vancouver, où elle poussait dans un buisson sous un lampadaire, que j’ai placé sa tige entre mes paumes et que je les ai frottées ensemble.

Pisi pisi, c’est ainsi qu’on l’appelle, par allusion au son employé en turc pour appeler les chats. Je lui ai souvent volé des choses depuis lors; chaque fois, après avoir amené une formalisation par ses effets, elle s’est faufilée hors de mes poches, les laissant vides. C’est ainsi que pisi pisi entre à nouveau dans le portrait, le portrait qu’est la galerie et la table et la feuille de papier de format lettre; il n’est pas vrai qu’au nom de la prolifération, vous et moi nous puissions épuiser les possibilités qu’elle offre, car il n’y en a pas au départ dans le champ entourant la rencontre, seulement des indéterminations.

C’est donc la rencontre qui génère les effets contradictoires des œuvres de l’exposition, la contradiction n’étant pas due à l’ambiguïté d’une soi-disant méthodologie, ni à l’ironie (qui saute d’une prétendue vision du monde à une autre et retour en deux élégantes enjambées), mais bien à l’état même de « rencontre », capable d’accommoder aussi bien l’absorption en soi-même que l’engagement dans le monde à l’intérieur d’une seule et même expérience humaine unitaire, si maladroite soit-elle.

Damla Tamer

Née à Istanbul (Turquie), vit à Vancouver, BC. Damla Tamer a reçu son MFA en Beaux-Arts de l’Université de
Colombie-Britanique en 2011. Elle enseigne à l’UBC ainsi qu’à la Emily Carr University of Art and Design.