Possible Awakenings #1

The first part of the performance series Possible Awakenings invites the public to create collectively in a lab of experimentation and radio retransmission. Through a performative shaping of the present moment, the exercises presented by the artist Miranda Jones and the collective of the auto-workshops embrace spontaneous creation and improvisation as modes of interaction. The space of Place Publique, the audience, and the objects -randomly found or carefully researched- thus determine what the work becomes in a non-hierarchical manner.

 

6PM - Miranda Jones - Slow Growth

          To be followed live during the event: https://studioxx.org/en/radio/

         Or listened around the Darling Foundry on 91.0 FM

Slow Growth is a dance and radio experiment. We will attempt to zoom in, through sound and gesture, on the inner processes of flowers growing in a participatory and attentive environment. The sounds collected in this research will be 'narrowcast' live to a listening radio audience on a local station. Miranda Jones and her collaborators Bára Hladíková and Anne White use the strategies of devised theatre and pirate radio to develop a collective work, the audience, and the objects around them. Through a series of unobtrusive and diverse actions, the artists and their interactants—the performers/devisors—produce a visual and sonic composition that is recorded and transmitted live on Ottawa Street, as well as on a nearby frequency as a pirate radio program. This experiment draws a parallel between the story experienced by the subtle observers of a moment in the making in Place Publique and that encountered by listeners in the vicinity. Unfolding as an improvised scenario, the visual and sonic composition forms a choreography in which the performers and objects affect their immediate environment and vice versa.

Miranda Jones (choreography) is an emerging artist whose art practice interweaves dance, sound, radio, and theatre. Collective creation and a sense of play are central to her practice. She is the co-AD of Ring O’ Rosie performance collective and a member of media collective The XX Files.

Bára Hladíková (sound design) is an interdisciplinary sound artist who works in radio, installation, theatre, performance, and design. She has exhibited and performed her work across so-called Canada and is currently based in Tio’tiá:ke, Montréal.

Anne White (dramaturge) lives in Peterborough, ON, where she makes performance. She is interested in combining multiple disciplines, including theatre, dance, film, audio and poetry, and her work is often site-specific.

Performer-collaborators are Naomie Doirilus, Maxine Dannatt, and Jazmyn.

The artists and the Darling Foundry thank Studio XX for their help with the radio diffusion of the performance. 

7:30PM - The collective of the auto-workshops

As a platform for a unique relational experience, the auto-workshops explore the artistic and social possibilities of empty spaces and the emancipatory power of collective action. The collective selects vacant lots as spaces for performance and experimentation, then activates the objects and detritus found there through improvisation exercises. Once used, the objects are placed back where they were found, leaving no trace of their course except in the imagination of the participants. The collective of the auto-workshops sometimes recounts these chance encounters at impromptu public presentations and for this performance, invites the public of the Darling Foundry to co-create the next stories with it. 

Since 2016, the auto-workshops have been bringing together artists and non-artists to experiment with artistic performance and group organization. The project's name is based on the desire to do something "yourself", in the spirit of knowledge sharing and the self-determination of practices.  

 

Starting at 6 PM, come and enjoy the local craft beer from our generous sponsor, the microbrewery 4 Origins Brewing Co.'s and tacos by Café Cantina (cash only)!

Dj set of bb boris @brb.boriz https://www.mixcloud.com/bbboris/

Au risque d'entraîner l'éveil #1

Cette première partie du cycle de performances Au risque d’entraîner l’éveil invite le public à créer collectivement, du laboratoire d’expérimentations à la retranscription radiophonique. Façonnement performatif du moment présent, les exercices présentés par l’artiste Miranda Jones et le collectif des auto-workshops privilégient la création spontanée et l’improvisation comme modes d’interactions. L’espace circonscrit par la Place Publique, l’audience de la soirée et les objets - trouvés par hasard ou patiemment recherchés - déterminent ainsi le rendu de l’œuvre, de manière non-hiérarchique.

 

18H - Miranda Jones - Slow Growth

          À écouter en direct ici : https://studioxx.org/radio/

          Ou aux alentours de la Fonderie Darling sur la fréquence 91.0 FM

Slow Growth est une danse et une expérience radio, où les artistes décortiquent, par le son et le geste, les processus internes de la croissance des fleurs dans un environnement participatif et attentif. Les sons recueillis seront ensuite diffusés localement en direct. Miranda Jones et ses collaboratrices, Bára Hladíková et Anne White, utilisent les stratégies du devised theatre et de la radio pirate pour élaborer une oeuvre commune, activée par le public et les objets qui l’entourent. Par des actions discrètes et diverses, les artistes et leurs interacteurs - les « performers devisors » - sont les instigateurs d’une composition visuelle et sonore enregistrée et diffusée en direct, à la fois sur la rue Ottawa et sur une fréquence proche, à la manière d’un programme radiophonique sauvage.  Cette expérience met ainsi en parallèle l’histoire vécue sur la Place Publique et celle des auditeurs des alentours, observateurs discrets d’un moment en construction. Se déployant comme une combinaison scénique spontanée, la composition visuelle et sonore forme une chorégraphie où les acteurs et les objets affectent leur environnement immédiat, et vice versa.

Miranda Jones (choréographie) est une artiste émergente dont la pratique se construit à l’intersection de la danse, du son, de la radio et du théâtre. La création collective et le rapport au jeu sont au centre de sa pratique. Elle est la co-AD du collectif de performance Ring O'Rosie et un membre du collectif médiatique The XX Files. 

Bára Hladíková (conception sonore) est une artiste interdisciplinaire travaillant avec la radio, l'installation, le théâtre, la performance et le design. Elle a exposé et performé son travail à travers le soi-disant « Canada » et est actuellement basée à Tio’tiá:ke, Montréal.

Anne White (dramaturge) vit à Peterborough, en Ontario, où elle fait de la performance. Elle s'intéresse à la combinaison de plusieurs disciplines, dont le théâtre, la dance, le film, le son et la poésie. Son oeuvre est souvent in situ.

Les performeurs collaborateurs sont Naomie Doirilus, Maxine Dannatt, et Jazmyn.

Les artistes et la Fonderie Darling remercient Studio XX de sa collaboration pour la diffusion radiophonique de la performance.

 

19H30 - Le collectif des auto-workshops

Plateforme d’une expérience relationnelle singulière, les auto-workshops portent une réflexion sur les possibilités artistiques et sociales des espaces vacants et sur le pouvoir émancipateur d'une prise en main collective. Les terrains vagues sont choisis comme espaces de performance et d’expérimentation du collectif et les objets et résidus qui y sont rencontrés sont activés dans des exercices d'improvisation. Retournés après usage, ils ne laissent d’autre trace que dans l'imaginaire des complices. Le collectif des auto-workshops conte parfois ces histoires fortuites par des présentations publiques ponctuelles et invite, pour cette performance, le public de la Fonderie Darling à co-construire les prochaines avec lui.

Depuis 2016, les auto-workshops rassemblent des artistes et des non-initié.e.s pour expérimenter la pratique de la performance artistique et de l'organisation en groupe. Le projet tire son nom de la volonté du faire « soi-même », dans un esprit de partage des connaissances et d'auto-détermination des pratiques.

 

 

À partir de 18H, venez déguster les bières artisanales de notre généreux commanditaire la microbrasserie locale 4 Origines et les tacos de Café Cantina (argent comptant seulement) !

Dj set de bb boris @brb.boriz : https://www.mixcloud.com/bbboris/

 

 

 

Soirées de performances

-

6:00 pm 11:00 pm

Place publique

Chaque été depuis plus de 10 ans, la Place Publique occupe une portion de la rue Ottawa en affirmant la présence de l’art et des artistes dans un secteur où cohabitent les grandes entreprises, les commerces innovants, les nouveaux résidents et ceux qui… Lire Plus