Anna Orlikowska

Anna Orlikowska's work is defined by the concept of "activating space". Her practice involves a variety of media ranging from video installation to performance, from text to sound. While pursuing her interest in the act of listening and the complexities of sound, her work brings together the material, the visual and the bodily experience. Through the generative strategy of translating one medium into another, she explores the complex relationship between the sonic and the visual, as well as their relationship to the other senses. She investigates the materiality of sound, its relationship to architecture, and its impact on the body and imagination of the listener. 

During her residency, Anna Orlikowska will develop a research on the city's soundscape and translate it into a video installation. The work will explore the format of an opera as a medium, where emotions are expressed through sound, image and text. Each of the elements that make up the opera - such as the libretto, music and voice, text, set, and stage notes - will be independently explored. The format of repetition and its potential to generate content will be incorporated into the work.

This residency is made possible thanks to the support of the  Mondriaan Fund and Fonds Kwadraat.

 

 

Biography

Anna Orlikowska is an artist born in Warsaw and now based in Amsterdam. Her works have been shown in international solo and group exhibitions, notably at the Center for Contemporary Art at U-jazdowski Castle in Warsaw, Neuer Kunstverein in Wuppertal, Art Rotterdam, Randy Alexander Gallery in Chicago, The Suburban in Milwaukee, Casa do Povo in Sao Paulo).  Orlikowska received her MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, where she was awarded the New Artist Society Fellowship. She is also a graduate of the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam. She has been awarded prizes and fellowships such as the Mondriaan Fund Young Talent, the Clare Rosen and Samuel Edes Foundation Prize for Emerging Artists Finalist Award and the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds. His work has been reviewed in magazines such as ArtReview, Contemporary Lynx and Museumtijdschrijft.

 

Recent exhibitions

2020

Multi-sensory, Multisensorial installation at Rosalia Menagerie, Amsterdam, Netherlands

 

2019

Home Sequence, Amsterdam, Netherlands

 

2018

In your dreams they are not/words, Group exhibition, Neuer Kunstverein Wuppertal, Wuppertal, Germany

Prospects & Concepts, Art Rotterdam, Rotterdam, Netherlands

 

2017

The Witnessing Event, Group exhibition, El Museo de Los Sures, Brooklyn, United-States

Re-enacting the contents of the box, performance in collaboration with Jeff Prokash, Randy Alexander Gallery, Chicago, United-States

Anna Orlikowska

Le travail d'Anna Orlikowska se définit par l’idée « d’activer l'espace ». Sa pratique implique une variété de médias allant de l'installation vidéo à la performance, du texte au son. Tout en poursuivant un intérêt pour l'acte d'écoute et les complexités du son, sa pratique réunit le matériel, le visuel et l'expérience corporelle. Grâce à la stratégie générative consistant à traduire un médium en un autre, elle explore la relation complexe entre le sonore et le visuel, ainsi que leur relation avec les autres sens. Elle étudie la matérialité du son, sa relation à l'architecture, son impact sur le corps et l'imagination de l'auditeur.

Pendant sa résidence, Anna Orlikowska souhaite développer une recherche sur le paysage sonore de la ville et le transformer en une installation vidéo. L'œuvre se penche sur la forme de l’opéra en tant que média, où les émotions sont exprimées par le son, l'image et le texte. Chacun des éléments qui constituent l'opéra - tels que le livret, la musique et la voix, le texte, le décor, les notes de scène - est exploré indépendamment. Le format de la répétition et son potentiel de générateur de contenu seront incorporés dans l'œuvre.

Cette résidence est possible grâce au soutien du Mondriaan Fund et du Fonds Kwadraat. 

 

Biographie

Anna Orlikowska est une artiste née à Varsovie et actuellement établie à Amsterdam, aux Pays-Bas. Son travail a été présenté dans le cadre d'expositions individuelles et collectives internationales, notamment au Centre d'art contemporain du château U-jazdowski à Varsovie, au Neuer Kunstverein à Wuppertal, à Art Rotterdam, à la Randy Alexander Gallery à Chicago, à The Suburban à Milwaukee ou à la Casa do Povo à Sao Paulo.  Orlikowska a obtenu une maîtrise en arts à la School of the Art Institute of Chicago, où elle a reçu la bourse New Artist Society. Elle est également diplômée de la Gerrit Rietveld Academie d'Amsterdam. Elle a été récompensée par des prix et des bourses tels que le Mondriaan Fund Young Talent, le Clare Rosen and Samuel Edes Foundation Prize for Emerging Artists Finalist Award et le Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds. Son travail a fait l'objet de critiques dans des magazines tels que ArtReview, Contemporary Lynx et Museumtijdschrijft.

 

Expositions récentes

2020

Multi-sensory, Installation multi-sensorielle à Rosalia Menagerie, Amsterdam, Pays-Bas

 

2019

Home Sequence, Amsterdam, Pays-Bas

 

2018

In your dreams they are not/words, Exposition de groupe, Neuer Kunstverein Wuppertal, Wuppertal, Allemagne

Prospects & Concepts, Art Rotterdam, Rotterdam, Pays-Bas

 

2017

The Witnessing Event, Exposition de groupe, El Museo de Los Sures, Brooklyn, États-Unis

Re-enacting the contents of the box, performance en collaboration avec Jeff Prokash, Randy Alexander Gallery, Chicago, États-Unis