Of Things As They Happen To Be

THURSDAY - SUNDAY 

12PM - 7PM 

NO RESERVATION REQUIRED 

 

Jeanette Johns’s work asks viewers to pay attention, to become aware of the scientific conventions and logical principles that govern our understanding of the world. Jeanette Johns is particularly interested in those disciplines that render natural phenomena intelligible to us as humans, such as mathematics and geography. Calibrated to the limitations of our senses, the internal operations of the eye, and the effects of gravity, these universalist systems translate our experience of reality. Inspired by architectural drawing, optical illusions, science photography, and loom weaving - a technique she acquired for the production of this body of work, Jeanette Johns creates poetic objects that lay bare the workings of the human mind.

While landscape and architecture have always been at the core of Jeanette Johns’s interests, we might imagine that the works making up Of things as they happen to be were created on a smaller physical scale, under the influence of a daily routine taking place almost exclusively between home and studio. Conceptually, this exhibition points to what was mentally available to the artist over the past pandemic year: domestic space, interior architecture, empty places of gathering. For her, this acute awareness of questions connected to space and perception is embodied in an act of isolation, transformation and reproduction. Any object becomes strange if we stare at it long enough; the mind spins and ends up settling on our surroundings: walls, surfaces, windows, furniture. In the context of a narrow horizon of possibility and a restrictive present moment that seems to stretch out endlessly, Jeanette John’s artistic revelations indeed simply echo things as they happen to be1.

Shadow Windows is a diptych inspired by the motifs of the windows in Jeanette Johns’s studio, located in the residency area of Fonderie Darling, in the building annexed to the exhibition spaces. Woven black and white cotton threads create the illusion of an artificial opening onto the exterior, according to a logic of reciprocity where one feels trapped within a given space. For Shadow Stairs and Shadow Stairs Reflected, Jeanette Johns uses shadow-weaving technique to trace out an interwoven blue and pink staircase. The inclusion of a pew, as well as how the works are mounted — sometimes on the wall like tapestries, other times on a display stand, as with Lecturn Basket — conjure up the atmosphere of a place of worship. In some sense, this classic, almost solemn mode of presentation brings Jeanette Johns’s practice into the fundamental sphere of social ritual that encompasses artworks, bodies, and architecture.

Here, actual space is visually rendered via complex geometric models and decorative ornamentation. Linenfold, a well-know carving technique from the Middle Ages, appears in several forms throughout this body of work: screenprinted in Linenfold for a Wall, in black cotton fabric in Folded Curtain, and alongside modern moulding in the series Moulding Profile2. By transposing one single object or image via different forms and textures, Jeanette Johns highlights the degrees of separation that exist between reality and how it is represented.

In this exhibition, Jeanette Johns is able to shift the image towards three-dimensional space by means of a loom and weaving pattern software, tools that entail complex techniques and endless hours of practice. A symbol of traditional feminine labour, her use of the loom suggests a parallel between women’s work and artists’ work, while also questioning the value of technical know-how and self-learning. In looking at these pieces, we can’t help but imagine the enormous amount of labour behind each one of them. However, we also have the impression that through her use of methodical repetition, Jeanette Johns is able to transform time into something other than itself: work hours become woven squares, lengths of coloured cloth. Of things as they happen to be indeed evokes the idea that time—no matter what we do or don’t do with it—always ends up slipping through
our fingers.

 

Milly-Alexandra Dery 

Translated by Simon Brown

 

1. The exhibition’s title is taken from novelist Zadie Smith’s book Intimations: Six Essays, published during the pandemic. In the short story Peonies, Smith tells the story of a scientist who gives a piece of charcoal to a monkey kept in captivity, expecting some sort of revelatory or transcendental form of expression from the animal. However, the caged monkey only draws the bars of its cage, causing Smith to remark that “the revelation (turned) out to be one contingency, of a certain set of circumstances — of things as they happen to be” (Smith, p. 3).

2.  Linenfold is a type of relief carving used for decorating wooden panels. This technique imitates folded fabric or paper, and was popular in Europe from the 14th century onwards.

 

-

The next exhibitions by Sarah Stevenson in the Main Hall and Jeanette Johns in the Small Gallery are presented at the same time in order to uncover certain aesthetic connections between two generations of artists. As the second iteration of a curatorial… See more

Jeanette Johns  /  Of Things As They Happen To Be

JEUDI - DIMANCHE

12H - 19H 

AUCUNE RÉSERVATION REQUISE

 

Le travail de Jeanette Johns sollicite un regard attentif, invite à prendre conscience des conventions scientifiques et à s’ouvrir aux principes logiques qui guident notre compréhension du monde. L’artiste s’intéresse particulièrement aux disciplines qui permettent de rendre intelligibles certains phénomènes et abstractions scientifiques, comme la géographie ou les mathématiques. Calibré sur les limites de nos sens, le fonctionnement interne de notre œil et les effets de gravité, ce type de système universaliste traduit notre expérience du réel. En s’inspirant du dessin architectural, des jeux d’optique, de la photographie scientifique et du filage au métier à tisser, technique acquise à l’occasion de cette exposition, Jeanette Johns crée des objets empreints de poésie qui s’essaient à révéler les mécanismes de notre esprit.

Si le paysage et l’architecture ont toujours été au cœur des préoccupations de Jeanette Johns, il est possible d’imaginer que les œuvres de Of things as they happen to be ont été réalisées selon une échelle spatiale réduite, influencée par un quotidien qui se joue presque exclusivement entre la maison et l’atelier. Conceptuellement, cette exposition reflète ainsi ce qui mentalement a été accessible à l’artiste dans la dernière année ; l’espace domestique, l’architecture d’intérieurs, celle d’espaces de rassemblements désertés. Cette conscience aiguë des enjeux de la perception et de l’espace s’incarne chez elle par des actes d’isolement, de transformation et, de reproduction. Les choses semblent étranges lorsqu’on les fixe depuis un trop long moment ; les pensées tournent en rond et parfois finissent par se poser sur ce qui à cet instant nous entoure : murs, surfaces, fenêtres, meubles. Alors que l’horizon des possibles manque d’ampleur, devant un présent étriqué qui s’étire, les révélations artistiques de Jeanette Johns sont un reflet des choses, telles qu’elles se trouvent1, tout simplement.

Shadow Windows est un diptyque reprenant comme motif la fenêtre de l’atelier de Jeanette Johns, situé dans le bâtiment-résidence de la Fonderie Darling annexé aux salles d’exposition. Des fils noir et blanc de coton tissés créent l’illusion d’une fausse ouverture vers le dehors, dans une logique de réciprocité où il est impossible de se sentir hors d’un espace. Pour Shadow Stairs et Shadow Stairs Reflected Jeanette Johns utilise cette technique de tissage par l’ombre pour dessiner, par fils bleu et rose entrelacés, l’image d’un escalier. La présence d’un banc d’église, les tissages accrochés comme des tapisseries ou déposés sur présentoir comme Lecturn Basket évoquent subtilement l’ambiance d’un lieu de culte. En quelque sorte, cette mise en espace classique, presque solennelle, indique que la salle d’exposition fait elle aussi partie d’un rituel social important, s’articulant autour de l’art, du corps et de l’architecture.

Dans cette pièce, l’espace réel est imagé par le biais de modèles géométriques complexes et d’ornementations décoratives. Un motif bien connu datant du Moyen-âge, le panneau en parchemin plissé revient à plusieurs reprises : il est imprimé en sérigraphie sur Linenfold for a Wall, reproduit par les plis du textile de coton noir pour Folded Curtain, et mis en parallèle avec un autre type de moulure plus moderne, comme évoqué dans la série Moulding Profile2. Par la transposition d’un même objet, d’une même image, entre différents volumes et textures, Jeanette Johns met de l’avant les degrés de séparation entre le réel et 
ses représentations.

Pour cette exposition, le passage de l’image vers le tridimensionnel s’est fait pour Jeanette Johns grâce au métier à tisser, par la maîtrise d’un logiciel informatique permettant la création de patrons, une technique complexe qui nécessite d’innombrables heures de pratique. Symbolique d’un labeur féminin traditionnel, son utilisation de ce type d’ouvrage explicite le parallèle entre le travail de la femme et celui de l’artiste, tout en s’intérrogeant sur la valeur du savoir-faire et de l’apprentissage autodidacte à notre époque. Difficile de ne pas imaginer la quantité de travail derrière chaque objet mais il semble qu’à travers cette répétition méthodique, l’artiste réussit à transformer le temps en quelque chose d’autre que lui-même : les heures deviennent des carrés tissés, des étoffes formées par des rangs de couleur. Of things as they happen to be fait subtilement naître l’idée que le temps file inexorablement, qu’on en fasse quelque chose ou rien du tout.

 

Milly-Alexandra Dery

 

1.  Ce titre choisi par l’artiste est extrait du recueil Intimations: Six Essays, publié par la romancière Zadie Smith durant la pandémie. Dans la nouvelle Peonies, l’auteure raconte l’anecdote d’un scientifique donnant un morceau de charbon à un singe détenu en captivité, en s’attendant de lui une sorte d’expression révélatrice ou transcendantale. L’animal encagé aurait plutôt dessiné les barreaux devant ses yeux, suite à quoi Smith écrit « the revelation (turned) out to be one contingency, of a certain set of circumstances – of things as they happen to be  » (Smith, p. 3).

2.  Le panneau de parchemin plissé (linenfold) est un style de sculpture en relief utilisé pour décorer des panneaux de bois. Ce motif sculpté imite l’allure d’un matériau pliable, comme le tissu ou le papier, et a été populaire en Europe à partir du 14e siècle.

Jeanette Johns

Originaire de Winnipeg, Jeanette Johns détient un baccalauréat en Printmaking de l’University of Manitoba et une maîtrise en Studio Arts (concentration Print Media) de l’Université Concordia. Elle a effectué de nombreuses résidences de production et de création, au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Finlande. En 2016, elle a publié le livre d’artiste With Sufficient Distance, réalisé en risographie par Parameter Press.

 

-

Les prochaines expositions de Sarah Stevenson dans la Grande salle et de Jeanette Johns dans la Petite galerie, sont présentées simultanément dans l’intention de dévoiler des complicités esthétiques tissant un lien entre deux générations d’artistes. Deuxième… Lire Plus