Support

Since it was founded in 1994, Quartier Éphémère has striven to balance its annual budget with a minimum of 50% independent revenue, an essential contribution to the organization operating smoothly and exceptional for a visual art centre in Canada. This financial situation is partly the result of the organization’s hybrid nature, which includes a dissemination sector and a creation sector. For many years, this hybrid quality prevented the organization from applying to the art councils for operating grants, as they required the candidates to have more traditional dissemination-creation structures. In addition, the tremendous growth of Quartier Éphémère, particularly with the opportunities that Fonderie Darling offered, forced it to turn to private funding to meet its needs and ensure its development. 

As a non-profit cultural and charitable organization registered with the federal and provincial governments since 1999, Quartier Éphémère has developed myriad ways of diversifying its revenues. A large portion of these come from commercial rentals such as the restaurant Le Serpent, which occupies part of its buildings, and regular events organized in its spaces, which usually take place between two exhibitions. Every year, a multifaceted fundraiser is organized consisting of festive evening events, artwork Bingo, crowdfunding, sales of artworks and editions donated by artists in order to raise funds.

In addition, since the studio building opened in 2006, the organization has set up a sponsorship program for the Montreal Studios, which consists in bringing artists in direct contact with institutions, foundations, companies, or collectors. For the term of one year, the Sponsors of the Montreal Studios cover the studio rental, provide the artist with a production grant, and cover the costs of professional networking incurred by Fonderie Darling’s team. This program has gained great momentum and today, 8 out of 9 artists are generously sponsored.

When Fonderie Darling first opened, the organization established an entrance fee of a few dollars, while also keeping a free day during which its public events take place. With an exponential increase in the number of visitors, the organization can now balance the budget invested in hiring a receptionist/cultural outreach assistant, an indispensable resource for overseeing the generous opening hours of almost 40 hours per week.

In accordance with its letters patent, the organization grants a great deal of power to its active members in an effort to better reflect current Quebec society and be transparent regarding Quartier Éphémère’s use of public funds. The Board of Directors and Governors head the organization and at every Annual General Meeting, the members vote on the organization’s key directions, approve its financial statements, and co-opt its directors. Membership is constantly increasing, and this widespread support is critically important for the organization.

Membership applications and donations, for which the organization can issue receipts for income tax purposes, are accepted all year long. Donors are given visibility whenever possible. The generous support of donors has helped Fonderie Darling grow for the benefit of one and all, while also offering emerging artists an accessible professional context. 

Fundraiser

6:00 pm 12:00 am

Grand annual celebration night, under the Honorary Presidency of Mr. G. Pierre Lapointe, administrator and president of Jarislowsky, Fraser Limitée. This starry night will be the perfect occasion to highlight the 10th anniversary of the artists' studios. To… See more

Fundraiser

6:00 pm 10:00 pm

Main hall

The Darling Foundry celebrated its 15th anniversary with a relaxed, fun-filled event, its BiNGO blowout, on Thursday, August 24, 2017. It was a success for one and all! With more than 300 attendees, the big party brought together people of all ages and… See more

6:00 pm 8:00 pm

Main hall

20th anniversary of Quartier Éphémère Save the date for our annual fundraising event! On Wednesday May 21st 2014, we will celebrate the 20th anniversary for the establishment of Quartier Éphémère, a non-profit organization that administrates the Darling… See more

Levée de fond

7:30 pm 10:00 pm

Place publique

The Darling Foundry is happy to invite you to its famous BINGO evening, on Thursday, August 9, at 7:30 pm.This popular and festive fundraising event celebrates the Darling Foundry action and thanks to the generous donors who contributed to our crowdfunding… See more

FUNDRAISING CAMPAIGN

-

Historically, young people aged 15 to 29 have often been excluded from public decisions and major cultural venues. With the Place for the Public campaign, we aim to provide an inclusive place for civic engagement and the dissemination of our youth’s burgeoning… See more

Soutenir

Depuis sa fondation en 1994, Quartier Éphémère se prévaut d’équilibrer son budget annuel avec un minimum de 50% de revenus autonomes, un apport essentiel à son bon fonctionnement et exceptionnel pour un centre d’arts visuels au Canada. Cette situation financière est d’une part la conséquence de la nature hybride de l’organisme, composée d’un pôle de diffusion et d’un pôle de création, ce qui, durant de nombreuses années, ne lui a pas permis de postuler aux demandes de subventions au fonctionnement des Conseils des Arts, des demandes qui exigeaient alors des candidats une structure diffusion-création conforme à un modèle traditionnel. D’autre part, la croissance fulgurante de Quartier Éphémère, notamment avec l’opportunité qu’offrait la Fonderie Darling, l’obligeait à se tourner vers des ressources privées pour pallier à ses besoins et assurer son développement.  

Organisme culturel à but non lucratif, reconnu de bienfaisance par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial depuis 1999, Quartier Éphémère a développé une myriade de façons de diversifier ses revenus. Une grande partie de ceux-ci proviennent de locations commerciales, dont celle du restaurant Le Serpent qui occupe une partie de ses bâtiments, et des événements ponctuels organisés dans ses salles, qui se produisent de coutume entre deux expositions. Chaque année, un événement bénéfice prend diverses formes: soirées festives, Bingo d’œuvres d’art, socio-financement, vente d’œuvres et d’éditions d’artistes offertes par ces derniers dans le but d’amasser des fonds.

Parallèlement, dès l’ouverture du bâtiment des ateliers d’artistes en 2006, l’organisme a mis en place un programme de parrainage pour les Ateliers Montréalais, qui consiste à établir une mise en contact direct entre l’artiste et des institutions, des fondations, des entreprises ou des collectionneurs. Durant une année, les Parrains et les Marraines des Ateliers Montréalais couvrent ainsi les frais inhérents à l’occupation de l’atelier, octroient à l’artiste une bourse de production et couvrent les frais de réseautage professionnel assumés par l’équipe de la Fonderie Darling. Ce programme a le vent dans les voiles et aujourd’hui 8 artistes sur 9 sont généreusement parrainés.

Aux premiers jours d’opération de la Fonderie Darling, l’organisme a mis en place le principe d’une entrée payante de quelques dollars, tout en gardant une journée de gratuité, durant laquelle ses événements publics ont lieu. Avec la croissance exponentielle du nombre de ses visiteurs, l’organisme peut aujourd’hui équilibrer le budget investi dans l’embauche de personnel dédié à l’accueil du public et à la médiation, une ressource indispensable pour couvrir ses généreuses plages d’ouverture de près de 40 heures par semaine. 

Selon ses lettres patentes, l’organisme octroie un grand pouvoir à ses membres actifs, dans le but de refléter au mieux la société québécoise actuelle et dans un souci de transparence quant à l’utilisation de fonds publics par Quartier Éphémère. Le Conseil d’Administration et les Gouverneurs sont les dirigeants de l’organisme et lors d’une Assemblée Générale Annuelle, les membres votent ses grandes orientations, approuvent ses états financiers et cooptent ses Administrateurs. Le bassin des membres est en constante augmentation et ce soutien venant de multiples personnes est d’une importance capitale pour l’organisme.

Les adhésions et les dons spontanés sont acceptées tout au long de l’année et sont admissibles à l’émission de reçus pour fin d’impôt. Une visibilité est offerte aux donateurs selon les possibilités.  La générosité des donateurs contribue à faire grandir la Fonderie Darling pour le bien être de toutes et tous, tout en offrant aux artistes émergents un contexte professionnel accessible.

6:00 pm 12:00 am

Grande salle

20ème anniversaire de Quartier Éphémère Réservez votre soirée pour notre événement de levée de fonds annuelle! Le mercredi 21 mai prochain, nous soulignons le 20e anniversaire de la création de Quartier Éphémère, organisme à but non lucratif, qui dirige… Lire Plus

Levée de fond

6:00 pm 12:00 am

Grande soirée de célébration annuelle, sous la Présidence d'Honneur de Monsieur G. Pierre Lapointe, administrateur et président de Jarislowsky, Fraser Limitée. Cette nuit étoilée est l'occasion de souligner, le 10e anniversaire des ateliers d'artistes. Afin… Lire Plus

Levée de fond

-

5:30 pm 5:30 pm

La Fonderie Darling a récolté 55 000$ pour la réalisation de ses projets Montréal, Vendredi 28 Août 2015 – L’équipe de la Fonderie Darling et ses administrateurs sont très heureux d’annoncer que grâce à la générosité de ses donateurs et commanditaires,… Lire Plus

Levée de fond

6:00 pm 10:00 pm

Grande salle

La Fonderie Darling a célébré son 15e anniversaire sous la forme d’un évènement ludique et décontracté, avec sa soirée BiNGO, qui s’est tenue hier soir, jeudi 24 août 2017, et qui a été un véritable succès populaire ! Avec plus de 300 participants, cette… Lire Plus

Levée de fond

-

Historiquement, les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans ont souvent été tenus à l’écart des décisions publiques et des grands lieux de diffusion culturelle. Avec la campagne Place au public, nous visons à offrir un endroit inclusif pour l’engagement civique et la diffusion… Lire Plus