Philippe Battikha  /  Someone's always listening

Listening to a Tired Breath

Sound passes through space and through walls; it passes through our bodies. Most of the noises and echoes that make up our daily soundscape are imposed on us; walking on the street or being at home, we put up with them rather than choosing to listen to them. In what ways do they affect us even though we think, by force of habit, that we no longer notice them? What proportion of these sounds gets stored by our senses in our consciousness?

For this first major solo exhibition, Philippe Battikha continues his research into the intersection between visual and sound art, reappropriating objects in order to examine the types of relationships we have with the world. Someone’s Always Listening is a kinetic, sculptural installation composed of blasting mats. Used to minimize impact, control ground vibrations, and act as protective barriers against the debris caused by blasting, these giant rubber mats are shock-absorbing buffers. Made from recycled car tires, they are essential to demolition sites, whether in quarries or urban contexts. As in all cities sustained by constant urban development, such tire mats form an integral part of daily life, although their presence is systematically hidden from us by tall protective facades. First noticed by the artist from the windows of his former studio, located at the corner of Beaubien and Durocher Streets, these objects—which seem completely senseless on a human scale given that each tangle of rubber and metal weighs over two tons—remained firmly lodged in his mind. Creating a dialogue between the museum’s white cube and the external world through the recontextualization of blasting mats in art, Battikha is interested in the visual and aural conditions that determine how we look at an object.

From up close, the lacerated tires woven on steel cables vaguely resemble reptile skin or fish scales. Their almost monstrous materiality cannot be ignored; as protective barriers, they evoke armour, carapace, bark, crust of solidified lava. In the Small Gallery, Battikha reimagines the potential of breath, the power of hydraulic pumps, and the subtlety of sound to turn the moving black mass into an animate object. While the mats delicately rise and fall with the help of a mechanical system, we hear a soundscape composed of two types of sounds: field recordings made in the neighbourhood of Old Montreal and sounds created with musical instruments. As with other past work such as Save Our Souls, presented last winter on the roof of Fonderie Darling, and Queen’s Lot, shown on Place Publique in 2018, Battikha is interested in the sonic environment of the building and surrounding area.1 For Someone’s Always Listening, he brings the sounds of the urban space into the exhibition space, this time adding a strong visual dimension to the auditory one. The soundscape accompanying the installation makes possible the contact between the exhibited object and visitors, who experience the decibels and vibrations simultaneously: the bodies, just like the mats, absorb the shocks of the everyday. The soundscape thus serves as a bridge between human and nonhuman, subject and object. Through a correspondence between the breath of instruments and the mechanical breath of hydraulic pumps, the installation positions the city as a living, ever-changing entity, a microcosm that seems to be under pressure, just like all the bodies living in it. The joined visual and aural experience of the work emphasizes the dual aspect of our urban experience: a sense of simultaneously feeling exalted and suffocated.

The combination of petroleum-derived geotextiles and quotidian sounds leads to an experience in which listening, attention, and proximity are essential to developing a new and responsible relationship to objects. Using an animist lens, Battikha is interested in the transitional nature of these mats that figure in the long process of demolition. Caught in an infinite cycle of the production and destruction of infrastructure, the mats evoke the socioeconomic powers that determine a human-made environment; their place in the gallery literary recalls the intersection between the contemporary art space and the world of real estate. Furthermore, the installation Someone’s Always Listening simulates the moment of latency that accompanies all destruction before the inevitable breaking point. This is an irreversible alteration of the reality affecting space and matter, as well as time; between the moment when we hold our breath and that of the shockwave, there is a before and an after with almost no chance of turning back. 

 

Text by Milly-Alexandra Dery

Translated by Oana Avasilichioaei  

 


1 The sound work Save Our Souls imitated a sound occasionally heard in Montreal, namely the whistle blast used to signal dynamite blasting, modifying its rhythm to emit a warning signal in Morse code. The intervention Queen’s Lot broadcast a work composed of field recordings made near Fonderie Darling.

 

The exhibition is made possible thanks to a generous sponsorship by Gascon & Associates L.L.P. and Dynamat Inc., as well as the support of Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec and of the Canada Council for the Arts.

 


 

Philippe Battikha

Battikha holds a BFA in Integrative Music Studies and an MFA in Studio Arts (Intermedia concentration) from Concordia University. He received many grants and awards, such as the Montréal Arts Interculturels Mentorship Program. He co-founded the music label Samizdat Records (SZR), based in Montreal and in Brooklyn. From 2008 to 2012, he was a founding member of the artist-run space L'Envers in Montreal.

 

5:30 pm 9:00 pm

The exhibition Someone's Always Listening will feature a musical performance and an album launch by Samizdat Records, led by artist Philippe Battikha. The same evening, enjoy an Open Studios event with artists in residencies Lamis Haggag and Maryse Goudreau.… See more

Philippe Battikha  /  Someone's always listening

Être à l’écoute d’une respiration en pneumatique

Le son traverse l’espace et les murs, il traverse nos corps. La plupart des bruits et des échos qui composent le quotidien nous sont imposés ; en marchant dans la rue ou en étant chez soi, on les subit plutôt que de choisir de les écouter. De quelle manière nous affectent-ils même si le fait de s’y habituer donne l’impression de ne plus les remarquer ? Quelle proportion de ces sonorités reste emmagasinée par nos sens et notre conscience ?

À l’occasion de cette première exposition personnelle d’envergure, Philippe Battikha poursuit ses réflexions sur l’entrecroisement entre les arts visuels et sonores dans une approche où le détournement d’objets sert à réfléchir aux relations que nous entretenons avec le monde. Someone's Always Listening prend la forme d’une installation sculpturale et kinétique composée de tapis de dynamitage. Utilisés pour contenir l’impact des explosions, contrôler les vibrations du sol et bloquer la projection de débris, ces tapis géants de caoutchouc sont les tampons qui absorbent le choc de la destruction. Fabriqués à partir de pneus de voiture recyclés, ils sont un élément essentiel des sites de démolition, qu’ils soient localisés dans des carrières d’exploitation ou dans l’espace citadin. Comme dans toutes les villes soutenues par un développement urbain en constante croissance, ces tapis de pneus font partie intégrante du quotidien, bien que leur présence nous soit systématiquement dissimulée par de hautes façades de protection. Remarqués pour la première fois par l’artiste depuis les fenêtres de son ancien atelier, situé au coin des rues Beaubien et Durocher, ces objets déraisonnables pour l’échelle humaine – chaque enchevêtrement de caoutchouc et de métal pèse plus de deux tonnes – ont marqué son esprit. Alors qu’il opère un dialogue entre le cube blanc muséal et le monde extérieur par la recontextualisation artistique de tapis de dynamitage, Battikha s’intéresse aux conditions visuelles et sonores qui déterminent le regard que nous posons sur un objet.

De plus près, ces pneus lacérés tissés sur des câbles d’acier ressemblent vaguement à la peau du reptile ou à l’écaille du poisson. Leur matérialité presque monstrueuse ne peut être ignorée ; barrière de protection, elle évoque l’armure, la carapace, l’écorce, la croûte de lave séchée. Dans la Petite galerie, Battikha utilise l’imaginaire de la respiration, la puissance de pompes hydrauliques et la subtilité pénétrante du son pour faire de cette masse noire mouvante un objet réanimé. Alors que les tapis se soulèvent et retombent délicatement grâce au système mécanique, on peut entendre une trame sonore dans laquelle deux sons se superposent : ceux de bruits enregistrés sur le terrain, dans le quartier du Vieux-Montréal, et d’autres créés avec des instruments de musique. À l’instar d’autres œuvres réalisées par le passé, comme Save Our Souls présentée cet hiver sur le toit de la Fonderie Darling ou Queen’s Lot sur la Place Publique en 2018, Battikha s’intéresse à l’environnement sonore du bâtiment et des alentours[1]. Pour Someone’s Always Listening, il soumet les sons de l’espace urbain au lieu d’exposition, en ajoutant cette fois-ci une forte dimension visuelle à celle auditive. La trame sonore accompagnant l’installation rend possible un contact entre les visiteurs et l’objet exposé, qui ressentent simultanément les décibels et les vibrations : les corps comme les tapis absorbent les chocs quotidiens. Elle fait ainsi le pont entre l’humain et le non-humain, entre le sujet et l’objet. Par la correspondance du souffle des instruments et celui mécanique des pompes hydrauliques, l’installation positionne la ville comme une entité vivante, changeante, un microcosme qui semble sous pression, tout comme les corps qui y vivent. L’expérience à la fois visuelle et sonore de l’œuvre exacerbe une dualité qui caractérise notre expérience urbaine : le sentiment d’exalter et d’étouffer simultanément.

La combinaison d’un géotextile dérivé du pétrole et de sons du quotidien mène à une expérience dans laquelle l’écoute, l’attention et la proximité sont essentielles pour développer un rapport aux objets renouvelé et responsable. Par une mise en scène animiste, Battikha s’intéresse à la nature transitionnelle de ces tapis qui trouvent leur place au milieu d’un long processus de démolition. Pris dans un cycle infini de production et de destruction d’infrastructures, ces derniers évoquent les pouvoirs socio-économiques qui dirigent l’environnement bâti ; leur place dans une salle d’exposition rappelle de manière littérale l’intersection entre les lieux d’art contemporain et le monde de l’immobilier. Par ailleurs, l’installation Someone’s Always Listening simule le moment de latence qui accompagne toute destruction, avant le point de rupture inévitable. Il s’agit d’une altération irréversible de la réalité qui agit sur l’espace et la matière, mais aussi sur la temporalité ; entre le moment où on retient son souffle et celui du choc, il y a un avant et un après, avec peu de retours en arrière possibles.

 

Texte de Milly-Alexandra Dery

 


[1] L’œuvre sonore Save Our Souls imitait un bruit ponctuellement entendu dans la ville de Montréal, celui du signal d’avertissement déployé avant une explosion à la dynamite, en modifiant le rythme pour émettre un appel de secours en alphabet morse. L’intervention Queen’s Lot diffusait une œuvre composée par les sons captés autour de la Fonderie Darling.

 

 

L'exposition bénéficie d'une généreuse commandite de Gascon & Associés S.E.N.C.R.L. et Dynamat Inc., ainsi que du soutien du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec et du Conseil des arts du Canada.

 

 

Philippe Battikha

Philippe Battikha est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en Études des Musiques Intégratives et d’une maîtrise en Studio Arts (concentration Intermedia) de l’Université Concordia. Il a bénéficié de nombreuses bourses et distinctions, dont le programme d’accompagnement et de mentorat du MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels). Il est co-fondateur de l’étiquette de disque Samizdat Records (SZR), basée à Montréal et à Brooklyn. De 2008 à 2012, il a été membre fondateur du projet d’artistes L’Envers à Montréal.

 

5:30 pm 9:00 pm

L’exposition Someone’s Always Listening sera le théâtre d’une performance musicale et d’un lancement d’album du label Samizdat Records, dirigé par l’artiste Philippe Battikha.  Le même soir, visitez les ateliers des artistes Lamis Haggag et de Maryse… Lire Plus