Darling New Haven

Quartier Éphémère, the non-profit organization that manages Fonderie Darling and Gare de Matapédia, and the Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop in Edinburgh are pleased to announce the launch of a new cross-residency program entitled Darling New Haven - a title that plays on the names and locations of the residency organizers to evoke an idyllic atmosphere. This cross-residency program between Quebec and Scotland is designed to facilitate an ongoing exchange between two cultural centers that are well rooted in their communities and are centred around the development of innovative practices. Based on artistic and cultural values, this cross-residency program promotes the continued presence of visual artists in each respective country.

Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop and Fonderie Darling have much in common: both have a strong commitment to artistic creation and production, provide support for dissemination through their exhibition spaces, and host numerous artists. The two centers also share a strong connection to their architecture and heritage. Both institutions have an international reach and their programming continuously affirms their commitment to experimental and exploratory practices, which makes them desirable residency sites.

Imagined as an experience focused on urban and rural settings, the two artists laureates will benefit from a long stay in the heart of welcoming metropoles, which will be extended by a journey into beautiful rural areas. In Quebec, the artist in resdience will spend 2 weeks at the Gare de Matapédia, a new artistic and community hub recently developed by Quartier Éphémère in a train station in the heart of Gaspesie's natural atmosphere. In Scotland, the artist will spend time within a group residency at Hospitalfield, an arts organization established in 1901, based in the coastal town of Arbroath. The experience of nature will thus be an important component of the program, which will allow access to facilities in the countryside while at the same time offering support through regional partnerships.

During both residencies, various events, public and professional meetings, studio visits and cultural excursions will be organized throughout the artist's stay in accordance with their interest.

  

QUEBEC RESIDENCY
September 1st - November 30th, 2023

Fonderie Darling is housed in a former industrial foundry with large spaces and offers inspiring facilities for creation and production. The residents benefit from a live-in studio of approximately 60m2, equipped with a kitchen corner, access to production facilities outfitted to work with wood, metal, ceramic, and CNC cutting. In the context of this residency, it invites the artist to stay at Gare de Matapédia, a new artistic and community hub in Gaspesie, a region known for the majesty of its landscapes. The artist will also be invited to occupy a creative studio space located in a former train station, a heritage space whose architecture remains intact, and to engage with the vastness and warmth of the Gaspesian community.

The residency at Fonderie Darling and Gare de Matapedia (addressed to artists based in Scotland) includes

• Roundtrip airfare Scotland to Montreal (up to 1500 CAD) and a train ticket to Matapedia 
• Weekly stipend of 400 CAD for 12 weeks, and a production budget of 1500 CAD 
• Grant of 3000 CAD
• Fee of 350 CAD for participating in public program activities  
• Access to production workshop
• Promotion and support program
• Ten-week stay in a live-in studio at Fonderie Darling, in Montreal
• Two-week studio at Gare de Matapédia and private housing aside, in Gaspesia 

 

SCOTLAND RESIDENCY
September 1st - November 30th, 2023

Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop is a centre for production, research and learning in the fields of sculpture and the visual arts. With a strong international reputation, the art centre attracts artists for its technical expertise in sculpture and its commitment to artistic research. Founded in 1987, Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop is now located in a building with a modern and minimalist design, and offers workshops with state-of-the-art equipment as well as studios. As part of this residency, Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop is partnering with the Hospitalfield, an organization dedicated to contemporary art and ideas close to the north-east coastal town of Arbroath, with a reputation as one of Scotland’s most important arts & crafts houses.

Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop’s purpose-built facilities offer a range of shared spaces, specially designed to accommodate contemporary sculptural practice. There are wood, metal and ceramic workshops alongside a foundry and 26 studios that house a community of practicing artists. Residents live in one of the fully equipped onsite apartments and have 24-hour access to their studios.

The residency at Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop (addressed to artists based in Quebec) includes: 

• Roundtrip airfare up to 1500 CAD and a train ticket to Arbroath 
• Weekly stipend of 400 CAD  for 10 weeks, and a production budget of 1500$ CAD
• Grant of 3000 CAD
• Fee of 350 CAD for participating in public program activities 
• Access to ESW’s workshops, wood, metal, ceramic, plaster and foundry 
• Promotion and support program
• Ten-week residency at Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop, in one of the on-site apartments 
• Two-week residency at Hospitalfield, in Arbroath, all meals are provided.




 

Candidates in this program must submit a complete package through the online form no later than midnight no later than midnight on February 6th, 2023 (UTC-4, Eastern Time). Only complete applications submitted through the online form will be considered.  

 

 

For more details, please refer to: residence@fonderiedarling.org or dan@edinburghsculpture.org.

 

 

 

PARTNERS :

Darling New Haven

Quartier Éphémère, l’organisme à but non lucratif gestionnaire de la Fonderie Darling, et le Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop à Édimbourg sont heureux d’annoncer le lancement d’un nouveau programme de résidences croisées intitulé Darling New Haven - un titre qui joue sur les noms et les localisations des organisateurs de la résidence pour évoquer une atmosphère idyllique. Cette résidence croisée entre le Québec et l’Écosse est conçue pour faciliter un échange continu entre deux centres culturels bien ancrés dans leurs communautés et développant des pratiques innovantes. Fondé sur des valeurs artistiques et humaines, ce programme de résidences croisées favorise la présence continue d'artistes visuels dans les pays réciproques.

Le Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop et la Fonderie Darling ont beaucoup de points communs :  toutes deux fortement engagées dans la création et la production artistiques, elles soutiennent la diffusion par le biais de leurs espaces d’exposition et accueillent de nombreux artistes. Les deux centres partagent également un fort attachement à l'architecture et au patrimoine. Les deux institutions rayonnent à l’international et leurs programmations confirment leurs engagements envers des pratiques expérimentales et exploratoires, ce qui leur confère un statut de choix comme lieu de résidence.

Imaginée comme une expérience axée sur les milieux urbains et ruraux, les deux artistes lauréats bénéficieront d'un long séjour au cœur de métropoles accueillantes, qui se prolongera par un voyage dans de belles régions rurales. Au Québec, l'artiste passera 2 semaines en résidence à la Gare de Matapédia, un nouveau pôle artistique et communautaire récemment développé par Quartier Éphémère dans une gare au cœur de la belle nature de la Gaspésie. En Écosse, l'artiste sera en résidence de groupe à Hospitalfield, une organisation artistique créée en 1901, basée dans la ville côtière d'Arbroath. L'expérience de la nature sera ainsi une composante importante du programme, qui permettra d'accéder à des installations dans la campagne et, par la même occasion, sera renforcée par des partenariats régionaux.

Durant les deux résidences, divers événements tels que des rencontres publiques et professionnelles, des visites d'ateliers et excursions culturelles sont organisées en fonction de l'intérêt de l'artiste et tout au long de son séjour.

RÉSIDENCE AU QUÉBEC
1er septembre - 30 novembre 2023

Installée dans une ancienne fonderie industrielle, la Fonderie Darling dispose de grands espaces et offre des installations inspirantes pour la création et la production. Hébergés dans l'ancien complexe industriel de la Fonderie Darling, les résidents bénéficient d'un studio d'environ 60 m2, équipé d'un coin cuisine, d'un accès aux ateliers de production incluant un atelier pour le bois, le métal, la céramique et la découpe CNC. Dans le cadre de cette résidence, le résident est également invité à séjourner deux semaines à la Gare de Matapédia, un nouveau pôle artistique et communautaire en Gaspésie, une région reconnue pour la majestuosité de ses paysages. L’artiste occupera un espace atelier de création localisé dans une ancienne gare de train, un espace patrimonial dont l’architecture est intacte, et de rencontrer la vaste et chaleureuse communauté gaspésienne.

La résidence à la Fonderie Darling et à la Gare de Matapédia (dédiée aux artistes de l’Écosse) comprend : 

• Billet d'avion aller-retour de l'Écosse à Montréal (jusqu'à 1 500 CAD) et un billet de train pour Matapédia
• Allocation hebdomadaire de 400 CAD pour 12 semaines et budget de production de 1500 CAD
• Cachet de 3000 CAD
• Cachet de 350 CAD pour des activités programmes publics
• Accès à l'atelier de production
• Programme de promotion et de soutien
• Studio de 10 semaines à la Fonderie Darling, à Montréal
• Studio de 2 semaines à la Gare de Matapédia et un logement privé en Gaspésie

  

RESIDENCE EN ÉCOSSE
1er septembre - 30 novembre 2023

Le Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop est un lieu où les artistes créent et développent des œuvres en étant soutenus par des techniciens dans des ateliers de production hautement équipés. Profitant d’une renommée internationale très favorable auprès des artistes du Québec, le centre d’art attire pour son expertise technique en sculpture et sa capacité à être à la fine pointe de la recherche dans le domaine. Fondé en 1987, le Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop est localisé aujourd'hui dans un bâtiment au design moderne et minimaliste, et propose des ateliers dotés d'équipements de pointe et des studios de création. Dans le cadre de cette résidence, Le Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop engage un partenariat avec le centre d’art et de recherche Hospitalfield, un organisme dédié à l'art contemporain et aux idées, située à proximité de la ville côtière d'Arbroath, au nord-est de l'Écosse. Hospitalfield a la réputation d'être l'une des plus importantes maisons d'art et d'artisanat d'Écosse.

Le bâtiment moderne et minimaliste du Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop, construit à cet effet, offre une série d'espaces partagés, spécialement conçus pour accueillir la pratique de la sculpture contemporaine. Le centre est équipé d’ateliers de bois, de métal et de céramique, d'une fonderie et possède 26 studios abritant une communauté d'artistes. Les résidents vivent dans l'un des appartements entièrement équipés du site et ont accès à leurs studios en tout temps.

La résidence au Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop (dédiée aux artistes du Québec) comprend : 

• Billet d'avion aller-retour (jusqu'à 1 500 CAD) et un billet de train pour Arbroath
• Allocation hebdomadaire de 400 CAD pendant 10 semaines, et un budget de production de 1500 CAD
• Cachet de 3000 CAD
• Cachet de 350 CAD pour des activités programmes publics
• Accès aux ateliers de l'ESW : bois, métal, céramique, plâtre et à la fonderie
• Programme de promotion et de soutien
• Résidence de 10 semaines à l'Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop, dans l'un des appartements du site
• Résidence de 2 semaines à Hospitalfield, à Arbroath (tous les repas sont inclus)

Les artistes qui appliquent à ce programme doivent soumettre un dossier complet via le formulaire d'application au plus tard le 6 février 2023 à minuit (UTC-4, heure de l'Est). Seules les candidatures complètes soumises via le formulaire seront évaluées. 

 

Pour plus d’information, veuillez vous référer à : residence@fonderiedarling.org ou dan@edinburghsculpture.org

 

 

 

PARTENAIRES :