Gare de Matapédia : art centre and mediation activities

PRESENTATION

Quartier Éphémère and the art centre Vaste et Vague have joined forces to set up an artistic and cultural centre in the heart of the municipality of Matapédia, in a natural setting as grandiose as it is inspiring. This project in contemporary visual arts highlights the local heritage. It integrates artists' residencies, an exhibition on the heritage of the train station, a gallery space, art activities open studios events. It aims to create a meeting place, to bring art closer to the communities and to offer both a place of creation outside the metropolitan area to Quebec artists, as well as an opportunity for artists from the Gaspé Peninsula to stay in Montreal.

THE STATION

Still in operation, the Matapedia train station is a heritage building representative of the history of regional development by train. The project will preserve the authenticity of the building and enhance it. A train station is a space that invites you to let yourself be carried away by an imagination of travel and discovery. It is also a place of encounters, a place of arrivals and new departures. VIA Rail supports this project by allowing the use of a large part of the building while preserving the use of the waiting room by train passengers.

A PROJECT ANCHORED IN THE COMMUNITY

The Matapedia train station is located in the heart of the village and is in line with the Belvedere road, the tourist information, the recently renovated church, the community garden and the local businesses nearby. Collaborations are planned with the École des Deux-Rivières de Matapédia. Partnerships with three local community and cultural organizations will also allow the population to benefit from activities and services on site. The opening of this new space will contribute to the municipality's dynamism while reinforcing the social ties within the community and developing a sense of belonging through the valorization of a railway heritage building, a symbol of ecological values and the development of the municipality at the very beginning of the 20th century.

CALL FOR PHOTOS

The Matapedia train station and the railroad in general have strongly contributed to the economic and social development of the Gaspé Peninsula. The first exhibition in the train station will be dedicated to the development of this more than one hundred year old building, registered as a National Heritage Site, and to the many people who worked there. A call is launched to the population to share their old or recent photos. The most significant of them will be published in the form of a postcard.

To share your photos, please visit this Facebook group or send them to us by email at: info@fonderiedarling.org

PILOT EXCHANGE: MATAPEDIA-MONTREAL ARTIST RESIDENCIES

2 artists from Quebec outside of the Gaspé / 2 artists from the Gaspé - 3-month creative residency

The Matapedia train station is a heritage building whose original architecture is intact. It evokes the development of the regions by train and multiple journeys, witnesses of different eras. The Matapedia train station becomes a creative workshop space for two three-month residencies as part of this pilot project.

Reciprocally, the project also gives artists from the Gaspé region access to creation and dissemination spaces in an urban setting at the Fonderie Darling, in the historically rich premises of a former industrial building in the heart of Old Montreal.

The project includes, in addition to the creative residency, a workshop or activity component linked to the communities, both in Matapedia and in Montreal, either in schools or with partner community organizations. It can be a participatory project, art workshops, discussions, public performances, public art or other.

CALL FOR APPLICATION 

Deadline: May 2nd, 2021

Residencies in Matapedia

The project offers the opportunity to two Quebec artists living outside of the Gaspé Peninsula to carry out a three-month creative residency in the fall of 2021 or the winter of 2022. The selected artists will have a studio at the Matapedia train station and accommodation in the community.

Learn more / Submit a proposal

Residencies in Montreal

Reciprocally, two artists from Gaspé Peninsula will be able to benefit from a three-month creative residency in the fall of 2021. The selected artists will be hosted in Fonderie Darling's live-in studios.

Learn more / Submit a proposal

 

 

ART CENTER VASTE ET VAGUE (CARLETON-SUR-MER) 

Founded in 1990 in Carleton-sur-Mer, the art centre Vaste et Vague favours research and experimentation in current art practices and modes of dissemination. Its active role at the regional, provincial, national and international levels is based on a program of research and creation residencies as well as on various modes of dissemination: productions and exhibitions within or outside the city, events, digital platforms and publications.

* Quartier Éphémère and the art centre Vaste et Vague would like to thank the Municipality of Matapédia, Via Rail Canada, the Canada Council for the Arts, Innergex and Boralex for their generous support.

Gare de Matapédia : pôle artistique et activités de médiation

PRÉSENTATION 

Quartier Éphémère et le Centre d’artistes Vaste et Vague s’associent pour mettre en place un pôle artistique et culturel au cœur de la vie de la municipalité de Matapédia, dans une nature aussi grandiose qu’inspirante. Ce projet en arts visuels actuels met en valeur le patrimoine local. Il intègre des résidences d’artistes, une exposition sur le patrimoine de la gare, un espace de diffusion, des activités en arts et des ateliers portes ouvertes. Il vise à créer un lieu de rencontres, à rapprocher l’art des communautés et à offrir à la fois un lieu de création hors des métropoles à des artistes québécois, et un rayonnement en zone urbaine à des artistes de la Gaspésie.  

LA GARE

Toujours en service, la Gare de Matapédia est un bâtiment patrimonial représentatif de l’histoire du développement des régions par le train. Le projet permettra à la fois de préserver l’authenticité du bâtiment et de le mettre en valeur. Une gare est un espace qui invite à se laisser porter par un imaginaire de voyages et de découvertes. C’est aussi un lieu de rencontres, un lieu d’arrivées et de nouveaux départs. Favorisant l’engagement social et communautaire durable, VIA Rail appuie ce projet en permettant l’utilisation d’une grande partie du bâtiment tout en préservant son utilisation par les voyageurs du train.  

UN PROJET ANCRÉ DANS LA COMMUNAUTÉ

La Gare de Matapédia est située au cœur du village et s’inscrit en complémentarité avec la route des Belvédères, l’information touristique, l’église récemment rénovée, le jardin communautaire et les commerces locaux à proximité. Des collaborations sont prévues avec l’École des Deux-Rivières de Matapédia. Des partenariats avec trois organismes communautaires et culturels locaux permettront aussi à la population de bénéficier d’activités et de services sur place. L’ouverture de ce nouvel espace contribuera au dynamisme de la municipalité tout en renforçant le lien social au sein de la communauté et en développant un sentiment d’appartenance par la valorisation d’un bâtiment patrimonial ferroviaire, symbole de valeurs écologiques et du développement de la municipalité au tout début du XXème siècle.

APPEL À PHOTOS

La Gare de Matapédia et le chemin de fer en général ont fortement contribué au développement économique et social de la Gaspésie. La première exposition dans la Gare sera consacrée à la mise en valeur de ce bâtiment plus que centenaire, inscrit au Patrimoine National, et aux nombreuses personnes qui y ont travaillé. Un appel est lancé à la population pour nous faire parvenir leurs photos anciennes ou récentes. Les plus significatives d’entre elles seront éditées sous la forme de carte postale. 

Pour partager vos photos, merci de visiter ce groupe Facebook ou de nous les faire parvenir par courriel à l'adresse : info@fonderiedarling.org

VISUEL À PARTAGER

 

ÉCHANGE PILOTE : RÉSIDENCES D’ARTISTES MATAPÉDIA-MONTRÉAL

2 artistes du Québec hors Gaspésie / 2 artistes de la Gaspésie – Résidence de création de 3 mois

La Gare de Matapédia est un bâtiment patrimonial dont l’architecture initiale est intacte. Elle évoque le développement des régions par le train et de multiples voyages, témoins des différentes époques. La Gare de Matapédia devient un espace-atelier de création, pour deux résidences de trois mois, dans le cadre de ce projet pilote.

Réciproquement, le projet s’ouvre également aux artistes de la Gaspésie l’accès à des espaces de création et de diffusion en milieu urbain à la Fonderie Darling, dans les lieux chargés d’histoire d’un ancien bâtiment industriel, au cœur du Vieux-Montréal.

Le projet comporte, en plus de la résidence de création, un volet ateliers ou activités en lien avec les communautés, tant à Matapédia qu’à Montréal, soit dans les écoles ou avec des organismes communautaires partenaires. Il peut s’agir d’un projet participatif, d’ateliers d’art, de discussions, de performances publiques, art public ou autres.

 

APPELS À CANDIDATURES

Date limite : 2 mai 2021

Résidences à Matapédia

Le projet offre la possibilité à deux artistes du Québec vivant hors Gaspésie de réaliser une résidence de création d’une durée de trois mois à l’automne 2021 ou à l’hiver 2022. Les artistes sélectionnés disposeront d’un atelier à la Gare de Matapédia et d’un hébergement dans la communauté.

En savoir plus / Soumettre une proposition

Résidences à Montréal

Réciproquement, deux artistes de la Gaspésie pourront bénéficier d’une résidence de création d’une durée de trois mois à l’automne 2021. Les artistes sélectionnés seront accueillis dans les ateliers-logements de la Fonderie Darling.

En savoir plus / Soumettre une proposition

 

À PROPOS DU CENTRE D’ARTISTES VASTE ET VAGUE

Fondé en 1990 à Carleton-sur-Mer,  le Centre d’artistes Vaste et Vague privilégie la recherche et l’expérimentation dans les pratiques et les modes de diffusion en art actuel. Son rôle actif à l’échelle régionale, provinciale, nationale et internationale s’appuie sur un programme de résidences de recherche et création ainsi que sur des modes de diffusion variés : productions et expositions intra ou extra-muros, événements, plateformes numériques et publications.

 

* Quartier Éphémère et le Centre d'artistes Vaste et Vague tiennent à remercier la Municipalité de Matapédia, Via Rail Canada, le Conseil des arts du Canada, Innergex et Boralex pour leur généreux soutien.