Possible Awakenings #3

This third proposal in the Possible Awakenings series brings the public to the horizon of the culture of self-care. On the program: a harvest of native plants and tasting of homemade herbal teas, followed by a participatory performance ironically similar to a yoga class. Through micro-actions or a humorously taunting of the ambivalent neoliberal logic that overlaps the cult of individual well-being and collective exhaustion, the artists invite us to these familiar activities towards a common intention: that addresses the irrepressible need to consume and its degradation effect on of ecosystems.

On the one hand, Ahreum Lee is interested in well-being as a socio-political concept as a call to the consumption of miracle products and the tendencies of "healthy life" that more so nourish capitalist industry. Such success is based on a paradoxical modus operandi in which everyone is demanded to develop their full potential, their productivity, and their performance while aiming for carelessness and happiness. Through the simulation of a performative yoga class, the artist demonstrates through irony how the obsession for well-being, often linked to the DIY "do it yourself", is ultimately plagued by the mechanisms of savage capitalism.

On the other, Nicole Fournier offers a gathering-performance during which the public is invited to discover the powers of native plants from the work EmballeToi! Landscape! The artist puts forward the positive intervention of plants on degraded ecosystems by initiating a process of decomposition of synthetic textiles based on petroleum, widely used in the ready-to-wear industry. Visitors are invited to consult a herbarium in the garden, identify the crops in discussion with the artist, and to taste these infused plants while discovering their health benefits.

Pairing these two interventions is thus to employ artistic means as a path to reveal the oppressive nature of contemporary modes of consumption and to get out of passivity in the face of these dominant models.

 

6 PM: Nicole Fournier - Foraging-performance 

The installation EmballeToi! Landscape, presented on the Darling Foundry's Place Publique for the next thousand years, is an extremely durational performative work. The artist compiles several gestures contributing to the decomposition of synthetic fabrics by bury them under a mixture of clay, sand, humus and compost. 

Nicole Fournier's artistic practice is based on interdisciplinarity, weaving together aspects of public art, participatory performance, collaboration, cultural mediation and ecovention - a concept which applies to an intervention in eco-art, which results in positive outcomes for degraded ecosystems.

 

7 PM: Ahreum Lee - I+CARE

“Searching for the PAUSE button? Come indulge your body, and free your mind with a self-care performance sponsored by I+CARE! As our performers demonstrate meditative yoga routines, this performance brings together the writings of Ivan Illich from Shadow Work and anecdotes for self-care, planned obsolescence, and shadow labour. Remember: self-care is a necessity for a lifetime's worth of productivity and fulfillment!

I+CARE is the part of a body of work which resembles IKEA instructions designed for self-care in an imagined near-future home. I+CARE is a meditation on the alienation and anxiety caused by the shadow labour market of our neoliberal economies. “Do It Yourself” culture is constantly being marketed to us as a form of empowerment, when in fact it is a cost-cutting measure where labour previously done by employees is being offloaded on to consumers. The artist conceives impossible health machine DIY kits to portray a future where one imagines that every stress-related medical problem could be solved by oneself. 

Ahreum Lee is a musician and interdisciplinary artist from Seoul, South Korea, currently based in Montreal. Lee began her career as the frontwoman of an experimental art-rock band Juck Juck Grunzie. After spending a decade producing records and touring internationally, she began to extend her practice into video and multimedia installation work. Through a variety of media, Lee is interested in examining the feedback loop between the individual and society. 

Do not forget to reserve your spot for the yoga workshop: http://bit.ly/YogaAhreum  

 

Starting at 5:30 PM, come and enjoy the Darling Foundry's Second Nature Bar and enjoy delicious tacos from Vitamina T and local craft beer from our generous sponsor, the microbrewery 4 Origins Brewing Co.'s! 

Dj set of Jérôme Nadeau 

 

 

 

Performance evenings

-

6:00 pm 11:00 pm

Place publique

Every summer for the past ten years, Place Publique has occupied a section of rue Ottawa, confirming the presence of art and artists in a neighbourhood where major companies, innovative businesses, and new and long-established residents live side by side.… See more

Au risque d'entraîner l'éveil #3

Cette troisième proposition de la série Au risque d’entraîner l’éveil emmène le public vers l’horizon de la culture du bien-être. Au programme : récolte de plantes indigènes et dégustation de tisanes artisanales, suivies d’une performance participative s’apparentant avec ironie à un cours de yoga. Les artistes nous convoquent à ces activités familières vers une intention commune : railler, avec humour ou par la micro-action, une logique néolibérale ambivalente où se chevauchent culte du bien-être individuel et épuisement collectif, besoin irrépressible de consommer et dégradation des écosystèmes. 

D’une part, Ahreum Lee s’intéresse au bien-être comme concept socio-politique, autrement dit comme un appel à la consommation de produits miracles et aux tendances de la “vie saine” qui nourrissent l’industrie capitaliste. Un tel succès s’appuie sur un modus operandi paradoxal où chacun est exhorté à développer son plein potentiel, sa productivité et sa performance, tout en ayant comme objectif le laisser-aller et le bonheur. À travers la simulation d’un cours de yoga performatif, l’artiste démontre ironiquement la manière dont l’obsession pour le bien-être, souvent liée au DIY « do it yourself », est finalement en proie aux mécanismes du capitalisme sauvage. 

De l’autre, Nicole Fournier propose une cueillette-performance durant laquelle le public est invité à découvrir les pouvoirs de plantes indigènes provenant de l’œuvre Paysage EmballeToi!. L’artiste met de l’avant l’intervention positive des végétaux sur les écosystèmes dégradés en enclenchant un processus de décomposition de textiles synthétiques à base de pétrole, utilisés largement dans l’industrie du prêt-à-porter. Les visiteurs sont invités à consulter un herbier du jardin, identifier les récoltes et discuter avec l’artiste pour goûter à ces plantes infusées et découvrir leurs vertus pour la santé. 

Ces deux interventions sont ainsi des moyens artistiques pour révéler le caractère oppressif des modes de consommation contemporains et pour sortir de la passivité face à ces modèles dominants. 

 

18H : Nicole Fournier - Cueillette-performance 

Présentée pour les 1000 prochaines années à venir sur la Place Publique, l'installation Paysage EmballeToi!, est une expérience performative sensorielle et éducative mettant en valeur des gestes agricoles et culinaires. Dans cette œuvre performative de très longue durée, l’artiste cumule plusieurs actions qui contribuent à la décomposition des textiles synthétiques en les ensevelissant sous une terre composée d’argile, de sable, de humus et de compost. 

Nicole Fournier développe une pratique artistique interdisciplinaire, alliant art public, performance participative, collaboration, médiation culturelle et écovention - notion qui désigne une intervention d'art écologique qui agit avec des conséquences bénéfiques sur des écosystèmes dégradés.

 

19H : Ahreum Lee - I+CARE

« À la recherche du bouton PAUSE ? Venez faire plaisir à votre corps et libérer votre esprit avec une performance d’autosoins sponsorisée par I+CARE ! Par l'interprétation d’une routine de yoga méditatif, cette performance réunit les écrits d’Ivan Illich issu de l’ouvrage Le travail fantôme et des anecdotes sur les soins personnels, l’obsolescence programmée et le travail de l’ombre. N’oubliez pas : prendre soin de soi est une nécessité pour la productivité et l’épanouissement d’une vie ! »

I+CARE fait partie d’un corpus d’oeuvres qui invoque les instructions IKEA adaptées aux "autosoins" (permettant aux individus de prendre soin de leur santé par eux-mêmes). I+CARE est une réflexion sur l’aliénation et l’anxiété causées par le marché du travail fantôme des économies néolibérales. La culture « Faites-le vous-même » nous est constamment présentée comme une forme d’autonomisation, alors qu’il pourrait s’agir d’une mesure de réduction des coûts où la main-d’oeuvre auparavant effectuée par les employés est déléguée aux consommateurs. L’artiste conçoit ici des kits d’auto-soins invraisemblables, dépeignant un avenir où l’on imagine que chaque problème médical lié au stress pourrait être résolu par soi-même. 

Ahreum Lee est une musicienne et artiste interdisciplinaire originaire de Séoul, qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Lee a débuté sa carrière en tant que meneuse du groupe de art-rock expérimental Juck Juck Grunzie. Après dix ans de production musicale et de tournées internationales, celle-ci a étendu sa pratique aux oeuvres installatives mêlant vidéo et multimédia. À travers une variété de médias, Ahreum Lee s’intéresse à l’exploration de la boucle de rétroaction entre l’individu et la société.

Pour participer à la séance de yoga, pensez à vous inscrire ici : http://bit.ly/YogaAhreum

 

À partir de 17H30, venez déguster les bières artisanales de notre généreux commanditaire la microbrasserie locale 4 Origines et les délicieux tacos de Vitamina T !

Dj set de Jérôme Nadeau 

 

 

 

Soirées de performances

-

6:00 pm 11:00 pm

Place publique

Chaque été depuis plus de 10 ans, la Place Publique occupe une portion de la rue Ottawa en affirmant la présence de l’art et des artistes dans un secteur où cohabitent les grandes entreprises, les commerces innovants, les nouveaux résidents et ceux qui… Lire Plus