Barbara Steinman  /  Diving for Dreams

Montreal artist Barbara Steinman has been creating work for almost forty years in response to specific sociopolitical contexts and places, in art institutions, exterior spaces, and other more atypical ones such as an abandoned industrial building, a bank, and a chapel. While these interventions have often been called site-specific, the term “portable monuments,” [1] proposed by art critic Bruce W. Ferguson, describes them most accurately. Steinman is not so much interested in rooting her work in a specific place, but rather in altering the meaning of the work based on the site in which it is presented, making the lack of a fixed place—migration, wandering, exile, time shifts—the essential condition for creating work. 

At the invitation of the Darling Foundry, Steinman offers a philosophical meditation on the monument-space of the Main Hall, whose volume embodies both the height of luxury and a kind of endangered species, in a neighbourhood that is being quickly and inevitably gentrified. In stark contrast to the fantasies of an “upscale” lifestyle promoted by new condo towers, but also to the expectations set up by the spectacular aspect of the exhibition space, the artist has created a series of “portable” interventions that examine the place and its inhabitability.

Careful not to take over the space and occupy its centre, Steinman uses her temporary stay in the Main Hall as an opportunity to draw a perimeter and demarcate a territory’s limits. With rigour, she has gone around the space, punctuating it with luminous traces. Yet defining this perimeter does not create an interior. Instead, it reveals thresholds and reference points. Visitors are not invited to circle the works, but rather to survey the emptiness, keep to the middle of the space, and in the words of e.e. cummings, “dive for dreams,”[2] for this is how we might take our place in the world and not be toppled by slogans and propaganda.

Diving for Dreams. Five neon drawings float on three sections of sky-blue walls—a gentle blue that at certain times of the day conjures the faded paint peeling off the Darling Foundry’s bricks and concrete columns and evokes its prior history. Functioning somewhere between a revival of the past and an imaginary projection, the work calls to mind a colourful rebus by associating quasi-childish drawings with figures of wild animals. Wolf. Home. Heart. Bed. Bird of prey. Some of the motifs are based on research, during which the artist asked people she met to make impromptu drawings in response to the word home. Using this open-ended collection of drawings, Steinman recomposed a series of neon graffiti that juxtapose the figurative with the schematic and symbolic, the animal with the human, the familiar with the untamed. 

Niche. A work made of mirrors and glass is nestled in the crevice streaking the large brick wall at the back of the Hall, capturing light and animating the building’s entire palimpsestic envelope. Letters in white glass meander on the reflecting surface: “which belongs to us & to which we belong.” Charles Moore writes that the human need to “dwell” leads to the act “of connecting ourselves, however temporarily, with a place on the planet which belongs to us, and to which we belong.”[3] Being at home, therefore, is related less to having a fixed residence and more to relationships of reciprocity, interdependence, and intertwining. This is beautifully concretized here by the words in chiasmus and the twists of the letters, which from afar appear to be etched into the mirror and which seem to unravel as we get closer to the work. Yet who is this we asserting its belonging to the Darling Foundry’s walls? What community is being evoked here?

Day and Night (1989). A series of four staged photographs in light boxes depict an anonymous figure, face buried and resting, who seeks shelter in the exterior alcove of an industrial building dating from the same era as the Darling Foundry, and which was renovated as part of the development of the Quartier des spectacles. Initially created for the surrounding bays above the atrium of the contemporary galleries at the National Gallery of Canada, the work has been removed from its context and reconfigured on the floor, installed like a series of nightlights along the walls. By migrating her own works thirty years later, Steinman introduces into the dream space a counterpoint to the false candour of the neon drawings: images that are simultaneously historical and ageless, that seem not only to belong, but also to find a temporary resting place (along with the rest of the exhibition) in the space.

Daring Others (Photo Souvenir). Near the doorway, visitors can help themselves to a postcard illustrating a barely altered “souvenir” of the iconic facade of the Darling Brothers Foundry, reduced here to pocket-size format. Mirroring Niche, the photograph plays with the reversibility of the site’s surfaces by integrating the exterior into the exhibition space. Once again, it involves deciphering words: the reading is shaped as if by the wear and tear of time, as remnants of faded lettering linger on the adjacent building. In contrast to the sense of community and belonging invoked by Niche, the postcard ironically places some distance between the space and the mythical name that marks it: the Darling brothers are transformed into daring others, that is “bold or fearless beings”—although some might read “daring” as a verb, and the phrase as “challenging others.” 

From one work to the next, we are continually brought back to the middle, to the interval of emptiness suffused with the constantly changing daylight or defined by the nighttime lighting, to the breath of this space fringed by light—neon, mirror, glass, light boxes. To dive for dreams has nothing to do with some phantasmagorical escape: such an act is more akin to the difficult labour of the pearl diver, a Shakespearean image taken up by philosopher Hannah Arendt to describe the work of collecting, citing, and salvaging the debris of the past undertaken by cultural critic Walter Benjamin.[4] Within the Darling Foundry, does Steinman not give rise precisely to such fragments scraped from the depths of time and history, from individual and collective memories?

Ji-Yoon Han
translated by Oana Avasilichioaei

 


[1] Bruce W. Ferguson. “The Art of Memory: Barbara Steinman,” Vanguard 18.3 (Summer/Spring 1989): 10–15.

[2] e.e. cummings. “dive for dreams,” Poetry 80.3 (June 1952): 125.

[3] Charles Moore. Foreword to Junichiro Tanizaki, In Praise of Shadows (London: Leete’s Books Inc., 1977): 5.

[4] Hannah Arendt, Introduction to Walter Benjamin, Illuminations: Essays and Reflections (New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1968), 7–58.

The creation of the works in the exhibition was made possible thanks to the financial support of the Conseil des Arts et des Lettresdu Québec. Day and Night (1989) is part of the permanent collection of the National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (purchased in 1990). The artist would like to thank David Merk, Alexandre Payer, Lorraine Simms, Angela Grauerholz, Gaétan Hamel and the technical team of the Darling Foundry for their assistance.

 

Barbara Steinman

Known for her multidisciplinary work, Montreal-based artist Barbara Steinman began her career in Vancouver as a video artist. At the beginning of the 1980s she was the co-director of artist-run centers Vidéo Véhicule and Powerhouse Gallery.

Steinman's works have been presented in numerous biennials and exhibitions in Canada, Europe, Japan and the US, among which the Museum of Modern Art in New York (MoMA), the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, the Art Institute of Chicaco, and the National Gallery of Canada. Steinman was the recipient of the Governor General's Award for her outstanding contribution to the fields of visual and media arts (2002). She received an honorary doctorate from the Fine Arts Faculty of Concordia University in Montreal (2015). Her work is represented by Galerie Françoise Paviot in Paris and Olga Korper Gallery in Toronto.

Barbara Steinman  /  Diving for Dreams

L’œuvre de l’artiste montréalaise Barbara Steinman se déploie depuis près de quarante ans en réponse à des lieux et des contextes socio-politiques précis, au sein d’institutions artistiques, dans des espaces extérieurs et d’autres plus atypiques tels qu’un bâtiment industriel désaffecté, une banque ou une chapelle. Si ces interventions ont souvent été qualifiées d’in situ, la formule de « monuments portatifs[1] » proposée par le critique Bruce W. Ferguson les décrit de manière plus exacte. En effet, Steinman ne s’intéresse pas tant à ancrer ses œuvres dans un lieu spécifique, qu’à moduler le sens de celles-ci en fonction du site où elles sont présentées, faisant de l’absence de lieu fixe — la migration, l’errance, l’exil, le déplacement temporel — la condition profonde à partir de laquelle se construit son travail.

À l’invitation de la Fonderie Darling, Steinman offre une méditation philosophique sur l’espace-monument de la Grande salle, sur ce volume immense – à la fois comble du luxe et comme une espèce en voie de disparition dans un quartier en transition accélérée vers un implacable embourgeoisement. Aux antipodes des fantasmes des styles de vie « haut de gamme » promus par les nouvelles tours à condos, mais aussi bien des attentes suscitées par le caractère spectaculaire de l’espace d’exposition, l’artiste a développé une série d’interventions « portatives » qui interrogent le lieu et son habitabilité. 

Se gardant bien de prendre possession de l’espace et d’en occuper le centre, Steinman fait de son séjour temporaire dans la Grande salle l’occasion de tracer un périmètre et marquer les limites d’un territoire. Elle a ainsi, rigoureusement, fait le tour de l’espace en le ponctuant de traces lumineuses. La définition d’un tel périmètre cependant ne crée aucun intérieur. Il s’agit plutôt ici de faire apparaître des seuils et des points de repère. Les visiteurs sont dès lors invités, non pas tant à tourner autour des œuvres qu’à arpenter le vide, à se tenir au milieu et à « plonger au fond du rêve[2] » selon la formule du poète e.e. cummings pour qui là réside la possibilité de nous situer dans le monde, de ne pas être submergés par la propagande et par les slogans.

Diving for Dreams [Plonger au fond du rêve]. Une composition de cinq dessins tracés au néon flotte sur trois pans de murs bleu ciel – d’un bleu tendre qui à certaines heures du jour se confond avec celui, fané, émaillant les briques et les colonnes de béton de la Fonderie Darling et témoignant de l’histoire ancienne du lieu. Entre reviviscence du passé et projection imaginaire, l’œuvre se donne à lire telle un rébus coloré par l’association de dessins quasi enfantins à des silhouettes d’animaux sauvages. Loup. Maison. Cœur. Lit. Oiseau de proie. Certains motifs proviennent d’une enquête au cours de laquelle l’artiste a demandé aux gens qu’elle rencontrait de faire un dessin, à brûle-pourpoint, en réponse au mot home qui en anglais désigne la maison, et plus précisément : le chez-soi. À partir de cette collection ouverte de dessins, Steinman a recomposé une séquence de graffitis fluorescents où la figure côtoie le schéma et l’emblème, l’animal l’humain, le familier l’inapprivoisé.

Niche. Dans l’anfractuosité qui zèbre le grand mur de briques, au fond de la salle, se loge une pièce de verre et de miroir, qui capte la lumière et anime toute l’enveloppe palimpseste du bâtiment. Des lettres en verre blanc serpentent sur la surface réfléchissante : which belongs to us & to which we belong. Pour habiter, écrit Charles Moore, il faut pouvoir « nous mettre en relation, aussi provisoirement que ce soit, avec un lieu sur la planète qui nous appartienne et à qui nous appartenions[3] ». Être chez soi aurait donc moins à voir avec la possession d’un domicile fixe, qu’avec des relations de réciprocité, d’interdépendance et d’entrelacement – ici admirablement matérialisées par les mots eux-mêmes en chiasme et les tortillons du lettrage qui de loin semblent gravés dans le miroir et qui s’en délient à mesure que l’on s’approche de l’œuvre. Mais qui est ce nous qui affirme ainsi son appartenance aux murs de la Fonderie Darling ? Quelle est la communauté ainsi convoquée ?

Jour et Nuit (1989). Une séquence de quatre photographies dans des caissons lumineux met en scène une figure anonyme au repos, le visage enfoui, cherchant refuge dans le chambranle de la porte d’un bâtiment industriel de la même époque que la Fonderie Darling, aujourd’hui transformé par le développement du Quartier des spectacles. Initialement conçue pour les baies surélevées entourant l’atrium des salles d’art contemporain du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, l’œuvre est ici déplacée de son contexte et reconfigurée au sol, placée comme des veilleuses le long des murs. Par ce geste de migration de ses propres œuvres à trente ans d’écart, Steinman introduit dans l’espace du rêve un contrepoint à la fausse candeur des dessins au néon : des images à la fois historiques et sans âge, qui semblent appartenir au lieu et y trouver, comme l’exposition dans son ensemble, une halte transitoire. 

Daring Others (photo souvenir). Près de la porte de sortie, une carte postale que les visiteurs pourront emporter avec eux dissémine un « souvenir », à peine altéré, de la façade iconique de la Darling Brothers Foundry ainsi réduite au format de poche. En miroir à l’œuvre Niche, la photographie joue sur la réversibilité des surfaces du lieu, en intégrant le dehors au sein de l’espace d’exposition. Là encore, il s’agit de jouer sur un déchiffrement de mots : la lecture en est comme guidée par l’usure du temps, à l’instar des fantômes de lettrage délavé qui rôdent encore sur le bâtiment mitoyen. À la communauté et à l’appartenance invoquées par Niche répond ainsi la mise à distance ironique d’un nom mythique qui marque tout l’espace de son sceau : les frères Darling, transformés en daring others, en « téméraires étrangers » — à moins que certains n’y lisent plutôt l’affirmation d’un « défi lancé aux autres ».

D’une œuvre à l’autre, nous sommes toujours ramenés au milieu, à cet intervalle du vide nimbé des rayons sans cesse changeants du jour ou délinéé par l’éclairage nocturne, à la respiration de cet espace ourlé de lumière — néon, miroir, verre, boîtes lumineuses. Plonger au fond du rêve n’a rien d’une évasion fantasmagorique : une telle entreprise s’apparenterait plutôt au difficile labeur du pêcheur de perles, une image shakespearienne reprise par la philosophe Hannah Arendt pour décrire le travail de collection, de citation, de sauvetage des débris du passé, mené par le critique de la culture Walter Benjamin[4]. Ne serait-ce pas justement de tels fragments raclés au fond des temps et de l’Histoire, des mémoires individuelle et collective, que Steinman fait émerger à son tour dans l’enceinte de la Fonderie Darling ?

 

Ji-Yoon Han

 


[1] Bruce W. Ferguson. « The Art of Memory. Barbara Steinman », Vanguard, 18 : 3, été 1989, 10-15.

[2] e.e. cummings. « plonge au fond du rêve » (1958), dans 95 Poèmes, traduit de l’anglais par Jacques Demarcq, Paris, Points, 2006.

[3] Charles Moore. Préface à l’édition anglaise de L’Éloge de l’ombre de Junichiro Tanizaki, In Praise of Shadows, London, Leete's Books Inc., c1977, traduction libre.

[4] Hannah Arendt, Introduction to Walter Benjamin, Illuminations: Essays and Reflections, New York, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1968, 7-58.

La création des œuvres de l’exposition a été rendue possible grâce à l’appui financier du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec. L’œuvre Jour et Nuit (1989) fait partie de la collection permanente du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa (achat en 1990). L'artiste aimerait remercier David Merk, Alexandre Payer, Lorraine Simms, Angela Grauerholz, Gaétan Hamel et l'équipe technique de la Fonderie Darling pour leur soutien.
 

Barbara Steinman

Reconnue pour son œuvre multidisciplinaire, l'artiste montréalaise Barbara Steinman a commencé sa carrière à Vancouver comme artiste vidéo. Au début des années 1980, elle a été co-directrice de Vidéo Véhicule, ainsi que de la Centrale Galerie Powerhouse, centres d’artistes autogérés. 

Les œuvres de Steinman ont été présentées dans de nombreuses biennales et expositions au Canada, en Europe, au Japon et aux États-Unis, dont le Museum of Modern Art de New York (MoMA), le Stedelijk Museum à Amsterdam, l'Art Institute of Chicago ainsi que le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. L’artiste est récipiendaire du Prix du Gouverneur général pour sa contribution exceptionnelle en arts visuels et arts médiatiques (2002) et d’un doctorat honoris causa de la Faculté des beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia à Montréal (2015). Son travail est représenté par la Galerie Françoise Paviot à Paris et Olga Korper Gallery à Toronto.