Tu m'enveloppes et je te contiens

CHRISTOPHE BARBEAU

SAMEER FAROOQ                           

NAAKITA FELDMAN-KISS

STEVE GIASSON

ALEXIS GROS-LOUIS

ALEXIA LAFERTÉ COUTU

CATHERINE LESCARBEAU & MANOUSHKA LAROUCHE

MARION LESSARD

GUILLAUME ADJUTOR PROVOST

LAN FLORENCE YEE  

To celebrate its twentieth anniversary, Fonderie Darling is embarking on an introspective, self-critical and ambitious autumn programme, launched with the group exhibition Tu m'enveloppes et je te contiens [You envelop me and I contain you], which is on display in the two exhibition spaces as well as the basement of the buildings. Working with the theme of memory, ten artists were invited to revisit the history of the site by proposing original works created in response to its programming, to the objects in its art collection, to its architecture, or to its transition from its former status as an industrial ruin to that of a contemporary arts venue emblematic of Montreal's cultural scene.

Faithful or updated reconstructions, reactivations of works and appropriations are all interventions that serve as an anchor for rethinking the important cultural heritage of the site. Through an intellectual, material, engaged or critical appropriation of a subject, a historical fragment, or through a reflection on exhibition devices, the artists question the constructed nature of history and the archive, the way in which the present is superimposed on the past to leave an almost spectral trace of what was, the people who passed through it and the events that took place within the site. Through the eyes of the artists, this exhibition is an opportunity to introduce the public to the extraordinary history of the Fonderie Darling, while at the same time highlighting the plurality of narratives that constitute our sensorial relationship to the cultural consciousness of a place.

Such an approach seeks to multiply the points of view and results in an amalgam of diverse experiences: contemplative appreciations, conceptual metatheatre, plays on body and scale, and impressions of déjà vu are all registers explored by the artists to talk about the Fonderie Darling. Several of the artists operate according to gestures associated with curatorial practices, such as the act of filtering, synthesizing, framing, remembering, transforming a space or exhibiting an object. Taken from a declaration of love between two characters in Jean Genet's play Le Balcon, the evocative title Tu m'enveloppes et je te contiens [You envelop me and I contain you] subtly refers to the fusional relationship that can exist between the work of the artist and that of the curator, and the complex dynamics that feed into rethinking the form of the exhibition.

Tu m'enveloppes et je te contiens

CHRISTOPHE BARBEAU

SAMEER FAROOQ                           

NAAKITA FELDMAN-KISS

STEVE GIASSON

ALEXIS GROS-LOUIS

ALEXIA LAFERTÉ COUTU

CATHERINE LESCARBEAU & MANOUSHKA LAROUCHE

MARION LESSARD

GUILLAUME ADJUTOR PROVOST

LAN FLORENCE YEE  

Pour célébrer ses vingt ans, la Fonderie Darling s’engage dans une programmation d’automne introspective, autocritique et ambitieuse, lancée avec l’exposition de groupe Tu m’enveloppes et je te contiens qui se déploie dans les deux espaces d’exposition et au sous-sol des bâtiments. Sous le thème de la mémoire, dix artistes revisitent l’histoire du lieu en proposant des œuvres originales, créées en réponse à sa programmation, aux objets de sa collection d’œuvres d’art, à son architecture ou au passage de son ancien statut de friche industrielle à celui d’un lieu d’art actuel emblématique de la scène culturelle montréalaise.

Reconstitutions fidèles ou actualisées, réactivations d'œuvres et appropriations servent de point d’ancrage pour repenser cet héritage culturel important. Par une appropriation intellectuelle, matérielle, engagée ou critique d’un sujet, d’un fragment historique, ou à partir d’une réflexion sur les dispositifs d’expositions, les artistes s’interrogent sur la nature construite de l’histoire et de l’archive, sur la manière dont le présent se superpose au passé pour laisser une trace quasi spectrale de ce qui a été, des gens qui y sont passés et des événements qui y ont pris place. À travers le regard des artistes, cette exposition est l’occasion de découvrir  l’histoire extraordinaire de la Fonderie Darling, tout en valorisant la pluralité des récits qui constituent notre rapport sensible à la conscience culturelle d’un lieu.

Une telle démarche cherche à multiplier les points de vue et résulte dans un amalgame d’expériences diverses : appréciations contemplatives, mises en abyme conceptuelles, jeux de corps et d’échelles et impressions de déjà vu sont autant de registres explorés par les artistes pour parler de la Fonderie Darling. Plusieurs de ces derniers opèrent d’ailleurs selon des gestes associés aux pratiques du commissariat, comme l’acte de filtrer, de synthétiser, d’encadrer, de se remémorer, de transformer un espace ou d’exposer un objet. Extrait d’une déclaration d’amour entre deux personnages de la pièce de théâtre Le Balcon de Jean Genet, le titre évocateur Tu m’enveloppes et je te contiens réfère subtilement au rapport fusionnel qui peut exister  entre le travail de l’artiste et celui du commissaire, à cette dynamique complexe dont l’un et l’autre se nourrissent pour repenser la forme de l’exposition.