Brian Jungen / HABITAT 04, cité radieuse des chats

Brian Jungen is interested in hybrid combinations and eclectic mixes from different cultures. He creates interfaces between distinct universes so apart that they collide while delivering a critical message. Themes such as: ecology, anthropology, ethnology or mythology is the most recurrent in his work. Sociological archetypes, such as mass culture and pre-fabricated materials are sources of inspiration as well.

Again, two worlds are juxtaposed in the artwork installed at the Darling Foundry: an ideal city for cats, based on the plans of Habitat 67'. Inspired by Le Corbusier's Radiant City, which prioritized esthetical standardization "for more harmony", Moshe Safdie conceived and realized Habitat 67 at the age of 23. His principle, based on assembling pre-fabricated concrete modules, makes it mass production architecture, closely associated with the ideals of community and equality. Paradoxically, Habitat 67 today has become one the most expensive lodgings in Montreal.

Inside a variation on this structure, Jungen will introduce orphaned and abandoned cats. The artist has created for them a genuine luxurious city, made with inter locked modules. By doing so, each cat that is part of Habitat 04 becomes imbued with all the impetus of Brian Jungen's name in today's modern art world. As Kitty Scott, curator of Contemporary Art at the National Gallery of Canada explains: "In offering a version of the complex to the disenfranchised cats, the artist appears to be salvaging something of Safdie's original plan".

The artist goes beyond simple compassion by associating with the SPCA, whose reputation as an animal protection organization is known by all, to create an adoption mechanism. The project is inspired by "The Cat's Sanctuary", on Ottawa's Parliamentary Hill, where volunteers have erected a shelter for homeless cats. By adding this ethical dimension to his work, Jungen once again demonstrates his belief in an engage art that goes beyond the boundaries of the exhibition. Herein lies the true meaning of his living installation. Much more than an exhibition, the artist has envisioned Habitat 04 as a way to support the SPCA's cause, a cause that he, as well as his entire body of work embraces totally.

12 February 2004


Dear Brian,
As you are well aware, I am writing this letter before the project for the Quartier Ephémère has been fully realized. Josée St-Louis, the Head of Programming, forwarded a copy of your proposal and the gallery's press release. I would have liked to have spoken with you more about the proposal, but given our current schedules this has been next to impossible. What follows are my thoughts on such a project.

As I understand it, you are transforming Quartier Ephémère into a temporary satellite of the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) for the duration of what was to be an exhibition. The gallery space will contain an enclosure housing three cats and a volunteer from the SPCA will be on site at all times. A respectful sculptural interpretation of Moshe Safdie's Habitat '67, modelled out of cat furniture, will be displayed within the enclosure. By cat furniture, I mean those vertical towers consisting of carpet covered scratching posts supporting inhabitable boxes, trays and cylinders. I imagine the new cat-friendly Habitat '04, a spin on pet paraphernalia designed to achieve maximum feline happiness, will offer the confined animals a humane and attractive backdrop providing of hours fun.

Rather than treat this situation as an exhibition, you have conceived of it as a mechanism in support of the mandate of the SPCA. To this end all publicity will be directed towards finding permanent homes for these homeless animals. There will be no opening, as this type of art world event would presumably make the cats nervous. Thank you, by the way, for the invitation to attend the fundraising dinner for the SPCA. I am honoured to be invited and graciously accept.

I have always loved Safdie's iconic modular building. When Safdie was designing Habitat, his intention was to make affordable, community-oriented, mass-produced housing using a pre-fabrication process. However, the units were very expensive to produce and paradoxically, Habitat is now an exclusive condo-community. In offering a version of the complex to the disenfranchised cats you appear to be salvaging something of Safdie's original plan.

At the other end of the spectrum, you have homeless cats and the SPCA. Both have a direct relation to your interest in labour and the consequences of mass production. The SPCA, originally a British institution, was founded, in part, to protect working animals during a period of increasing industrialization. With a little research I learned that the Montrealers who imported the concept in 1869 and founded what was then known as the Canadian Society for the Prevention of Cruelty of Animals, were mostly concerned with the conditions of Montreal workhorses. I was surprised to find out that the formation of the RSPCA in England in 1824 predated the founding of the National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children in 1884 and that both institutions have a shared history.

One of the primary reasons the SPCA concerns itself with the welfare of cats today is that the supply far outweighs the demand. In this situation the institution functions as a feline halfway house between life and death. One of the SPCA's goals is to find prospective homes for cats. Sadly, the remaining cats that do not find homes are put down. As I understand your proposed scenario, the cats brought to Quartier Ephémère will remain there until adopted and new cats will replace those that leave. Effectively, this means you are extending the lives of a number of cats and for those that find homes, you are giving the gift of life.

Your proposition is worthy enough. Still, I cannot escape the art context and the value of your increasing fame within this system. For every cat passing through the Safdie inspired compound becomes a ready-made imbued with all the worth your name signifies in the current art world. In other words, the value-added cat becomes a Jungen artwork, or perhaps "multiple" is a better word. Such signification will hopefully increase the chances a cat will be "collected" and thus survive.

I wish you every success with this ambitious project and look forward to seeing it.

Sincerely yours, Kitty


Kitty Scott is Curator of Contemporary Art at the National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa.

 

 

Brian Jungen

Brian Jungen comes from Fort St-John, British Columbia. He lives and works in Vancouver. Since 2002, he has been represented by the Catriona Jeffries Gallery in Vancouver. From 2003 on, his career took an international turn towards the United States and Europe. Habitat 04 was his first solo exhibition in Montreal.

Brian Jungen / HABITAT 04, cité radieuse des chats

Brian Jungen s'intéresse aux unions hybrides et aux mélanges hétéroclites des cultures. Il crée des interférences entre différents univers parfois si éloignés qu'ils s'entrechoquent en livrant un message critique. Ceux de l'écologie, de l'anthropologie, de l'ethnologie ou encore de la mythologie sont de prédilection. Les archétypes sociologiques, comme la culture de masse et les matériaux préfabriqués, sont également des sources d'inspiration.

À nouveau, deux univers se juxtaposent dans l'œuvre qu'il présentera à la Fonderie Darling : une cité idéale pour chats errants, érigée d'après les plans d'Habitat 67. Inspiré de la Cité Radieuse de Le Corbusier, qui préconisait la normalisation esthétique «pour plus d'harmonie», Moshe Safdie conçoit et réalise le révolutionnaire Habitat 67 à l'âge de 23 ans. Son principe, basé sur l'assemblage de modules préfabriqués en béton, en fait une architecture de mass production, à laquelle sont étroitement associés les idéaux de communauté et d'égalitarisme. Or, Habitat 67 est ironiquement devenu l'un des logements les plus coûteux de Montréal.

À l'intérieur d'une réadaptation de cette structure, Jungen introduit des chats orphelins. Pour eux, l'artiste crée une véritable cité de luxe, faite de modules inter-reliés. Par le fait même, chaque chat faisant partie d'Habitat 04 devient imprégné de tout le sens attaché au nom de Brian Jungen dans le milieu de l'art actuel. Aux dires de Kitty Scott, conservatrice d'art contemporain au Musée des Beaux-Arts du Canada à Ottawa : « Cette réinterprétation du complexe aux chats affranchis permet à l'artiste de récupérer un peu de l'intention originelle de Safdie ».

L'artiste va même au-delà de la simple compassion en s'adjoignant la collaboration inédite de la SPCA, organisme de protection des animaux dont la réputation n'est plus à faire. L'intention de cette association est de créer un mécanisme d'adoption sur place, inspiré du « Sanctuaire des chats » sur la colline parlementaire d'Ottawa, où des volontaires ont édifié un abri pour chats errants. En ajoutant cette dimension éthique à son œuvre, Jungen fait une fois de plus la preuve de sa croyance en un art engagé, qui va au-delà du simple cadre de l'exposition. C'est d'ailleurs là tout le sens de l'événement présenté. Car bien davantage qu'une exposition, l'artiste a imaginé Habitat 04 comme une façon d'appuyer la cause de la SPCA, cause que lui, comme son œuvre, épousent totalement.

Le 12 février 2004

Cher Brian,

Tel que je le comprends, tu transformeras la Fonderie Darling en un satellite de la Société pour la Prévention de la Cruauté envers les Animaux (SPCA). L'espace de la galerie accueillera un intérieur abritant plusieurs chats et un bénévole sera sur les lieux en tout temps. Une respectueuse interprétation sculpturale d'Habitat '67 de Moshe Safdie, construite à partir de mobilier pour chats, s'y déploiera. J'imagine que cet amical Habitat '04, sorte d'attirail conçu pour générer le maximum de bonheur félin, offrira aux captifs un environnement humain et séduisant leur procurant des heures de plaisir.

Plutôt que de traiter cet événement comme une exposition, tu l'as conçu comme un mécanisme de soutien à la mission de la SPCA. À cette fin, toute publicité visera prioritairement à trouver une famille adoptive à ces animaux abandonnés. Il n'y aura pas de vernissage, car cet événement typique du milieu de l'art pourrait assurément rendre les chats nerveux. En passant, merci pour l'invitation à la soirée bénéfice. J'en suis honorée et accepte volontiers.

J'ai toujours aimé l'emblématique bâtiment modulaire de Safdie. Lorsque celui-ci concevait Habitat, son intention était de créer des logements abordables, orientés vers la communauté et fabriqués en séries, utilisant un procédé de préfabrication. Toutefois, les modules se sont avérés très coûteux à produire et paradoxalement, Habitat est aujourd'hui un immeuble de luxe. En offrant une réinterprétation du complexe aux chats affranchis, tu récupères un peu de l'intention originelle de Safdie.

De l'autre côté, il y a les chats errants et la SPCA. Tous deux ont une relation directe à ton intérêt pour le travail et les conséquences de la production de masse. La SPCA, institution britannique à l'origine, a été en partie fondée pour protéger les animaux de traits à l'heure où l'industrialisation montait en flèche. En faisant une petite recherche, j'ai appris que les montréalais, qui ont importé le concept en 1869 et fondé ce que nous connaissons comme la SPCA, s'inquiétaient surtout du bien-être des chevaux. J'ai aussi été très surprise de découvrir que la création de la Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals en Angleterre en 1824 précède la fondation de la Société Nationale pour la Prévention de la Cruauté envers les Enfants, qui elle date de 1884, et que les deux institutions ont une histoire commune.

Une des raisons fondamentales pour laquelle la SPCA se dévoue tant aujourd'hui au bien-être des chats, c'est que l'offre dépasse largement la demande. Dans cette situation, l'institution devient pour eux, une sorte de maison de transition entre la vie et la mort. Un des principaux buts est de leur trouver une famille d'accueil. Tristement, les chats restants qui n'ont pu trouver de foyer sont éliminés. A ce que je comprends du scénario proposé, les chats amenés à la Fonderie Darling y resteront jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient adoptés, et de nouveaux chats remplaceront ceux qui partent. Effectivement, tu prolonges l'existence d'un certain nombre de chats, et à ceux qui trouveront un foyer, tu fais don de la vie.

Ta proposition est fort louable. Cependant, je ne peux écarter le contexte artistique et la valeur montante de ta reconnaissance dans le système. Chaque chat faisant partie de cette habitation inspirée par Safdie devient par le fait même un ready-made, imprégné de toute la valeur de ce que le mérite de ton nom signifie dans le milieu de l'art actuel. En d'autres mots, ces chats à valeur ajoutée deviennent une oeuvre de Jungen, ou peut-être « multiple » est-il plus approprié. Une telle signification augmentera les chances qu'un chat soit « collectionné » et puisse survivre.

Je te souhaite un grand succès dans cet ambitieux projet qu'il me tarde de voir.

Bien à toi, Kitty

Texte édité pour l'affiche de l'exposition
Kitty Scott est conservatrice d'art contemporain au Musée des Beaux-Arts du Canada à Ottawa.

Brian Jungen

Originaire de Fort St-John en Colombie-Britannique, Brian Jungen vit et travaille à Vancouver. Il est représenté par la Galerie Catriona Jeffries de Vancouver depuis 2002. C'est en 2003 qu'il amorce une carrière internationale en Europe et aux États-Unis. Habitat 04 est sa première exposition solo à Montréal.