Vikky Alexander  /  Nordic Rock

After a retrospective in 2019 at the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vikky Alexander presents Nordic Rock, a precious, fantasy-rich installation that contrasts the brutalist and imposing architecture of the Fonderie Darling’s hall. 

The industrial setting harbours fragile sculptures representing highly stylized elements of design furniture, such as a bed, a chair, a night table. Made of dichroic glass, an iridescent material that reflects light in a spectrum of colour, these minimal and extremely delicate sculptures are presented on pedestals arranged like islands in the space so as to reinforce their inaccessibility. Akin to jewels or precious stones capturing and reflecting light, these non-functional objects aim to captivate and create desire as they attract viewers and hold their gaze. Their shimmering, transparent surface subtly plays with the patina and architecture of the heritage building. The height of luxury, these works reveal the tremendous tension between the former working-class neighbourhood and the current, massive real estate development intended for a wealthy population.

Staggered with the sculptures and structuring the exhibition, two imposing vinyl murals of photo collages stand opposite each other, covering the full height of two wall sections. Composed of images gleaned from magazines, the murals use collage to associate views of dramatic or sublime landscapes with close-ups of textures, simulations of organic or vegetal matter.

Through these immense windows that open onto fantastical horizons, through the distortion of scale and the games of make-believe, the artist highlights the marketing strategies of appropriating and substituting nature used by the real estate and interior design markets. She also raises the question of authorship by reappropriating and recontextualizing images.

Alexander is a conceptual artist whose work explores the culture of consumerism and fantasy. Her work is distinctive in its ability to examine the world of illusion and material desire by using the language of architecture and design, borrowing from the imagery of high fashion and design magazines to address the themes of desire and commodification and the ways in which society projects us into these unreal environments. Playing with reflective materials and optical illusions and using strategies that trigger unconscious motives, the artist creates minimalist interventions in photography and sculpture.

Caroline Andrieux
translated by Oana Avasilichioaei

• • •

The exhibition is made possible thanks to a generous sponsorship by NumérArt, as well as the support of Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, Conseil des arts de Montréal and the Canada Council for the Arts.

VIRTUAL TOUR OF THE EXHIBITION

 
 

Vikky Alexander

Vikky Alexander’s work is characterized by the artist’s ongoing consideration of illusion and material desires framed with the language of architecture and design. Since the early 1980’s, Alexander has investigated culture’s appropriation and substitution of nature as it is manifest in mass market interior design items, such as photomurals of scenic landscapes, wood veneers and decorative mirrors. Her photographs, collages, drawings, installations and sculpture recognize the artificial as a place for utopian fantasy, a surreal space where the natural is recreated in an improved or even perfected form. Through her work, she examines how the formal signs of photography, architecture as well as interior and graphic design reveal and shape meaning in our contemporary culture, bringing to the fore discussions of capitalism, commodification and desire within the parameters of fantasy and cultural longing.

Alexander recently moved to Montreal after being part of the Vancouver art community for 25 years.  She is represented by galleries Cooper Cole in Toronto, Downs & Ross in New York, Trépanier Baer in Calgary, as well as by Wilding Cran Gallery in Los Angeles.

Vikky Alexander  /  Nordic Rock

Dans la foulée d’une rétrospective en 2019 à la Vancouver Art Gallery, dans la ville qui a révélé son talent, Vikky Alexander, dorénavant montréalaise, propose avec l’exposition Nordic Rock une mise en scène précieuse et chargé de fantasmes, créée en réponse à la salle massive de la Fonderie Darling. 

L’écrin industriel abrite de fragiles sculptures représentant de façon très stylisée, des éléments de mobilier de design, tels un lit, une chaise, un banc. Fabriquées à partir de verre dichroïque, dont la matière irisée reflète un spectre de couleur, ces sculptures d’une délicatesse extrême, présentées sur un piédestal, attirent autant qu’elles figent le regardeur. À la manière de bijoux ou de pierres précieuses, captant et renvoyant la lumière, ces objets dysfonctionnels ont pour seul but de séduire et de stimuler le désir. 

Disposées en quinconce avec les sculptures et pensées comme des éléments structurant de l’exposition, deux imposantes murales réalisées en vinyle à partir de collages photographiques se déploient en vis-à-vis, sur la pleine hauteur de deux pans de murs. Composées d’images glanées dans les revues, ces dernières associent par le montage d’images autant des vues de paysages dramatiques que des plans rapprochés de textures, simulations de matières organiques ou végétales. Par ces immenses fenêtres qui ouvrent sur des horizons sublimés, par ces distorsions d’échelle et par ces jeux de faux-semblants, l’artiste souligne les stratégies d’appropriation et de substitution de la nature utilisées en marketing dans les marchés de l’immobilier et de la décoration intérieure.

Vikky Alexander est une artiste conceptuelle qui questionne dans son travail la culture de consommation et ses fantasmes. Ses œuvres empruntent à l’imagerie des luxueux magazines de mode et de design pour engager le sujet du désir, de la marchandise et la façon dont la société nous projette dans ces environnements irréels. Par le biais d’interventions minimalistes réalisées en photographie et en sculpture, usant de stratégies déclencheuses de pulsions, l’artiste joue avec les matières réfléchissantes et les illusions optiques.

Caroline Andrieux

• • •

L'exposition bénéficie d'une généreuse commandite de Numérart, ainsi que du soutien du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts de Montréal et du Conseil des arts du Canada.

 

    

 

Vikky Alexander

Le travail de Vikky Alexander se démarque par sa capacité à interroger le monde de l'illusion et des désirs matériels en faisant usage du langage de l'architecture et du design. Depuis le début des années 1980, Alexander a étudié l'appropriation et la substitution d'images de nature par la culture telle qu'elle apparaît dans le marché de la décoration intérieure, notamment par le biais de murales de paysages pittoresques, de faux placages en bois et de miroirs décoratifs. À travers la photographie, le collage, le dessin, l'installation et la sculpture, son travail positionne l'artificialité comme un lieu utopique de fantaisie, comme un espace surréel où le naturel est recréé dans une forme améliorée, voire perfectionnée. Alexander examine la manière dont les signes formels de la photographie, de l'architecture, du design intérieur et du design graphique révèlent et façonnent les valeurs et le sens dans la culture contemporaine, en ouvrant la discussion sur le capitalisme, la marchandisation et sur le désir qui se reflètent à l'intérieur des paramètres de la fantaisie et des aspirations culturelles communes. 


Originaire de Vancouver et ayant œuvré au sein de sa communauté artistique pendant plus de 25 ans, Alexander est aujourd'hui basée à Montréal. Elle est représentée par les galeries Cooper Cole à Toronto, Downs & Ross à New York, Trépanier Baer à Calgary et par la Wilding Cran Gallery à Los Angeles.