Pilot exchange: Matapédia-Montreal

The Matapedia train station is a heritage building whose original architecture is intact. It evokes the development of the regions by train and multiple journeys, witnesses of different eras. The Matapedia train station becomes a creative workshop space for two three-month residencies as part of this pilot project.

Reciprocally, the project also gives artists from the Gaspé region access to creation and dissemination spaces in an urban setting at the Fonderie Darling, in the historically rich premises of a former industrial building in the heart of Old Montreal.

The project includes, in addition to the creative residency, a workshop or activity component linked to the communities, both in Matapedia and in Montreal, either in schools or with partner community organizations. It can be a participatory project, art workshops, discussions, public performances, public art or other.

Residencies in Matapedia

The project offers the opportunity to two Quebec artists living outside of the Gaspé Peninsula to carry out a three-month creative residency in the fall of 2021 or the winter of 2022. The selected artists will have a studio at the Matapedia train station and accommodation in the community.

Residencies in Montreal

Reciprocally, two artists from Gaspé Peninsula will be able to benefit from a three-month creative residency in the fall of 2021. The selected artists will be hosted in Fonderie Darling's live-in studios.

 

2021 LAUREATES 

Residencies at the Matapédia Train Station: 

Bridging between anthropology and media arts, Frédéric Lavoie’s practice involves the production of narratives, group portraits or thematic analyses using archives - film, paper or digital - as his main materials. During his residency, he intends to develop a visual and sound research focused on mycology and its regional species.

As a multidisciplinary artist, Mégane Voghell is interested in the seductive power of images in the post-truth era. Mixing epistolary writing with mise en scènes, her practice explores different narrative devices to question the world of the living, to discern between its representations and its realities. During her residency at the Matapédia train station, she wishes to pursue her research on the influence that digital tools have on the way humans interact with their natural environment. 

Residencies at Fonderie Darling :  

Élise Dubé works with fibres to create two-dimensional works and site-specific installations. Using textile techniques as a common language, her practice is rooted in a relational approach in which the public becomes a central element in a creation process that explores an existing tension between  the impulse to destroy and the need to repair, to collect, and to tether. During her residency at Fonderie Darling she hopes to connect with young audiences through a participatory approach to cultural mediation activities. 

Maryse Goudreau is a multidisciplinary artist who creates works that combine images, documents, and participatory gestures of care. Through a hybrid approach combining photography, videography and immersive devices, she attempts to liberate images from their static relationship to official history, to create narrative, literary spaces where memory serves as a weapon. During her residency at Fonderie Darling, she will continue her research on beluga whales by developing a visual and sound installation.

  

 

ABOUT THE ARTIST RUN CENTRE VASTE ET VAGUE (CARLETON-SUR-MER) 

Founded in 1990 in Carleton-sur-Mer, the artist-run centre Vaste et Vague favours research and experimentation in current art practices and modes of dissemination. Its active role at the regional, provincial, national and international levels is based on a program of research and creation residencies as well as on various modes of dissemination: productions and exhibitions within or outside the city, events, digital platforms and publications.

 

*Quartier Éphémère and the Centre d'artistes Vaste et Vague would like to thank the Municipality of Matapédia, VIA Rail Canada, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, Innergex and Boralex for their generous support.

Échange pilote Montréal-Matapédia

La Gare de Matapédia est un bâtiment patrimonial dont l’architecture initiale est intacte. Elle évoque le développement des régions par le train et de multiples voyages, témoins des différentes époques. La Gare de Matapédia devient un espace-atelier de création, pour deux résidences de trois mois, dans le cadre de ce projet pilote.

Réciproquement, le projet s’ouvre également aux artistes gaspésiens l’accès à des espaces de création et de diffusion en milieu urbain à la Fonderie Darling, dans les lieux chargés d’histoire d’un ancien bâtiment industriel, au cœur du Vieux-Montréal. 

Le projet comporte, en plus de la résidence de création, un volet ateliers ou activités en lien avec les communautés, tant à Matapédia qu’à Montréal, soit dans les écoles ou avec des organismes communautaires partenaires. Il peut s’agir d’un projet participatif, d’ateliers d’art, de discussions, de performances publiques, art public ou autres.

Résidences à Matapédia

Le projet offre la possibilité à deux artistes québécois vivant hors Gaspésie de réaliser une résidence de création d’une durée de trois mois à l’automne 2021 ou à l’hiver 2022. Les artistes sélectionnés disposeront d’un atelier à la Gare de Matapédia et d’un hébergement dans la communauté.  

Résidences à Montréal 

Réciproquement, deux artistes de la Gaspésie pourront bénéficier d’une résidence de création d’une durée de trois mois à l’automne 2021. Les artistes sélectionnés seront accueillis dans les ateliers-logements de la Fonderie Darling. Leur encadrement et leur réseautage professionnel sont pris en charge par l’équipe, l’accès à l’atelier technique et la supervision par les techniciens permettent d’accompagner la production d’un projet artistique. Une attention particulière est portée aux situations familiales des artistes et leur regroupement sera facilité.



ARTISTES LAURÉATS 2021

Résidences à la Gare de Matapédia : 

Mêlant anthropologie et arts médiatiques, Frédéric Lavoie produit des récits, des portraits de groupe ou des analyses thématiques utilisant les archives - filmique, papier ou numérique - comme matériel principal. Au cours de cette résidence de création, il compte développer une recherche visuelle et sonore centrée sur la mycologie et ses espèces régionales.

Artiste multidisciplinaire, Mégane Voghell s’intéresse au pouvoir de séduction des images à l’ère de la post-vérité. Mêlant une écriture épistolaire à la création de mises en scène, elle explore différents dispositifs narratifs pour questionner le monde du vivant, entre ses représentations et ses réalités. Au cours de sa résidence à la Gare de Matapédia, elle souhaite poursuivre ses réflexions sur l’influence des outils numériques sur la façon dont l’humain interagit avec l’environnement naturel. 

Résidences à la Fonderie Darling : 

Élise Dubé travaille avec les fibres textiles pour créer des œuvres bidimensionnelles et des installations in situ. Utilisant les techniques textiles comme langage commun, sa pratique s’inscrit dans une approche relationnelle où les échanges avec les publics est un élément central dans la création d’œuvres qui explorent la zone d’écart entre l’impulsion d’éroder et le besoin de réparer, d’accumuler, de lier. Au cours de sa résidence à la Fonderie Darling, elle souhaite tisser des liens avec de jeunes publics dans une approche participative. 

Artiste multidisciplinaire, Maryse Goudreau réalise des œuvres où se croisent images, documents, gestes de soin artistiques et participatifs. Par une approche hybride jumelant la photographie, l’essai vidéographique et les dispositifs immersifs, elle tente de libérer les images de leur relation statique à l’histoire officielle, de créer des espaces narratifs, littéraires où la mémoire est une arme. Au cours de sa résidence à la Fonderie Darling, elle poursuivra ses recherches sur le béluga en développant une installation visuelle et sonore.



À PROPOS DU CENTRE D’ARTISTES VASTE ET VAGUE

Fondé en 1990 à Carleton-sur-Mer,  le Centre d’artistes Vaste et Vague privilégie la recherche et l’expérimentation dans les pratiques et les modes de diffusion en art actuel. Son rôle actif à l’échelle régionale, provinciale, nationale et internationale s’appuie sur un programme de résidences de recherche et création ainsi que sur des modes de diffusion variés : productions et expositions intra ou extra-muros, événements, plateformes numériques et publications. 

Quartier Éphémère et le Centre d’artistes Vaste et Vague tiennent à remercier la Municipalité de Matapédia, VIA Rail Canada, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts et lettre du Québec, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, Innergex et Boralex pour leur généreux soutien.