Ayọ̀ Akínwándé  /  Power Show III: The God-Fathers Must Be Crazy

Last year, Ayọ̀ Akínwándé presented Power Show I in Lagos, the beginning of a large exhibition project on the question of social and political power. At first, Akínwándé offered a critique of governmental control of oil and energy resources to the detriment of Nigeria’s population. In the second exhibition, Power Show II: The God-Fathers Are Not to Blame, the artist used street recordings and social media tweets to examine the broken relationship between Nigerian citizens and their government as represented in popular discourse. Invited in residency to realize a project in response to the specific context of Place Publique, Akínwándé presents the beginning of the next iteration of this project, Power Show III: The God-Fathers Must Be Crazy.

On Ottawa street, Akínwándé shows how the opinions of Nigerian citizens form in their daily lives and on the world-wide-web. The artist’s research in Place Publique is twofold: a semi-permanent sculptural and sound installation, The People’s Parliament, and a performance of Mumu LP Vol 2: The Orchestra. Using the form of the Montreal bus shelter, the artist shifts the use of this stopping and waiting area to a listening zone of transposed contexts. The booth offers passersby on Ottawa Street a foray into two worlds: Lagos, a city with a population of over 20 million people where the artist currently lives, and the equally lively space of social networks.

The word “godfather” used in the exhibition titles refers to the political oligarchy of powerful and corrupt men that rule the country. Nigeria is one of many African countries that saw the emergence of a new democratic model in the 1990s and are now experiencing an ambivalent reality wherein most freedoms and opportunities remain accessible only to the political elite determined by the wealth and international alliances of the individuals within it. The People’s Parliament presents newspaper clippings, recorded snatches of heated conversations, and screenshots illustrating political commentaries that are often ironic, indignant, absurd, or plaintive. On Lagos Island and in its surrounding area, almost all bus stops are located near a newspaper stand—a table shaded by an umbrella displaying headlines under a protective plastic cover. In a city of insane traffic like Lagos, schedules and waiting times are unpredictable; bus stops, therefore, become actual meeting places where people debate and fervently or indignantly express their opinions on current events. The work lets us imagine the scene: at the bus stop, everyone speaks with authority, gesticulating and raising their voice to make their case. Speaking to listeners who alternately agree or disagree with one’s statements means engaging in a game of power and credibility and taking a public stance. As with social media platforms, the bus stop becomes a real hotbed of conversations.

In listening to heated voices and reading reactionary tweets in response to Nigerian current events, we are reminded that the frustrations and demands of millions of individuals are voiced on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. All this agitation seems infinite, just like on a cable news channel. For Akínwándé, when people protest or complain that nothing is being done, their voices take on a certain rhythm, somewhat like a song being played in a loop in the media or at a bus stop. Mumu LP Vol I gives material form to this idea in a music album, each track of which is a fragment of recorded voices. In the pidgin English used in Nigeria, the word “mumu” refers to an individual with a stupid, naive, or reckless attitude. To give the project concrete form in Place Publique, Akínwándé presents Mumu LP Vol 2: The Orchestra, a performance in which voice archives and the constant absurdity of the contemporary political world are transformed into music. On Thursday, August 8, 2019, Akínwándé will perform the work in collaboration with Montreal musicians.

For more than ten years, Place Publique has been a gathering place where social connections develop through art and civic engagement; on Ottawa street, Akínwándé offers a story within a story of the civic discourses that revitalize the public space. By re-activating conversations recorded in Lagos and screenshots specific to the situation of this megacity, Akínwándé invites the neighborhood’s passersby, workers, and residents to imagine the countless voices that appear in the space of the street and the web, as well as their prevalence worldwide. In the context of programming focused on public interaction, Akínwándé makes a multitude of voices coexist and combine with our own voices.

Milly-Alexandra Dery
translated from French by Oana Avasilichioaei

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                            

                             

Ayọ̀ Akínwándé

Ayọ̀ Akínwándé lives and works in Lagos. He co‐curated the 2017 Lagos Biennial and was also a participating artist at the exhibition held at the Nigerian Railway Museum. He was selected for the 2nd Changjiang International Photography and Video Biennial and was part of the ChinAfrika – under construction exhibition at the Museum of Contemporary Arts, Leipzig.

He is a contributor to the book ASIKO: On the Future of Artistic and Curatorial Pedagogies in Africa by the Centre for Contemporary Arts Lagos. His works and writings have been featured in Art Africa, Dienacht Magazine, PoetsArtists, Contemporary&, The Sole Adventurer, Somethingweafricansgot and other journals and publications around the world.

Akínwándé is a 2018 ArtX Prize finalist and a Top10 finalist at the 2018 ABSA L’Atelier Art competition with his work forming part of the exhibition at the ABSA Gallery. He has exhibited in solo and group shows across Africa and beyond.

Ayọ̀ Akínwándé  /  Power Show III: The God-Fathers Must Be Crazy

L’année dernière, Ayọ̀ Akínwándé a présenté Power Show I à Lagos, le début d’un vaste projet d’expositions autour de la question du pouvoir, sous sa forme politique et sociale. Dans un premier temps, Akínwándé a abordé cet enjeu en critiquant le contrôle gouvernemental des ressources énergétiques pétrolières et électriques, au détriment de la population nigériane. À l’occasion de l’exposition suivante, Power Show II : The God-Fathers Are Not to Blame, l’artiste s’est intéressé à la relation brisée entre les citoyens nigérians et leur gouvernement, en s’appuyant sur les voix de la population, enregistrées à la fois dans l’espace public de la rue et via les micro-messages publiés sur les réseaux sociaux. Invité en résidence à réaliser un projet en réponse au contexte spécifique de la Place Publique de la Fonderie Darling, Akínwándé présente les prémisses de la prochaine itération de ce projet, Powershow III: The God-Fathers Must Be Crazy. 

Sur la rue Ottawa, Akínwándé met de l’avant la manière dont les opinions des citoyens s’élèvent dans le quotidien nigérian et sur la plateforme mondiale du web. Les recherches d’Akínwándé se révèlent sur la Place Publique en deux temps, d’abord par l’installation sculpturale et sonore semi-permanente The People’s Parliament et ensuite par la performance-orchestre Mumu LP Vol 2: The Orchestra. En retravaillant la forme de l’abribus montréalais, l’artiste détourne l’usage de ce point d’arrêt et d’attente pour en faire une zone d’écoute et de transposition de contextes. La cabine propose aux passants de la rue Ottawa une incursion dans deux univers mis en parallèle : une ville de plus de 20 millions d’habitants comme Lagos, où l’artiste réside à ce jour, et un espace tout aussi mouvementé, celui des réseaux sociaux. 

Le terme parrain (godfather) est utilisé de façon répétée par Akínwándé dans les titres de ses expositions en référence à une oligarchie politique constituée d’hommes puissants et corrompus à la tête de l’État nigérian. Le Nigéria est l’un des nombreux pays d’Afrique ayant vu la naissance d’un nouveau modèle démocratique dans les années 1990, mais qui observe aujourd’hui une réalité toutefois bien ambivalente où la plupart des libertés et des opportunités demeurent accessibles seulement à une élite politique déterminée par la richesse et les alliances internationales des individus qui la composent. The People’s Parliament expose des coupures de journaux, des bribes de conversations survoltées et des captures d’écran, témoignages de commentaires politiques, souvent ironiques, indignés, absurdes ou plaintifs. Sur l’île de Lagos et ses alentours, presque tous les arrêts d’autobus sont situés près d’un kiosque à journaux, une table recouverte d’un parasol et d’un plastique protecteur où les nouvelles du jour sont exposées. Dans une ville au trafic monstre comme Lagos, les horaires et les temps d’attentes sont imprévisibles ; les arrêts d’autobus sont ainsi de véritables lieux de rencontres et de débats où les citoyens s’expriment avec ferveur ou avec indignation sur l’actualité. L’œuvre nous laisse l’imaginer : à l’arrêt d’autobus, chacun parle avec autorité, en gesticulant et haussant la voix pour faire entendre sa prise de position. Parler devant des auditeurs qui tour à tour acquiescent ou s’opposent est un jeu de pouvoir et de crédibilité, une prise de position publique. L’arrêt d’autobus, comme les réseaux sociaux, devient alors un véritable incubateur de conversations.

À entendre les voix et à lire les tweets qui répondent à l’actualité nigériane, on se rappelle que sur Twitter, Facebook et Instagram se sont formulées les frustrations et les exigences de millions d’individus. Cette effervescence semble sans fin, à la manière d’une chaîne de télévision d’information en continu. Pour Akínwándé, lorsque les gens protestent ou se plaignent et que rien ne se passe, les voix entendues finissent par prendre un rythme, comme une chanson passée en boucle dans les médias ou à l’arrêt d’autobus. Mumu LP vol I matérialise cette idée sous la forme d’un album de musique, où chaque piste est composée d’un fragment des voix enregistrées. Dans le pidgin anglais utilisé au Nigéria, le terme « mumu » réfère à un individu avec une attitude idiote, naïve ou irréfléchie. Pour concrétiser son projet sur la Place Publique, Akínwándé dirige Mumu LP Vol 2 :The Orchestra, une performance-orchestre dans laquelle ces archives vocales, cette absurdité constante du monde politique contemporain, sont transformées en musique. Le jeudi 8 août prochain, l’œuvre sera jouée en collaboration avec des musiciens montréalais.

Depuis plus de dix ans, la Place Publique rassemble les gens à l’extérieur des murs, dans un lieu où des liens sociaux se tissent autour de l’art et de l’engagement citoyen. Sur la rue Ottawa, les œuvres d’Akínwándé offrent une mise en abyme des discours engagés qui animent l’espace public. En réactivant des conversations enregistrées à Lagos et des captures d’écrans spécifiques à la situation de cette mégacité, Akínwándé invite les passants, les travailleurs et les résidents du quartier à imaginer les innombrables voix qui se font entendre dans l’espace de la rue et dans celui du web, ainsi que leur omniprésence à l’échelle planétaire. Dans le contexte d’une programmation axée sur l’interaction avec le public, Akínwándé fait coexister une pluralité de voix qui se mêlent alors aux nôtres.

Milly-Alexandra Dery

                                                                                                                                                             

Ayọ̀ Akínwándé

Ayọ̀ Akínwándé vit et travaille au Lagos. Il a notamment co-commissarié la Biennale de Lagos 2017, et participé à l’exposition organisée par le Nigerian Railway Museum en parallèle. Il a également été sélectionné pour participer à la seconde Changjiang International Photography and Video Biennial, et il a fait partie de l’exposition ChinAfrika – under construction au Musée d’art contemporain de Leipzig.

Il a contribué à l’ouvrage ASIKO : On the Future of Artistic and Curatorial Pedagogies in Africa édité par le Center for Contemporary Art Lagos. Son travail et ses écrits ont été publiés dans Art Africa, Dienacht Magazine, PoetsArtists, Contemporary&, The Sole Adventurer, Somethingweafricansgot et d’autres revues et publications à travers le monde.

 En 2018, Akínwándé a été finaliste du ArtX Prize, et finaliste au Top10 de l’ASBA L’Atelier Art competition, son travail faisant partie de l’exposition de l’ABSA Gallery. Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives sur le continent africain et à l’international.