Place Publique 2017

This edition marks the 10th anniversary of the Place Publique and is a major event for the Darling Foundry, participating in the social and artistic dynamism of the City of Montreal. The 2017 programming, has brought together numerous participants, notably the universities from Montreal: under the leadership of Sinisha Brdar, students in design from UQAM conceived a Terrace/Bar, while fine arts students from Concordia University made proposals for site-specific projects, thanks to the initiative of Michael Robinson. The work Unité d'habitation by Antoine Caron was thus selected to be presented on the Place Publique throughout the summer. Its realization was made possible thanks to a crowdfunding campaign.

Place Publique 2017 also offers weekly events that are free and open to all. From June 29 to August 17, a series of performances curated by Théo Gorin took place in continuity with the Darling Foundry's summer exhibition, The House of Dust d'Alison Knowles, which itself included a program of performances and public lectures (June 15-23). Several organizations in Montreal were also invited to take over the open-air platform: RIPA - Rencontre Interuniversitaire de Performance Actuelle, the cooperative Cercle Carré, as well as GIV - Groupe Intervention Vidéo.

Conceived as a space of collaborative construction from the inception to the realization, Place Publique aims at being, this year again, a portion of asphalt appropriated by artists and citizens..

 

PROGRAM

June 15 - 23: program of events within the frame of the exhibition The House of Dust d'Alison Knowles, curated by Maud Jacquin, Sébastien Pluot with Jeff Guess and Art by Translation
June 29
: performance night 1 Rachel Echenberg / Stéphanie St-Jean Aubre / Adriana Disman
July 6: performance night 2 invitation to RIPA (Félipe Goulet-Letarte / Mai Thi Bach-Ngoc Nguyen)
July 13: performance night 3 Khadija Baker / Ben Compton / Andrew Patterson
July 20: performance night 4 invitation to Cercle Carré (Comptoir Public / Élaine LaBrie et Caroline Loncol Daigneault / Patrick St-Denis et Caroline Gravel / Valerian Mazataud / Nicolas Dion Buteau et Pascale Trudel / Paul Neudorf, Laura Sasseville, Marilyne St-Sauveur)
July 27: performance night 5 Pascale Théorêt-Groulx / Jacqueline Van de Geer / Shandor Hassan
August 3: performance night 6 collective Quimeras
August 10: performance night 7 Alfonso Arzapalo / Christina Bosowec / Vincent Charlebois
August 17: last night Place Publique (#8) invitation to GIV (screenings)

 

Thursday August 17, 2017

LAST NIGHT PLACE PUBLIQUE (#8)

8:30 pm to 11 pm

PROJECTIONS NIGHT presented by GIV - Video Intervention Group the thursday August 17 at 8:30PM on Place Publique. A retrospective program which remembers 40 years of engaged works made by women. The videos…

Thursday August 10, 2017

PERFORMANCE NIGHT 7

6 pm to 10 pm

3 performances evening on August 10 on Place Publique.  Alfonso Arzapalo – Unroll and Roll Alfonso Arzapalo is a Montreal based artist using body and space as a laboratory to explore the deeper meaning…

Thursday August 3, 2017

PERFORMANCE NIGHT 6

5 pm to 11 pm

Performance, music and art evening, Bodies in Dark Times, proposed by the collective QUIMERAS on Place Publique. The world as we know come to an end. And yet there is still ground to walk on, and sun…

Thursday July 27, 2017

PERFORMANCE NIGHT 5

6 pm to 10 pm

An evening of three performances on Place Publique on July 27.  - Jacqueline Van de Geer – You are the performance Collective creation is an essential element of Jacqueline Van de Geer’s work, who intends…

Thursday July 20, 2017

PERFORMANCE NIGHT 4

6 pm to 10 pm

Performances' evening proposed by Cercle carré This evening is the occasion to discover the results of Cercle Carré creation laboratories with its artist redisidents on Place Publique. Comptoir public, Média…

Thursday July 13, 2017

PERFORMANCE NIGHT 3

6 pm to 10 pm

Night of 3 performances on Place Publique Khadija Baker - In the present of the absent Since 2009, Khadija Baker has worked around themes of persecution, migrations and memory, including names and stories…

Thursday July 6, 2017

PERFORMANCE NIGHT 2

6 pm to 10 pm

RIPA's night on Place Publique  Performance and poetry maintain links that, when highlighted, expand the very definition of these practices and complexify their discourses. Starting from the idea that…

Thursday June 29, 2017

PERFORMANCE NIGHT 1

6 pm to 10 pm

This first evening of performances aims to make tangible the influences and affinities of artists practicing this discipline.  Adriana Disman Adriana Disman is a performance art maker, thinker, and curator…

Place Publique 2017

Cette nouvelle édition marque le 10e anniversaire de la Place Publique et constitue un événement majeur de la Fonderie Darling, participant au dynamisme social et artistique de la Ville de Montréal. La programmation 2017 a réuni de nombreux acteurs, notamment les universités montréalaises : accompagnés de Sinisha Brdar, les étudiants en design de l’UQAM ont travaillé à la conception d'une Terrasse/Bar, tandis que les étudiants en beaux-arts de l'université Concordia ont pu proposer des projets in situ. L'œuvre Unité d’habitation d'Antoine Caron a ainsi été retenue pour être présentée sur la Place Publique tout au long de l'été. Sa réalisation a été rendue possible grâce à une campagne de socio-financement mobilisant la communauté.

La Place Publique 2017, ce sont aussi des soirées hebdomadaires d'événements gratuits et ouverts à tous. Du 29 juin au 17 août, une série de performances commissariée par Théo Gorin s'est tenue dans le prolongement de l’exposition estivale de la Fonderie Darling The House of Dust d'Alison Knowles, qui proposait elle-même un programme de performances et de conférences (15-23 juin). Plusieurs organismes montréalais ont également été invités à investir la plate-forme à ciel ouvert : RIPA - Rencontre Interuniversitaire de Performance Actuelle, la coopérative Cercle Carré, ainsi que le GIV - Groupe Intervention Vidéo.

Pensée comme un espace de construction collective de la conception à la réalisation, la Place Publique a pour vocation d’être, cette année encore, une portion d’asphalte que se réapproprient artistes et citoyens. 

PROGRAMME :

15 - 23 juin : programme d'évènements dans le cadre de l'exposition The House of Dust d'Alison Knowles, commissariée par Maud Jacquin, Sébastien Pluot avec Jeff Guess et Art by Translation
Jeudi 29 juin
 : soirée performance 1 Rachel Echenberg / Stéphanie Saint-Jean Aubre / Adriana Disman

Jeudi 6 juillet : soirée performance 2 invitation à RIPA (Félipe Goulet-Letarte / Mai Thi Bach-Ngoc Nguyen) 
Jeudi 13 juillet : soirée performance 3 Khadija Baker / Ben Compton / Andrew Patterson
Jeudi 20 juillet : soirée performance 4 invitation à Cercle Carré (Comptoir Public / Élaine LaBrie et Caroline Loncol Daigneault / Patrick St-Denis et Caroline Gravel / Valerian Mazataud / Nicolas Dion Buteau et Pascale Trudel / Paul Neudorf, Laura Sasseville, Marilyne St-Sauveur)
Jeudi 27 juillet : soirée performance 5 Pascale Théorêt-Groulx / Jacqueline Van de Geer / Shandor Hassan
Jeudi 3 août : soirée performance 6 collectif Quimeras
Jeudi 10 août : soirée performance 7 Alfonso Arzapalo / Christina Bosowec / Vincent Charlebois
Jeudi 17 août : dernière soirée Place Publique (#8) invitation au GIV (projections)

jeudi 17 août 2017

DERNIÈRE SOIRÉE PLACE PUBLIQUE (#8)

20h30 à 23h

SOIRÉE PROJECTIONS proposée par le Groupe d'Intervention Vidéo (GIV) le jeudi 17 août à 20h30 sur la Place Publique  Un programme sous forme de rétrospective qui rappelle 40 ans de productions engagées,…

jeudi 10 août 2017

SOIREE PERFORMANCE 7

18h à 22h

Soirée de 3 performances jeudi 10 août sur la Place Publique.  Alfonso Arzapalo – Unroll and Roll Alfonso Arzapalo est un artiste montréalais qui utilise le corps et le lieu comme laboratoires pour explorer…

jeudi  3 août 2017

SOIREE PERFORMANCE 6

17h à 23h

Soirée performances, Corps en Temps Obscurs, proposée par le collectif QUIMERAS sur la Place Publique.   Le monde tel que nous le connaissons touche à sa fin. Et pourtant, il y a toujours des territoires…

jeudi 27 juillet 2017

SOIREE PERFORMANCE 5

18h à 22h

Soirée de trois performances sur la Place Publique le 27 juillet.  Jacqueline Van de Geer – You are the performance La création collective est un élément primordial de la pratique de Jacqueline Van de…

jeudi 20 juillet 2017

SOIREE PERFORMANCE 4

18h à 22h

Soirée performances proposée par Cercle carré En tant qu’acteur de la vie culturelle et promoteur du vivre ensemble, la coopérative d'habitation pour artistes et travailleurs culturels, Cercle Carré, s'associe…

jeudi 13 juillet 2017

SOIREE PERFORMANCE 3

18h à 22h

Soirée de 3 performances sur la Place Publique Khadija Baker - In the present of the absent Depuis 2009, Khadija Baker engage sa pratique autour de thématiques relatifs à la persécution, aux migrations…

jeudi  6 juillet 2017

SOIREE PERFORMANCE 2

18h à 22h

Soirée RIPA sur la Place Publique La performance et la poésie entretiennent des correspondances qui, lorsque mises en lumière, enrichissent la définition même de ces pratiques et complexifient leurs discours.…

jeudi 29 juin 2017

SOIREE PERFORMANCE 1

18h à 22h

Cette première soirée de performance propose de rendre tangible les influences et les affinités des artistes locaux de cette discipline.  Adriana Disman Artiste politiquement engagée, Adriana Disman,…