In the fall of 2019, the Darling Foundry celebrates Latin American art. To mark the ten-year anniversary of the Residency of the Americas, supported by the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the art centre is offering a special program to Montreal and Canadian audiences that showcases the work of two former residents. In the Small Gallery, Puerto Rican curator Marina Reyes Franco (2016 resident) creates a dialogue between three Caribbean artists with the group exhibition Resisting Paradise: Deborah Anzinger (Jamaica), Leasho Johnson (Jamaica), and Joiri Minaya (Dominican Republic). Resisting Paradise is among the winning exhibitions of the Open Call program of apexart in New York and was presented in the summer of 2019 at :Pública in San Juan (Porto Rico).

• • •

Resisting Paradise is an exhibition featuring Jamaican and Dominican artists who create work at the intersections of tourism, sexuality, gender, environmental concerns, music, and the internet. The exhibition consists of existing and commissioned work that examines preconceived notions of paradise and tourism as new means of colonization. Through their work in painting, photography, sculpture, video, graphic design, and installation, the artists reference shared histories of invasion, slavery, and economic exploitation of natural resources, and how these forces translate into the commodification of their own bodies in the Western imagining of paradisiacal tourist destinations. The show’s title draws inspiration from a book by Bahamian writer Angelique V. Nixon, which discusses the perils of living in such a crafted, imagined paradise and the powerful ways in which cultural workers resist and transform those given narratives. 

The shared Caribbean experience of the plantation-to-resort model of economic development makes evident the transition from slavery to the service economy under tourism. The exhibition explores what happens when the tourism economy also applies to bodies—when sex and desire are also a currency. The project of colonialism and empire have left an undeniable mark on culture by shaping the way we relate to ourselves, to each other, and to nature itself. Through transgression and appropriation, these artists envision new paradigms of life in the region and its diaspora by challenging preconceived notions of what it means to be Caribbean, that is a colonial, raclalized, sexualized subject. 

Marina Reyes Franco

Deborah Anzinger

Deborah Anzinger is a Jamaican artist who lives and works in Kingston. Her work has been shown in many individual exhibitions in Jamaica but also in the United States, in Puerto Rico and in the United Kingdom. She was the recipient of several awards and grants, among which the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant in 2018.

Leasho Johnson

Leasho Johnson is a Jamaican artist. He holds a BFA from the Edna Manley School of the Visual and Performing Arts in Kingston, and he is currently studying at the School of Art Institute in Chicago. His work was shown in Jamaica but also internationally, notably at the Philharmonie de Paris in 2017, at the Royal West England Academy in Bristol in 2016, and at Yale University in 2015. He participated in residencies in New York (Residency Unlimited), Liverpool (Bluecoat) and Kingston (NLS).

Joiri Minaya

Born in New York, Joiri Minaya grew up in the Dominican Republic. She holds an Associate’s Degree from the Escuela Nacional de Bellas Artes in Santo Domingo, and a BFA in Fine Arts from Parsons the New School for Design in New York. She participated in residencies in the United States, such as Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture, Guttenberg Arts and BronxArtSpace. Her works have been presented in many individual and group shows across the Caribbean and in the United States. In 2015, she was the recipient of the Joan Mitchell Foundation Emerging Artist Grant.

Marina Reyes Franco

Marina Reyes Franco (b. 1984) is an independent curator living and thinking in San Juan, Puerto Rico. She is co-founder and former director of La Ene, a museum in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Recent projects include: Watch your step / Mind your head, ifa-Galerie Berlin; The 2nd Grand Tropical Biennial in Loíza, Puerto Rico; Calibán, MAC in Santurce, Puerto Rico; C32: Sucursal, MALBA in Buenos Aires, and numerous exhibitions at La Ene. Her research interests include the work of Esteban Valdés, artistic and literary manifestations on the frontier of political action, new museology, and the impact of tourism in cultural production.

À l’automne 2019, la Fonderie Darling met à l’honneur les arts visuels de l’Amérique latine. Pour souligner les 10 ans de la Résidence des Amériques soutenue par le Conseil des arts de Montréal, une programmation spéciale autour du travail artistique de deux anciens résidents est proposée aux publics montréalais et canadiens. Dans la Petite galerie, la commissaire porto-ricaine Marina Reyes Franco (résidente 2016) met en dialogue trois artistes des Caraïbes dans l’exposition de groupe Resisting Paradise : Deborah Anzinger (Jamaïque), Leasho Johnson (Jamaïque) et Joiri Minaya (République Dominicaine). Resisting Paradise est l’une des expositions lauréates du programme Open Call de l’organisme apexart à New York et a été présenté à l’été 2019 à l’espace :Pública à San Juan (Porto Rico).

• • •

L’exposition Resisting Paradise [Résister au Paradis] réunit le travail d’artistes jamaïcains et dominicains qui explorent les croisements entre le tourisme, la sexualité, le genre, les enjeux environnementaux, la musique et Internet. Les œuvres sélectionnées et commandées pour cette exposition découlent d’un réexamen de la notion préconçue de « paradis », ainsi que des nouvelles formes de colonisation engendrées par le tourisme. À travers la peinture, la photographie, la sculpture, la vidéo, le design graphique et l’installation, ces artistes convoquent des histoires d’invasion, d’esclavage et d’exploitation économique des ressources naturelles ; ce faisant, ils et elles montrent comment ces dispositifs de pouvoir conduisent à une réification de leur propre corps dans l’imaginaire occidental des destinations touristiques paradisiaques. Le titre de l’exposition est inspiré d’un livre de l’écrivaine bahaméenne Angelique V. Nixon, qui traite des dangers que représente la vie dans ce type de paradis artificiels ainsi que des moyens puissants par lesquels les travailleuses et travailleurs culturels résistent à ces constructions et les transforment.

Dans les Caraïbes, l’expérience commune d’un modèle de développement économique fondé sur la transformation des plantations en centres de villégiature met en évidence la transition de l’esclavage vers une économie de service. L’exposition explore ce qui se produit lorsque l’économie du tourisme affecte également les corps – lorsque le sexe et le désir deviennent aussi des monnaies d’échange. Le projet colonial et l’impérialisme ont laissé une marque indéniable sur la culture caribéenne en façonnant les relations que nous entretenons avec nous-mêmes, les autres et la nature elle-même. Par le biais de la transgression et de l’appropriation, les artistes rassemblés dans cette exposition imaginent de nouveaux paradigmes de vie pour la population de la région et sa diaspora en questionnant les stéréotypes à l’égard du sujet caribéen, défini comme un sujet colonial, racisé et sexualisé.

Marina Reyes Franco
(traduit de l'anglais par Katrie Chagnon)

Deborah Anzinger

Deborah Anzinger est une artiste jamaïcaine qui vit et travaille à Kingston. Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles en Jamaïque mais aussi aux États-Unis, à Porto Rico et au Royaume-Uni. Elle a reçu plusieurs prix et distinctions, tels que la bourse de la Fondation Pollock-Krasner en 2018. 

Leasho Johnson

Leasho Johnson est un artiste jamaïcain. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en Beaux-Arts de l’Edna Manley School of the Visual and Performing Arts de Kingston, il poursuit actuellement ses études d’art à la School of Art Institute de Chicago. Il a été exposé en Jamaïque et à travers le monde, notamment à la Philharmonie de Paris en 2017, à la Royal West England Academy de Bristol en 2016, et à la Yale University en 2015. Il a participé à plusieurs résidences à New York (Residency Unlimited), à Liverpool (Bluecoat) et à Kingston (NLS).

Joiri Minaya

Née à New York, Joiri Minaya a grandi en République dominicaine. Elle est titulaire d’un Grade d’associé de la Escuela Nacional de Bellas Artes de Santo Domingo, et d’un baccalauréat en Beaux-Arts de la Parsons the New School for Design de New York. Elle a participé à plusieurs résidences aux États-Unis, telles que la Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture, Guttenberg Arts et BronxArtSpace. Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives dans les Caraïbes et aux États-Unis. En 2015, elle a remporté le prix Emerging Artist de la Fondation Joan Mitchell.

Marina Reyes Franco

Marina Reyes Franco (née en 1984) est une commissaire indépendante qui vit et travaille à San Juan, Porto Rico. Elle a cofondé et dirigé le musée La Ene, à Buenos Aires, en Argentine. Parmi ses projets récents figurent : Watch your step / Mind your head, à la ifa-Galerie Berlin ; Calibán, au Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Porto Rico, à Santurce ; C32: Sucursal, au Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires ; ainsi que de nombreuses expositions à La Ene. Ses recherches portent sur le travail du poète Esteban Valdés, les manifestations artistiques et littéraires situées aux frontières de l’action politique, la nouvelle muséologie et l’impact du tourisme sur la production culturelle.