Sandra Volny  /  Study on the exposure of matter to sound

With each successive exhibition, the wall behind the reception desk has become a privileged place to offer visibility to the artists in residence at Fonderie Darling. In situ proposals, recent works or research in progress; the projects exhibited are an entry point to an artistic practice, an invitation to meet the work of the artists who occupy the building, this place of life and experimentation. This time, the space is occupied by Sandra Volny, artist winner of the Montreal Studios 2019-2022 residency program. 

Situated at the intersection of the acoustic and the visual, Sandra Volny's practice explores sound perception as a vector of individual and collective imagination. In pursuit of a sustained interest in what she calls "surviving aural spaces’’1, she presents three behind-the-counter objects that are part of an ongoing research on the transformation of matter by exposure to sound. For the artist, space is composed of sound waves, fluid particles in motion that vibrate at different densities and through different temporalities. By listening carefully to her space, Volny attempts to capture its sensitive variations and to make visible the textures and colours that form what she describes as sound residues. The latter are those remains suspended in the tenuousness of spaces, in background noise or an echo. The three objects presented act as screens, which once entered in contact with sound, render the wave and the vibratory friction of sound visible. Usually intangible, or invisible to the naked eye, the physical presence of the audible is thus revealed in strata of colour. This a priori approach to the study of sound curiously recalls a pictorial experience, such as that of the painter's canvas. Each frame thus exemplifies different stages of Volny’s research and creation process within the studio. 

 

 


[1] Sandra Volny (2017). Survival of sound spaces. Auditory awareness and practices of body-sonar space [PhD thesis], Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne.

 

 This installation s made possible thanks to the generous support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

 

Sandra Volny

Sandra Volny is an artist and researcher. Her work develops through explorations of sound, moving image, photography, sculpture, text, and takes shape in installations, instruments and videos. She received her PhD in Arts and Sciences of Art from the University of Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne exploring the concept of "surviving aural spaces" in its material, sensory and social constellations. Her most recent work explores sonic soils as witnesses to climate change from a non-anthropocentric perspective, realized in collaboration with researchers in biology and environmental sciences. Volny has exhibited her work in Canada and Europe, including at the Dazibao Centre, FOFA Gallery, the Clark Centre Audio Station, the Centre d'Exposition de l'Université de Montréal, the Fonderie Darling’s Place Publique, Michel Journiac Gallery, the Ionion Center for the Arts and Culture, and Raumlabor 267- Braunschweig. Volny is the founder of the artistic research platform Sound and Space Research.

Sandra Volny  /  Études sur l’exposition de la matière au son

Au fil des expositions qui se succèdent, le mur derrière le comptoir de l’accueil est devenu un lieu privilégié pour offrir une visibilité aux artistes en résidences à la Fonderie Darling. Propositions in situ, œuvres récentes ou recherches en cours ; les projets exposés sont un point d’entrée vers une pratique artistique, une invitation à rencontrer le travail des artistes qui occupent le bâtiment, ce lieu de vie et d’expérimentation. L’espace est cette fois investi par Sandra Volny, artiste lauréate du programme de résidence Ateliers Montréalais 2019-2022. 

 

Située à l’intersection de l’acoustique et du visuel, la pratique de Sandra Volny explore la perception sonore comme vecteur de l’imaginaire individuel et collectif. Dans la poursuite d’un intérêt soutenu pour ce qu’elle nomme “la survivance des espaces sonores”1, elle présente une série d’études sur la manière dont la matière peut se transformer au contact du son, une recherche en cours matérialisée dans les trois objets derrière le comptoir. Pour l’artiste, l’espace est composé d’ondes sonores, de particules fluides en mouvements qui vibrent à différentes densités et à travers différentes temporalités. En écoutant attentivement son espace, Volny tente d’en saisir les variations sensibles et de voir apparaître des surfaces, des textures et même des couleurs qui sont marquées par ce qu'elle qualifie de résidus sonores. Ces derniers sont ces restes en suspension dans l'écho, dans la ténuité des espaces, dans le bruit de fond. Les trois objets présentés agissent ainsi comme des écrans, qui au contact du son laissent apparaître l’impact, l’onde et le frottement vibratoire de ce dernier. Habituellement invisible à l’oeil nu et intangible, la présence physique de l’audible est ainsi révélée en strates de couleur d’une manière où une démarche a priori sonore rappelle curieusement une expérience picturale, le canvas du peintre. Chaque cadre témoigne ainsi de différentes étapes du processus de recherche et de création au sein de l'atelier. 

 


[1] Sandra Volny (2017). Survivance des espaces sonores. Conscience auditive et pratiques de l’espace du corps-sonar [thèse doctorale], Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne.

 

Cette installation bénéficie d'un soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada.

 

Sandra Volny

Sandra Volny est une artiste et chercheuse. Son travail se développe à travers le son, l’image en mouvement, la photographie, la sculpture, le texte, et prend forme dans des installations, des instruments et des vidéos. Elle a obtenu un doctorat en Arts et Sciences de l’Art de l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne en explorant le concept de « la survivance des espaces sonores » dans ses constellations matérielles, sensorielles et sociales. Ses plus récents travaux explorent les sols sonores en tant que témoins du changement climatique dans une perspective non anthropocentrique, en collaboration avec des chercheurs en biologie et en sciences environnementales. Volny a exposé son travail au Canada et en Europe, notamment au centre Dazibao, à la galerie FOFA, au poste audio du Centre Clark, au Centre d’Exposition de l’Université de Montréal, à la Place Publique de la Fonderie Darling, à la galerie Michel Journiac, au Ionion Center for the Arts and Culture, et au centre Raumlabor 267- Braunschweig. Volny est fondatrice de la plateforme de recherche artistique Sound and Space Research.