Sarah Stevenson  /  Before the Storm

Six of Sarah Stevenson’s evanescent sculptures float in the vast industrial space of Fonderie Darling’s Main Hall. Silhouetted parallel and perpendicular lines connect and interweave with metal hoops hung from the ceiling. Sarah Stevenson’s vibrant and airy volumes, reminiscent of giant hoop skirts, create spaces that are both open and contained, light and dense. Some of these elegant, assertive and imaginative constructions are inspired by the biological world, such as Bean, Burn and Nimbus, while others evoke the human body,  Bruise and Spine. Other, more abstract works reference discernible elements from architecture and design, such as Spike. Sarah Stevenson’s creative process begins with the drawing of complex preparatory grid diagrams, which are then transferred into three-dimensional space, becoming a web of knotted coloured threads that trace out well-defined lines and geometric shapes.

The presence of these works, often at the limit of visibility, attracts our gaze and incites us to walk around them, so to better grasp the pieces in their entirety. When examined up close, their outer layers, made up of interwoven threads, allow us to see the inside of the sculptures, and to consider their volume1. From further away, they become almost transparent, and, depending on the background over which they are viewed, neutral or textured, the pieces softly appear and disappear into a field of visual vibration. Varying natural and artificial lighting adds another variable to the equation. Our gaze thus tries to grasp forms that are always escaping us, forcing us to constantly adjust and readjust our ways of looking. Metaphorically, the fishing line making up these sculptures prompts us to make the connection with cages, traps for the eyes. The challenge the pieces pose to our sense of vision is compounded by our dynamic physical experience of them. Seemingly weightless, hung from the high ceiling, but floating just inches from the ground, these soft and hollow forms seem to be levitating. In addition to this spatial disorientation, the works rotate almost imperceptibly on a vertical axis, a phenomenon created by the airflow within the vast space, and by visitors’ movements. The impressive scale of these pieces, defined by simple mesh canvas forms, seems out of proportion when compared to their apparent weight and density, aspects that further disrupt our relationship to them. Their tenuous appearance also contrasts with the vast space, maintaining a tension between the works and their exhibition context. These physical and visual experiments profoundly destabilize us, and indeed bring us to question our own bodies, and the space they occupy in this immense room.

Initiated in 2018 — in continuity with earlier series of poetic objects such as Under Glass (1992-1999),  Multiples (2001-2014) and Animation (2008-2012) —, this body of work represents the apogee of Sarah Stevenson’s series Wireframe, ongoing since 1997. For this exhibition, the artist seeks to push her abilities to their limit, indeed realizing the largest sculptures of her career to date, some of them double-layered, 3.4 metres high, and one metre in diametre. Existing somewhere between the organic and the mechanical, Sarah Stevenson’s works — created with virtuosity, craft, methodological techniques, and simple materials — here take on a technological appearance, resembling a vertex mesh made up of dots and nodules.

For Sarah Stevenson, the exhibition title Before the storm evokes that strange moment of calm that precedes violent weather. This relationship to time that is suspended, peaceful yet unsettling, invites meditation, and allows us to be moved by the physical experience, while remaining focused on looking and the body within an architecture that resonates with the emptiness that these works indeed contain.

Caroline Andrieux

Translated by Simon Brown

1.  The earliest works (1997) from the series Wireframe were created using translucent fabric membrane.

 

Sarah Stevenson

Sarah Stevenson is an artist working in the media of sculpture and drawing. Born in England, she grew up in various cities across Canada, received a BFA from the University of Victoria in 1984, and settled in Montreal in 1988. Stevenson's work has been shown in solo and group exhibitions in Canada and abroad, including the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, the Galleria d'Arte Moderna in Bologna and the Esker Foundation in Calgary. Stevenson has been represented by Galerie Blouin/Division since the early 1990s and more recently by Galerie Trépanier Baer in Calgary.

 

-

Main hall

This fall, Fonderie Darling’s Main Hall presents the exhibition As I Walk, a precious collection of minerals and plants assembled by Lebanese-born Montreal artist Sylvia Safdie. Gleaned during her walks, on the occasion of her numerous trips around the… See more

Sarah Stevenson  /  Before the Storm

Six sculptures évanescentes de Sarah Stevenson flottent dans la Grande salle industrielle de la Fonderie Darling. Différentes silhouettes composées de lignes parallèles et perpendiculaires entrelacées et reliées à des cerceaux métalliques à la manière d’une crinoline sont suspendues depuis le plafond. Leurs volumes aériens et vibrants créent des espaces à la fois ouverts et contenus, légers et denses. Ces constructions imaginaires au profil élégant et à la personnalité affirmée sont inspirées du monde organique, Bean, Burn, Nimbus, ou du corps humain Bruise, Spine. D’autres plus abstraites peuvent faire allusion à des éléments reconnaissables de l’architecture ou du design, Spike. Les formes sont conçues d’après le schéma d’une grille préétablie très élaborée sur papier. Sarah Stevenson procède à partir de dessins préparatoires, qui sont ensuite transférés en trois dimensions et deviennent une sorte de toile de fils colorés, noués et tendus l’un à l’autre, traçant des lignes et des formes géométriques bien définies.

Leurs présences, parfois à la limite du visible, attirent le regard et invitent à en faire le tour pour mieux les appréhender. De proche, l’enveloppe faite d’un enchevêtrement de fils, supprime l’écran de la surface et permet d’accéder visuellement à l’intérieur des sculptures afin d’apprécier le volume qu’elles définissent1. De plus loin, elles se laissent traverser par le regard  et, selon leur position sur un fond neutre ou devant une surface texturée, elles apparaissent, parfois furtivement, puis disparaissent dans une vibration visuelle. La lumière naturelle et artificielle ajoute une composante à ces variations. Notre vue se prête alors au jeu de tenter de saisir une forme qui nous échappe, nous obligeant sans cesse à ajuster notre vision. Métaphoriquement, le fil de pêche utilisé pour leurs réalisations amène à les associer à des cages, une sorte de piège au regard. À cette mise au défi de notre perception visuelle, s’ajoute celle de l’expérience physique et dynamique au contact des œuvres. Soumises à l’apesanteur, accrochées du plafond mais retenues à quelques centimètres du sol, ces éléments mous et creux donnent l’impression de léviter plutôt que d’être suspendus. À cette déstabilisation de nos repères physiques, s’ajoute leur tournoiement quasiment imperceptible autour de leur axe vertical, un mouvement créé par les courants d’air que génèrent l’espace monumental et le déplacement des visiteurs. Leurs grandes dimensions, définies par une simple toile ajourée déployée dans les airs, semblent disproportionnées par rapport à leur masse et à leur densité, des composantes qui viennent perturber notre rapport aux sculptures. Leur ténuité contraste également avec le lieu massif et imposant, ce qui maintient une tension entre les œuvres et le contexte d’exposition. Ces expérimentations physiques et visuelles nous déstabilisent et nous amènent à questionner notre propre corps, notre propre volume dans cet endroit hors normes.   

Initiée en 2018, faisant suite à des séries d’œuvres déclinées autour d’objets aux formes poétiques comme Under Glass (1992-1999), Multiples (2001-2014) ou Animation (2008-2012), cette proposition constitue un point culminant de la série Wireframe que l’artiste développe depuis 1997. Pour la présente exposition, Sarah Stevenson a cherché à pousser ses capacités à leurs limites en réalisant ses plus grandes sculptures, dont certaines à double voile, mesurant jusqu’à 3,40 mètres de hauteur et 1 mètre de diamètre. Entre organique et mécanique, la technique méthodique développée avec beaucoup de virtuosité, de façon artisanale et en utilisant des matériaux simples, prend des allures technos, ressemblant à un maillage de vertex avec ses points et ses nœuds qui constituent les œuvres.

Le titre de l’exposition Before the storm évoque pour Sarah Stevenson le moment d’une étrange quiétude avant la tempête. Ce rapport au  temps mis en suspens, inquiétant et paisible, invite à la méditation et incite à se laisser porter par une expérience physique, concentrée sur le regard et sur le corps, dans une architecture qui résonne avec les vides que les œuvres contiennent. 

Caroline Andrieux



1. Les premières œuvres de la série Wireframe en 1997 étaient enveloppées dans une pellicule de tissu plus ou moins transparent. 

 

 

*Pour accéder aux sous-titres en français, appuyer sur l'icône d'engrenage en bas en à droite

 

Sarah Stevenson

Sarah Stevenson est une artiste qui travaille avec la sculpture et le dessin. Née en Angleterre, elle a grandi dans différentes villes du Canada et a obtenu un BFA de l'Université de Victoria en 1984, puis s’est installée à Montréal dès 1988. Les œuvres de Stevenson ont été présentées dans des expositions individuelles et collectives au Canada et à l'étranger, notamment au Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario, au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, au Stedelijk Museum d'Amsterdam, à la Galleria d'Arte Moderna de Bologne et à l'Esker Foundation de Calgary. Stevenson est représentée par la Galerie Blouin/Division depuis le début des années 90 et, plus récemment, par la Galerie Trépanier Baer de Calgary.

 

-

Grande salle

La Grande salle de la Fonderie Darling est investie cet automne par l'exposition As I Walk, nouvelle itération de la précieuse collection de minéraux et de végétaux de l'artiste montréalaise d'origine libanaise, Sylvia Safdie. Glanés lors de ses marches,… Lire Plus