Daniel Jablonski  /  Brazil

Over time and through succeeding exhibitions, the entrance hall of Fonderie Darling has become a space for artistic experimentation and a space dedicated to presenting the work of artists in our international residency programs. 

Located behind the counter of the entrance hall of Fonderie Darling, the work Brazil (2017-2020) by Daniel Jablonski is an investigation on the representation of Brazil in different cultures, as it appears in foreign cinematographic works. The work brings together stills out of a compilation of almost 1000 fiction features produced and shot abroad in which the words “Brazil” and “Brazilian” appear for no particular reason, always unrelated to the unfolding of the plot.

The case cited as an exemple is the movie Brazil (1985) by Terry Gilliam: it is about a dystopic science fiction film showing no connection to the country, except for the score Aquarela do Brasil by Ary Barroso constantly repeating its iconic refrain: “Return I will / to Old Brazil”More than the earnest documentaries about the country, those apparently unimportant little references, lost in fictitious dialogues, hold the true unconscious images of exoticism. Distant both in time and space, Brazil serves as the underside for all those films, like a black hole in the scripts, to which all the characters’ promises, dreams or escapes are sent, never to be accomplished. 

Daniel Jablonski’s work Brazil is derived from the installation (Still) Brazil (2017-2020), conceived as a film in which each element explores a cinematographic functionality: sound, moving image, stills, credits, etc. The work was previously shown in different configurations in Paço das Artes in São Paulo, at the Centro Cultural Justiça Federal in Rio de Janeiro and at Fundación ArtNexus in Bogotà.

 

Daniel Jablonski

Daniel Jablonski is a visual artist, professor and independent researcher. He obtained a Master's Degree in Contemporary Philosophy from Sorbonne-Panthéon University, Paris, and in Art History / Museum Studies from the INHA, Paris, and Columbia University, New York.

His works have been shown in solo and group exhibitions, notably at Instituto Tomie Ohtake (São Paulo, BRA), Fundação Iberê Camargo (Porto Alegre, BRA) as well as Universidad Torcuato di Tella (Buenos Aires, ARG) and Fundación ArtNexus (Bogotá, COL). His writing can be found in magazines such as Serrote, Amarello (São Paulo, BRA) and Octopus Notes (Paris, FRA), as well as academic journals like Concinnitas and Poiésis (Rio de Janeiro, BRA).

In the last few years, Jablonski has won several prizes at national art shows and fairs and has been nominated twice to Brazil’s most prestigious prize, Prêmio PIPA. He has also participated in international residencies such as Lugar a Dudas in Cali, COL and Fondazione Antonio Ratti, ITA. He currently lives and works in São Paulo and teaches Art History at MASP - São Paulo Museum of Art. Daniel Jablonski is the artist laureate of the Residency of the Americas 2020.

Daniel Jablonski  /  Brazil

Au fil du temps et des expositions qui se succèdent, l’accueil de la Fonderie Darling est devenu un espace d’expérimentation artistique et un lieu privilégié pour offrir une visibilité aux résidents internationaux et leurs plus récents projets.

Ce printemps, l’artiste lauréat de la Résidence des Amériques Daniel Jablonski présente l’installation Brazil (2017-2020), une enquête sur la représentation du Brésil dans différentes cultures, telle qu’elle apparait dans des productions cinématographiques étrangères. L’œuvre réalisée pour le mur derrière le comptoir de l’accueil rassemble une sélection de clichés tirés d’une compilation totalisant presque mille longs métrages de fiction produits et tournés à l’international dans lesquels les mots « Brésil », « Brésilien » et « Brésilienne » apparaissent sans raison particulière, toujours sans liens directs avec le déroulement du scénario. 

Le cas cité en exemple est justement le film Brazil (1985) de Terry Gilliam, un film de science-fiction dystopique n’ayant aucun lien avec le pays, si ce n’est la chanson Aquarela do Brasil d’Ary Barroso, qui répète à plusieurs reprises son iconique refrain : « Return I will / to Old Brazil ». Plus que les documentaires engagés sur le pays, ces petites références en apparence insignifiantes, perdues dans des dialogues fictifs, contiennent les vraies images inconscientes de l’exotisme. Distant à la fois temporellement et géographiquement, le Brésil est la face cachée de tous ces films, comme un trou noir dans les scénarios, dans lequel toutes les promesses, les rêves et les évasions des personnages sont projetés, sans jamais être accomplis.

L’œuvre Brazil de Daniel Jablonski dérive de l’installation (Still) Brazil (2017-2020), conçue comme un film dans lequel chaque élément explore une fonctionnalité cinématographique : le son, l’image mouvante, les clichés, le générique, etc. L’œuvre a été présentée sous diverses formes à la galerie Paço das Artes à São Paulo, au Centro Cultural Justiça Federal de Rio de Janeiro, et à la Fundación ArtNexus à Bogotà.

 

Daniel Jablonski

Daniel Jablonski est un artiste visuel, professeur et chercheur indépendant. Il est titulaire d’un Master en philosophie contemporaine de l’Université Sorbonne-Panthéon, Paris, et en histoire de l’art et muséologie de INHA, Paris, et Columbia University, New York. 

Ses œuvres ont été présentées dans des expositions solos et de groupes, notamment à Instituto Tomie Ohtake (São Paulo, Brésil), Fundação Iberê Camargo (Porto Alegre, Brésil), Universidad Torcuato di Tella (Buenos Aires, Argentine) et à la Fundación ArtNexus (Bogotá, Colombie). Ses contributions écrites ont été publiées dans des magazines tels que Serrote, Amarello (São Paulo, Brésil) et Octopus Notes (Paris, France), ainsi que dans des journaux académiques tels que Concinnitas et Poiésis (Rio de Janeiro, Brésil).

Au cours des dernières années, Jablonski a remporté plusieurs prix lors d’expositions et foires nationales, en plus d’avoir été nominé à deux reprises au prix le plus prestigieux du Brésil : Prêmio PIPA. Il a aussi participé à plusieurs résidences internationales telles que celle de Lugar a Dudas à Cali, Colombie, et celle de la Fondazione Antonio Ratti, en Italie. Il vit et travaille présentement à São Paulo et enseigne l’histoire de l’art à MASP - São Paulo Museum of Art. Daniel Jablonski est l'artiste lauréat de la Résidence des Amériques 2020.