The New Region of the World

Fonderie Darling is pleased to host curator, art critic, and anthropological researcher James Oscar for a year-long research residency. Developed under the title The New Region of the World*, James Oscar’s curatorial research project aims to rethink the current global conversation regarding the remapping of contemporary art and contemporary thought, the primary focus being that it is time to rethink the way we question the age-old certainties that have characterized the West's framing of questions of beauty, aesthetics, and cultural production.

 

The New Region of The World 
Volume 000 of The Contemporary Thinking Forum

As a project integrated into this year’s public programming at Fonderie Darling, The New Region of the World is divided into three parts, including a series of lectures, public panels with invited guests, as well as documented studio visits and interviews.

James Oscar's propositions will begin in the footsteps of his mentor, Martinique philosopher and, poet Édouard Glissant, in an examination of the frenetic global reception of Glissant’s work within contemporary art realms. The New Region of the World seeks to present a reconsideration and recomplication of recent dialogues about Glissant’s legacy while presenting James Oscar’s own theoretical framework concerning these questions. 

With a goal of exploring a very personal remapping of art history and practice, James Oscar’s interviews, writings, lectures, and curatorial initiatives will move through the present proliferating admixture of interest (obsession) with topics such as: our artefact, our all-consuming contemporary rapport with objects, compulsion, architecture, monuments, artifice, the cosmological, liminality, threshold, night & night-life, spectacle, entertainment, the melding or separation of ancient voice/contemporary voice, haunting (the "phantomal"), opacity, social identity, representation, recognition, cosmopolitanism, the non-human, nature/culture, polis, non-space/third and fourth type of spaces, the local, the transnational, exile, neurodiversity, multidisciplinary, performance/movement, precarity, production, and transmission.

The New Region of the World will look at how all of these are furiously being stirred together or stirred apart in our present era: how might the artist’s vision as contemplator offer a respite above the heady speed of our now?

*Esthétique : une nouvelle région du monde is the title of a publication by Édouard Glissant. In contrast to Glissant's title referring to the specificity of "a new region of the world," Oscar has chosen to name his project "the new region of the world," evoking the present pulsating and generalized now that illustrates how this "region" is currently unfolding.

 

*This Public Program is made possible thanks to the generous support of Ruby Thelot



 

INTRODUCTORY VIDEO 



 

COSMOPOLITICS ON THE MOVE

A conversation between Chantal Pontbriand and James Oscar

Chantal Pontbriand is an internationally renowned curator, editor and essayist. Her latest book bears the title The Contemporary, The Common: Art in a Globalizing World. As early as 1975, one notes that in the editorial of the first issue of the magazine PARACHUTE she founded in Montreal, Pontbriand already wonders about ways to think out new forms and trends in contemporary art. Both cultural and artistic decompartmentalization adjoined to a multiplicity of geographical perspectives is claimed for: a pathway emblematic of her work to come.

As part of this interview conducted for the public programs of Fonderie Darling, ideas intersect around the concept of "new region of the world" proposed by James Oscar. Counter-narratives in relation to the way we currently think of cultural production are examined. Among the subjects discussed, gesture, intensity, community, the relationship between individual/collectivity/world, and cosmopolitics are center stage.



 

Beyond Exoticisms, Yuku, and Towards the New Regions of the World

A conversation between Rame Cuen and James Oscar

Rame Cuen is a transdisciplinary artist and the founder and director of La Clìnica, a center for design research and contemporary art at the intersection of health and social inquiries based in the city of Oaxaca, Mexico. He is a graduate of the master's degree in Media Arts & Film from The New School (2010), has studied at the International Center of Photography (2000) and Parsons School of Design (2016). His work has been distinguished by a transdisciplinary approach in the visual arts, in which music play a primary role. He has developed and participated in various collective and individual exhibitions presented in the United States, Mexico, China, London and Argentina. He was the director of the Museum of Contemporary Art of Oaxaca in 2012 and is a founding member of the Belber Jiménez Museum in Oaxaca. Carnales Bajo el Puente (2002), The last dance (2012) and Liberty is suicide (2021) are some of his publications.

In this video, James Oscar dialogues Rame Cuen regarding dispositives that have come to set up how imaginaries are formed and how artists and curators can think about “new regions” and new practices that are always present and acting as means of resistance. They speak about Rame’s art practice, his curatorial approach, and his new space La Clinica, a former hospital belonging to his family that now is operating as a hub of contemporary art and thinking in Mexico.

La nouvelle région du monde

La Fonderie Darling est heureuse d’accueillir le commissaire et critique d’art James Oscar pour une résidence d’un an. Élaborée sous le titre La nouvelle région du monde, l’ambitieux projet de recherche de James Oscar cherche à repenser la conversation mondiale actuelle relative à la recartographie de l'art contemporain et de la pensée contemporaine, l'objectif principal étant qu'il est temps de revoir la façon dont nous questionnons les certitudes séculaires qui ont caractérisé le cadrage occidental des questions de beauté, d'esthétique et de production culturelle.

La nouvelle région du monde
Volume 000 du « Contemporary Thinking Forum »

En tant que projet intégré aux programmes publics de la Fonderie Darling pour cette année, La nouvelle région du monde est divisé en trois parties, y compris une série de conférences, de tables rondes publiques avec des invités, ainsi que des visites d’atelier et des interviews.

Les propositions de James Oscar vont commencer dans le sillage de son mentor, le philosophe et poète martiniquais Édouard Glissant, tout en examinant la réception mondiale frénétique de l’œuvre de Glissant à l’intérieur des domaines de l’art contemporain. La nouvelle région du monde cherche à présenter un réexamen et une complexification des dialogues contemporains sur l’héritage de Glissant, tout en présentant la cadre théorique développé par James Oscar par rapport à ces questions.

Dans le but d’envisager une nouvelle cartographie très personnelle de l’histoire et de la pratique de l’art, les entretiens, les écrits, les conférences et les initiatives de commissariat de James Oscar se déplaceront à travers l’actuel mélange proliférant d’intérêt (voire d’obsession) pour des sujets tels que: les objets, les mouvements, les artefacts, l’architecture, les monuments, les troisième et quatrième types d’espace, la précarité, l’artifice, la cosmologie, la liminalité, le seuil, la vie nocturne, la voix ancienne, la voix contemporaine, la hantise (le fantomatique), l’opacité, l’identité sociale complexe, la multidisciplinarité, le non-humain, la nature, la culture, la polis, l’espace alternatif, le cosmopolitisme, la représentation, le local, le transnational, l’exil, l’obsession, la neurodiversité et la transmission. La nouvelle région du monde se penchera sur la façon dont tous ces éléments sont furieusement intégrés ou désintégrés à notre époque: comment la vision de l’artiste comme contemplateur offre-t-elle un répit au-dessus du rythme grisant de notre moment actuel?

*Esthétique: une nouvelle région du monde est le titre d’un ouvrage d’Édouard Glissant.

*Ce programme public est rendu possible grâce au généreux soutien de Ruby Thelot. 

 

VIDÉO INAUGURALE

 

UNE COSMOPOLITIQUE EN MOUVEMENT

Une conversation entre Chantal Pontbriand et James Oscar 

 

Chantal Pontbriand est commissaire, éditrice et essayiste de renommée internationale. Son dernier livre s’intitule The Contemporary, The Common: Art in a Globalizing. On note que dès 1975, dans l’éditorial du premier numéro de la revue PARACHUTE qu’elle a fondée à Montréal, Pontbriand s'interroge dèjà sur la façon de penser tant les nouvelles formes que les nouveaux enjeux de l’art contemporain.  Un décloisonnement tant culturel qu’artistique, accompagné d’une multiplicité de perspectives géographiques y est revendiqué, ce qui est emblématique de son parcours.

Dans le cadre de cet entretien réalisé pour les programmes publics de la Fonderie Darling, les idées s’entrecroisent autour du concept de « nouvelle région du monde » proposée par James Oscar. On y donne libre-cours à des contre-récits par rapport à la manière dont nous pensons la production culturelle actuelle. Y sont abordées entre autres les notions de geste, d’intensité, de communauté, de la relation individu/collectivité/monde, et de cosmopolitique.

James Oscar, commissaire et chercheur, réalise une résidence de recherche d’un an à la Fonderie Darling. Élaborée sous le titre La nouvelle région du monde, cet ambitieux projet cherche à repenser la conversation qui a cours visant à cartographier différemment l’art contemporain. Il s’agit de revoir la façon parfois canonique dont nous mettons en doute les certitudes séculaires qui ont caractérisé le cadrage occidental des questions de beauté, d’esthétique et de production culturelle et de proposer des alternatives.