Capucine Vandebrouck

Vandebrouck’s work is built up empirically. Her research is based on experience, observation and chance. A movement causes another, an idea leads to another, as they strive to create a sensitive space rather than to occupy it.
 
Recognizing that she works in a well travelled territory, " (...) how to consider making sculpture today ? For the artist, the answer is neither in the integration nor the total exclusion of the legacy of sculptural gestures. But more in a constant oscillation, where matter becomes a living and immediate form. Prepared to open sculpture out and push it's limits. A state on the edge, a precise moment, a decision where everything is up for grabs.
 
She is more involved in questions of space than of architecture and tries to make space felt rather than filling it up. She makes sculpture an issue of in/stability, where the process, the future of the work, its hidden aspects, its vicissitudes, disastrous or harmonious, are part of the adventure of a sculpture."¹

¹ extract from "Combattante de la matière", NOVO n°23, by Mickaël Roy.

Biography

Capucine Vandebrouck is a sculptor graduated from the École Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs of Strasbourg, the École Nationale Supérieure d'Art of Bourges and the Marc Bloch faculty. She lives and works in Strasbourg and has exhibited in Switzerland, Belgium and France.

Recent exhibitions

Upcoming

Artist residency in Lindre-Basse, Synagogue de Delme, France (2014)
Artist residency in Stuttgart, in partnership with CEAAC and the French Institut of Stuttgart, Germany (2014)

2013
Floaters, MJ Gallery, group show, Geneva, Switzerland
Open Studio, RAVI (Vivegnis Internationale residency, Liège, Belgium
Au pied du mur, Galerie Schaufenster, group show, Sélestat, France
Object/ion, Perrin art gallery, solo exhibition, Montbéliard, France
2012
When I look at things, I always see the space they occupy, group show, curator: Adam Szymczyk, Kunsthalle Basel, Switzerland
Echo of the Moon / I wish Blue could be Water / Project Romm n°10, group show with Vanessa Safavi and Luca Francesconi, curator: Sophie Kaplan, CRAC Alsace, France
Contre EmploiMusée Théodore Deck, solo exhibition, Guebwiller, France

Capucine Vandebrouck

Le travail de Capucine Vandebrouck se construit de manière empirique. Ses recherches se fondent sur l'expérience, l'observation et le hasard. Un mouvement en engendre un autre, une idée en génère une autre. Elle s'évertue à rendre sensible l'espace plutôt qu'à l'occuper.

Ayant conscience qu'elle travaille sur un terrain déjà balisé, "[…] comment envisager alors de faire sculpture? Pour l'artiste, la réponse ne semble ni avoir été trouvée dans l'intégration ni dans la mise à l'écart totale d'un héritage de gestes sculpturaux. Mais bien d'avantage dans un entre-deux du basculement où la matière devient une forme vive, immédiate. Quitte à pousser la sculpture dans son champ élargi et à l'amener dans ses retranchements. Ceux d'un état limite, d'un moment donné, d'une prise de décision où tout se joue. 

Elle dit se situer d'avantage dans des questions d'espace que d'architecture, et fait précisément de la sculpture une affaire d'(in)stabilité, où le processus, le devenir de l'œuvre, l'envers de son décor, ses péripéties, accidentelles ou heureuses, participent de l'aventure de la sculpture. En ce sens, Capucine Vandebrouck envisage chacun de ses nouveaux projets comme un challenge. […]" ¹

¹ extrait de texte "Combattante de la matière", NOVO n°23, par Mickaël Roy.

Biographie

Capucine Vandebrouck est une sculptrice diplômée de l'École Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg, de l'École Nationale Supérieure d'Art de Bourges et de la faculté Marc Bloch. Elle vit et travaille à Strasbourg et a exposé en Suisse, en Belgique et en France.

Expositions récentes

À venir

Résidence d'artiste à Lindre-Basse, Synagogue de Delme, France (2014)
Résidence d’artiste à Stuttgart en partenariat avec le CEAAC et l’Institut français de Stuttgart, Allemagne (2014)

2013
Floaters, MJ Gallery, exposition collective, Genève, Suisse
Open Studio, RAVI (résidence Vivegnis Internationale), Liège, Belgique
Au pied du mur, Galerie Schaufenster, exposition collective, Sélestat, France
Object/ionGalerie d’art Perrin, exposition personnelle, Montbéliard, France
2012
When I look at things, I always see the space they occupy, exposition collective, commissariat: Adam Szymczyk, Kunsthalle Basel, Suisse
Echo of the Moon / I wish Blue could be Water / Project Romm n°10, exposition collective avec Vanessa Safavi et Luca Francesconi, commissariat: Sophie Kaplan, CRAC Alsace, France
Contre EmploiMusée Théodore Deck, exposition personnelle, Guebwiller, France