Marion Lessard

Marion Lessard is a collective of five people represented by one entity composed of Marie Cherbat-Schiller, Alice Roussel, Jean- Nicolas Léonard, Claude Romain, and Élisabeth M. Larouine. Its unconventional structure—simultaneously individual and collective—acts as a trick mirror that reflects the paradoxes of coexistence. Playing with notions of individuality, originality and identity, the collective interrogates linguistic, socio-political, psychic and logical structures that order Western societies.

The collective makes use of a variety of mediums such as video installation, literature, drawing and the artist book, but privileges a performative approach that goes beyond the exhibition context, and blurs the distinction between life and art, presence and representation.

Cogir Real Estate is the generous sponsor of Marion Lessard’s studio for 2021. Marion Lessard’s studio was sponsored by the generous support of Québecor in 2019.

Biography

Marion Lessard studied philosophy at l’Université de Montreal and has an MFA in Studio Arts from Concordia University. Their artistic projects and academic achievements were supported by numerous grants and awarded many distinctions. They have published several artist books, including Surface(s) edited by Claude Glass Press in 2018, L’inventaire in 2014 and Logo-Gloo ou l’anti-logis commode in 2013.

Recent exhibitions

2020

Doublures, Dazibao, Montreal

2019

Quiproquo, exposition collective, Galerie Quine, Montreal

2018

Traces et effets de la forme nominale palindromique au sein des structures urbanistiques et sociales lavalloises, Verticale - Centre d’artistes, Laval (QC)
A est a si A is a est A, Sightings, Leonard & Bina Ellen Gallery, Montreal
Triennale Banlieue ! : Là où se prépare le futur, group show, Maison des Arts de Laval, Laval (QC)
Maureen III, group show of MFA students from Concordia University, Darling Foundry

2017

Définitions anagrammatiques, Dare-Dare, Montreal
RIMAV 22, group show, Galerie de l’UQO, Gatineau (QC)
Ignition 13, group show, Leonard & Bina Ellen Gallery, Montreal

Marion Lessard

Marion Lessard est un collectif de cinq personnes incarnées en un seul corps, composé de Marie Cherbat-Schiller, Alice Roussel, Jean- Nicolas Léonard, Claude Romain et Élisabeth M. Larouine. Cette structure inhabituelle, à la fois individuelle et collective, agit à la façon d’un miroir trouble qui renvoie aux paradoxes du vivre-ensemble. En se jouant des notions d’individualité, d’originalité et d’identité, le collectif interroge les structures linguistiques, socio-politiques, psychiques et logiques qui régissent nos sociétés occidentales.

Le travail du collectif recourt à une grande variété de formes, telles l’installation vidéo, la littérature, le dessin et le livre d’artiste, mais privilégie par-dessus tout une approche performative qui déborde des contextes d’exposition et brouille les distinctions entre la vie et l’art, la présence et la représentation.

Cogir est le généreux parrain d’atelier de Marion Lessard pour l’année 2021. L’atelier de l’artiste a été parrainé par le généreux soutien de Québecor pour l’année 2019.

Biographie

Marion Lessard a étudié la philosophie à l’Université de Montréal et détient une maîtrise en Studio Arts de l’Université Concordia. Ses projets artistiques et son parcours académique ont été soutenus par de nombreuses bourses et distinctions. Ils ont publié plusieurs livres d’artistes, dont Surface(s) édité par Claude Glass Press en 2018, L’Inventaire en 2014 et Logo-Gloo ou l’anti-logis commode en 2013.

Expositions récentes

2020

Doublures, Dazibao, Montréal 

2019

Quiproquo, exposition collective, Galerie Quine, Montréal

2018

Traces et effets de la forme nominale palindromique au sein des structures urbanistiques et sociales lavalloises, Verticale - Centre d’artistes, Laval (QC)
A est a si A is a est A, Sightings, Leonard & Bina Ellen Gallery, Montréal
Triennale Banlieue ! : Là où se prépare le futur, exposition collective, Maison des Arts de Laval, Laval (QC)
Maureen III, exposition collective des étudiants MFA Concordia, Fonderie Darling 

2017

Définitions anagrammatiques, Dare-Dare, Montréal
RIMAV 22, exposition collective, Galerie de l’UQO, Gatineau (QC)
Ignition 13, exposition collective, Leonard & Bina Ellen Gallery, Montréal