Fonderie Darling: 20 Years + 1 Century

Presented in the entrance hall of the Fonderie Darling, the anniversary exhibition Fonderie Darling: 20 Years + 1 Century aims to introduce the public to the material traces of the Darling Bros Ltd., the company that first established the site of the Fonderie Darling in 1888, and which was in operation until 1991. Based on an exceptional collection of tools, technical and administrative documents, letters and photographs from the company's archives and former employees' personal collections, the exhibition wishes to bear witness to the memory of the workers whose hard labour formed the backbone of this great industrial complex. Converted into a visual arts center for the creation and dissemination of contemporary art in 2002, the site still contains traces of its industrial heritage. Fonderie Darling: 20 Years + 1 Century acts as an invitation to explore this history, which will unfold in three major phases throughout:

 

1888–1938 - Foundations                                                                 
1939–1959 - The war and its aftermath                                           
1960–1991 - Decline and transformation
17.03.2022 - 17.06.2022
17.06.2022 - 17.09.2022
13.10.2022 -  11.12.2022

   

 

Conceived in collaboration with the design studio House9, the exhibition design invites the public to appropriate the material presented and to follow the different iterations of the project by collecting the perforated cards offered on the wall; it will then be possible to assemble these into a booklet at the end of the exhibition cycle. 

 

The Fonderie Darling team would like to thank the City of Montreal and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec for their support through the program Patrimoines montréalais : une mise en valeur dans les quartiers 2021-2022.

 

BOOKLETS

Fonderie Darling : 20 ans + 1 siècle

Présentée dans l’espace de l’accueil, l’exposition patrimoniale Fonderie Darling : 20 ans + 1 siècle propose de faire découvrir au public les traces matérielles de la compagnie Darling Bros Ltd., l'entreprise qui a établi le site de la Fonderie Darling en 1888, et qui a été en activité jusqu'en 1991. S’appuyant sur un legs exceptionnel d’outils, de documents techniques et administratifs, de lettres et de photographies provenant du fonds d’entreprise et des collections personnelles d'anciens employés, cette exposition souhaite porter avec fierté la mémoire des travailleurs et travailleuses qui œuvrèrent au cœur de ce grand complexe industriel. Transformé depuis 2002 en centre d'arts visuels pour la création et la diffusion de l'art contemporain, le site contient encore des traces de son héritage industriel. Fonderie Darling : 20 ans + 1 siècle est une invitation à explorer cette histoire, qui se déroulera en trois grandes phases tout au long de l'année :

 

1888 - 1938 : Fondations               
1939 - 1959 : La guerre et ses suites    
1960 - 1991 : Du déclin aux transformations                                          
17.03.2022 - 17.06.2022
17.06.2022 - 17.09.2022
13.10.2022 -  11.12.2022

   

 

Conçu en collaboration avec le studio de design House9, le dispositif muséographique invite le public à s’approprier le matériel présenté et à suivre les différentes itérations de cette exposition en collectant les cartes perforées offertes au mur, qui pourront être rassemblées sous la forme d’un livret à l’issue du cycle d’exposition.

 

L’équipe de la Fonderie Darling remercie la Ville de Montréal et le Conseil des arts du Québec pour leur soutien dans le cadre du programme Patrimoines montréalais : une mise en valeur dans les quartiers 2021-2022.

 

 

LIVRETS