Place Publique in Winter

TOUT SE CONFOND, APPARAÎT, PUIS S'EFFACE DE NOUVEAU

[Everything Merges, Emerges, then Fades Again]

For almost a year, the closing of museums, art centres, and non-commercial galleries has been one of the key strategies used to prevent the spread of a virus responsible for a devastating pandemic. While artworks are confined to exhibition rooms and our lives shift online to an excessive degree, the recognition of artists’ work starts being defined by an overriding condition: the dictates of a mediated hypervisibility. Ephemeral outdoor spaces open another possible AFK (away from keyboard) route to counter the online invisibility of certain practices or their too rapid absorption into the vortex of overproduction. In the current context of a sanitary and solitary winter, the Place Publique in front of Fonderie Darling’s buildings becomes a choice outdoor space of dissemination. The dire need for such spaces and their relevance is reflected in a principle that is commonly supported, now more than ever: art exists when seen. 

Located on a stretch of Ottawa Street between two imposing heritage buildings, Place Publique is a hybrid art space that makes an impact: its unique layout, its purpose of integrating art into an urban context, and its activist history inspire the collective imagination and stimulate artists to constantly explore its potential. Today, except for the presence of construction workers on job sites, Old Montreal is deserted and surrounded by a ghostly aura intensified by the glacial temperatures of the early winter months. To show the appeal of Place Publique and encourage community life in the neighbourhood, it seemed urgent to revive it. Having observed the uninterrupted activity of artists in the building, it became clear that the studio remains a productive and creative space, even in times of crisis. Who better to explore Place Publique in winter than those who look upon it from the windows of their studios every day?

Everything Merges, Emerges, then Fades Again assembles nine site-specific works created by the artists in the Montreal Studios, a long-term residency program at Fonderie Darling. Video projection, spontaneous performance, sound works, and sculptural installations will steadily appear one after another to occupy the street and interstices of the building until the spring. Hidden, fleeting, or plainly visible, the various works will respond to one another sequentially, in a straight line or in reverse, at times also taking a few detours. As though tracing the lines of a constellation, the artists respond to questions of renegotiated space and suspended time, while surveying the structure of our interior architectures; their voices vary between different positions—dystopia, detachment, dissent, or fantasy—revealing our many complex relationships to reality. Whether walking in the area by chance or on purpose, the pedestrians of Montreal are invited to make a detour and experience this route that imperceptibly leads to a process of identification and introspection.

Milly-Alexandra Dery 

Translated by Oana Avasilichioaei 

 
Feb. 11 
SIMON BELLEAU 
 
Annotations is an evolving video work by Simon Belleau visible in a window of the 250 Queen Street entrance, around the corner from Place Publique. Over weeks, the artist annotates the works of the artists in the exhibition as he sees them emerge in the space; his notes refer solely to objects and actions, deliberately eliminating any context. A schematic rendering of the tangible and played in a loop, this rear-screen projection reproduces the form of a blank page on which short phrases scroll. Although by its very essence, an artwork inevitably prompts commentary, these abridged annotations arise from a process of deconstruction that is in stark contrast to an extolment of critical discourse. The effort to synthesize and the desire to pare down introduce the idea that time and again the visual language of art will prevail over any justifications. Annotations sets up a dialogue with the other works, evolving with a slight delay and beginning when the first work is installed in the space and ending when the eight work and its annotation close the parenthesis.

Feb. 13
KARINE FRÉCHETTE 
 
While words allow us to reduce a work to its simplest expression, the filtering of visible phenomena reframes our experience of the world according to its most elementary geometry. A free observation of a post-Internet conception of landscape, Shadow Recorder 4V1 and Shadow Recorder 5V1 are sketches of ongoing research: How might line and colour embody the momentary experience of a moving shadow? Outside the confines of her studio, Karine Fréchette exposes two long swaths of sheer fabric to the elements, hanging them from metal structures like large flags fluttering on Place Publique. Studies of the effects of light due to variations in the solar cycle are associated with an analytical abstraction of forms and a process that emphasizes a repeated, asynchronous gesture. Methodical and meticulous, the latter allows the artist to make tangible an intangible fragment of reality, the transient experience of an opaque body intercepting light.

Feb. 17
JEANETTE JOHNS 
A window’s frame encloses the field of vision; it allows us to look into the distance or, quite the opposite, secretly observe the activity taking place within. After staring out a large window that gives onto a brick wall, Jeanette Johns began wondering what was happening in her neighbours’ studios, on the other side of her studio walls. Since gatherings have been reduced as much as possible, the artist imagines another mode of connecting through a life-size reproduction of the arched window in her studio, in which she has replaced the glass by mirrors. Set on the ground and tilted to face the upper floors of the studio building, Moon as Mirror in Search for Life offers an astute mise en abyme in which the artist can observe her own and others’ reflections, guess their presence inside the building by seeing their lights on. While our current human experience is characterized by distance, Johns explores the symbolism of this mirror-window as a means of communication, reflecting that life in the studio continues in isolation and out of the public gaze.
 
Feb. 20
PHILIPPE BATTIKHA
 
The reciprocity between the interior and exterior spaces of the studio and Place Publique is the starting point of several site-specific works of this project. Philippe Battikha extends the perimeter of the exhibition to the neighbouring streets by singling out a sound occasionally heard in Montreal, namely the whistle blast used to signal dynamite blasting. An air horn is concealed on the roof of Fonderie Darling, and the blaring sound of this device is modified to emit a warning signal in Morse code. Activated at irregular intervals, Save Our Souls creates a rupture in the urban soundscape with a gently ironic and subtly humorous gesture. Sending out the distress signal echoes the real sense of powerlessness felt by the Fonderie Darling community: How can the presence of art, artists, and cultural workers be assured in a neighbourhood beset by rampant real estate speculation? Just how long can the body tolerate to live in the middle of a perpetual construction site, surrounded by loud noises, vibrations, and debris?
 
Feb. 24 
MICHAEL EDDY 

Two works face each other: on one side, a sculpture of  the Na’vi protagonist of the blockbuster movie Avatar, and on the other, on a hanging banner, the image of an anonymous knight featured in the recruitment ads of Algorithme Pharma. On Place Publique, Michael Eddy draws a parallel between these two characters by examining the process of identifying with stories and myths, particularly through costume and personification. Neytiri and Allez au front pour la recherche refer to the manner by which certain characters become powerful tools for creating a form of fantastical militancy, experienced through fictional associations. The archetypes of the spiritual warrior and protector of her people and of the medieval hero modelled on the Jon Snow character from the hit series Game of Thrones embody the ideals of bravery and virtue that deeply resonate with the contemporary cultural imagination. In movies and advertising, the call to action—save one’s people, support medical research—gets associated with a progression from dehumanization to heroism. Entertainment, kitsch, populism, and ideology are thus intertwined; the polarization between reality and fiction gradually invades the public space and the media. Eddy’s work also reflects on his own experience at Fonderie Darling, a place that sometimes takes on the qualities of an isolated fortress in the middle of the Cité du Multimédia. While Ottawa Street has been the stage for much antagonism over the past decade, the artist imagines Place Publique as a mythical place, symbolizing a position of resistance against the transformation of an industrial neighbourhood into a neoliberal space.

March 05 
FRANCES ADAIR MCKENZIE
 

An awareness of the site inevitably guides the artists’ reflections and explorations in Place Publique; the works subtly accumulate, branching out into narratives that have resilience, resistance, and solidarity as their common thread. Untitled with Suet 2021 (After Joyce Wieland’s Solidarity 1973) is an assemblage of footwear cast in cement, coated in suet for the birds, and attached to a metal structure painted sky-blue. Beginning on the sidewalk, then veering into the street, Frances Adair Mckenzie’s work is a reference to an experimental film by Canadian artist Joyce Wieland, which documented a strike by the workers of the Dare Cookie Factory in Kitchener, Ontario, in the 1970s. The film shows dozens of female labourers’ feet shot in close-up as they march for equal pay and decent working conditions. In contrast to the images filmed by Wieland, Mckenzie’s cast feet are undisciplined and refuse to march in step; depending on the direction in which the toes are pointing, the line sometimes breaks up and sometimes goes backwards. Only two moulds were created to make the series; like History repeating itself, the shapes recur in a loop, giving the illusion of continuity and forward movement. To restrict these movements to the sculptural frame, Mckenzie draws inspiration from video animation processes, such as the walk cycle, and the editing techniques associated with the films of Dziga Vertov and the Russian avant-garde, such as sequential assemblage and geometric abstraction. A feminist homage and ode to difference and rebellion, Untitled with Suet 2021 (After Joyce Wieland’s Solidarity 1973) revisits, in sculpture, an experimental cinematic tradition that combines social consciousness with freedom of representation.

The artist dedicates this work to Ellen & Adam & Divina.

 

March 10
MARLON KROLL
 
March 15 
SANDRA VOLNY
 
To be determined  
MARION LESSARD
 

-

Place publique

Annotations is an evolving video work by Simon Belleau visible in a window of the 250 Queen Street entrance, around the corner from Place Publique. Over weeks, the artist annotates the works of the artists in the exhibition as he sees them emerge in the… See more

-

Place publique

While words allow us to reduce a work to its simplest expression, the filtering of visible phenomena reframes our experience of the world according to its most elementary geometry. A free observation of a post-Internet conception of landscape, Shadow… See more

-

Place publique

A window’s frame encloses the field of vision; it allows us to look into the distance or, quite the opposite, secretly observe the activity taking place within. After staring out a large window that gives onto a brick wall, Jeanette Johns began wondering… See more

-

Place publique

The reciprocity between the interior and exterior spaces of the studio and Place Publique is the starting point of several site-specific works of this project. Philippe Battikha extends the perimeter of the exhibition to the neighbouring streets by singling… See more

-

Place publique

Two works face each other: on one side, a sculpture of  the Na’vi protagonist of the blockbuster movie Avatar, and on the other, on a hanging banner, the image of an anonymous knight featured in the recruitment ads of Algorithme Pharma. On Place Publique,… See more

-

Place publique

An awareness of the site inevitably guides the artists’ reflections and explorations in Place Publique; the works subtly accumulate, branching out into narratives that have resilience, resistance, and solidarity as their common thread. Untitled with Suet… See more

Place Publique Hivernale

TOUT SE CONFOND, APPARAÎT, PUIS S'EFFACE DE NOUVEAU

Depuis près d’un an, la fermeture des musées, des centres d’art et des galeries non-commerciales est l’une des stratégies phares pour empêcher la propagation d’un virus responsable d’une pandémie ravageuse. Alors que les œuvres demeurent confinées à l’intérieur des salles d’expositions et que nos vies prennent un virage numérique excessif, la reconnaissance du travail des artistes se retrouve sous l’emprise d’une condition déterminante : l’impératif d’une hypervisibilité médiatique. Les espaces extérieurs éphémères ouvrent possiblement une troisième voie AFK « away from keyboard » pour contrer l’invisibilité de certaines pratiques en ligne, ou leur absorption trop rapide dans le vortex de la surproduction. Dans le contexte du présent hiver sanitaire et solitaire, la Place Publique devant les bâtiments de la Fonderie Darling devient un espace de diffusion extérieur privilégié. Le besoin criant de ce type de lieux et leur pertinence se reflètent dans un principe qui plus que jamais fait consensus : l’art existe lorsqu’il est vu. 

Située sur un tronçon de la rue Ottawa et délimitée par deux imposants bâtiments patrimoniaux de brique rouge, la Place Publique est un lieu artistique hybride qui marque les esprits: l’unicité de son aménagement, sa vocation à intégrer l’art au contexte urbain et son histoire militante inspirent l’imaginaire collectif et alimentent  un potentiel à être constamment revisité par les artistes. Hormis la présence des travailleurs sur les chantiers de construction, le Vieux-Montréal est déserté et nimbé d’une aura fantomatique accentuée par l’ambiance glaciale des premiers mois d’hiver. Pour retrouver le charme de cette Place Publique et stimuler la vie collective du quartier, il semblait urgent de lui faire reprendre vie. Ayant observé l’activité ininterrompue des artistes au sein du bâtiment, force est de constater que l’atelier demeure un lieu fertile pour la création, même en temps de crise. Qui donc pouvait alors être mieux placé pour intervenir sur cette Place Publique hivernale que ceux et celles qui, chaque jour, l’observent des fenêtres de leurs ateliers ? 

C’est ainsi que Tout se confond, apparaît, puis s’efface de nouveau rassemble neuf propositions in situ réalisées par les artistes en Ateliers Montréalais, un programme de résidence long-terme à la Fonderie Darling. Projection vidéo, performance spontanée, interventions sonores et installations sculpturales occuperont la rue et les interstices du bâtiment, jusqu’à l’arrivée du printemps. L’une après l’autre et en cadence soutenue, les œuvres apparaîtront dans l’espace. Cachées, furtives ou bien visibles, les différentes propositions se répondront entre elles de manière séquentielle, en ligne droite ou à sens inverse, bien que parfois empruntant quelques détours. Comme on trace les fils d’une constellation, les artistes rebondissent sur les questions d’espace renégocié et de temps suspendu, tout en arpentant la structure de nos architectures intérieures ; les voix qu’on y entend oscillent entre différentes positions - la dystopie, le détachement, la dissidence ou la fabulation – autant d’attitudes révélatrices de notre rapport complexe à la réalité. Que ce soit par hasard ou qu'ils se soient volontairement déplacés, les piétons montréalais sont invités au gré d’une marche à faire un détour et à transiter par ce parcours qui mène imperceptiblement vers un processus d’identification et d’introspection.

Milly-Alexandra Dery  

 

11 février 
SIMON BELLEAU 

Annotations est une œuvre vidéo évolutive de Simon Belleau visible dans une fenêtre de la porte d’entrée du 250 rue Queen, en marge de la Place Publique. Au fil des semaines, l’artiste annote les œuvres des artistes de l’exposition au rythme où il les voit émerger dans l’espace ; ses notes se réfèrent exclusivement aux objets et aux actions, évacuant volontairement tout contexte. Compte rendu schématique du tangible, cette rétroprojection jouée en boucle reproduit la forme d’une page blanche sur laquelle de courtes phrases défilent. Bien que par sa nature l’œuvre incite inévitablement aux commentaires, ces annotations abrégées résultent d’un travail de déconstruction qui se positionne à l’opposé d’une survalorisation du discours critique. L’effort de synthèse et la volonté d’allègement laissent place à l’idée que le langage visuel de l’art l’emporte maintes fois sur les justifications. Parmi les propositions, Annotations donne le ton d’un dialogue marqué par un temps de latence qui débute avec l’installation de la première œuvre dans l’espace et se termine au moment où la huitième œuvre, et son annotation, viendront clore la parenthèse.

13 février 
KARINE FRÉCHETTE

Alors que les mots permettent de réduire l’œuvre à sa plus simple expression, l’épuration des phénomènes du visibles recadre notre expérience du monde à sa géométrie la plus élémentaire. Observation libre d’une conception post-internet du paysage, Shadow Recorder 4V1 et Shadow Recorder 5V1 sont les esquisses d’une recherche en cours : comment incarner, par la ligne et la couleur, l’expérience momentanée d’une ombre mouvante ? En dehors des confins de son atelier, Karine Fréchette expose à la merci des intempéries une double séquence de longs tissus voilés suspendus à des structures de métal, comme de grands drapeaux flottants sur la Place Publique. L’étude des effets de lumières résultant des variations du cycle solaire est associée à l'abstraction analytique des formes, à un processus qui valorise la  répétition du geste en décalage. Méthodique et minutieux, ce dernier permet à l’artiste de matérialiser un fragment immatériel du réel, l’expérience transitoire d’un corps opaque qui intercepte la lumière.

17 février 
JEANETTE JOHNS
  
L’armature d’une fenêtre encadre le champ de vision ; elle permet de regarder au loin ou, au contraire, d’observer en secret l’activité qui se déroule au-dedans. À force de regarder par une large fenêtre donnant sur un mur de brique, Jeanette Johns s’est demandée ce qui se passait de l’autre côté de son studio, chez ses voisins d’atelier. Dans la mesure où les rencontres sont réduites au maximum, l’artiste imagine un autre mode de liaison par le biais d’une reproduction taille réelle de la fenêtre cintrée de son atelier, dans laquelle les vitres sont remplacées par des miroirs. Posée au sol, face aux étages du bâtiment-résidence, Moon as Mirror in Search for Life offre une judicieuse mise en abyme où l’artiste peut observer son propre reflet et celui des autres, deviner leurs présences à l'intérieur du bâtiment par le signe des lumières allumées. Alors que la distance caractérise la nature de nos expériences humaines actuelles, Johns explore la symbolique de cette fenêtre-miroir comme moyen pour communiquer, en reflétant que la vie d'atelier se poursuit en isolement, à l'abri des regards.

20 février 
PHILIPPE BATTIKHA

La réciprocité entre les espaces intérieur et extérieur de l’atelier et de la Place Publique forme le point de départ de plusieurs des propositions in situ du projet. Philippe Battikha élargit le périmètre de l’exposition aux rues avoisinantes en isolant un bruit ponctuellement entendu dans la ville de Montréal, celui du signal d’avertissement déployé avant une explosion à la dynamite. Une corne à air est dissimulée sur le toit de la Fonderie Darling ; le son puissant de cette alarme est modifié pour émettre un appel de secours en alphabet morse. Déclenchée à intervalles sporadiques, Save Our Souls introduit une rupture dans l’environnement sonore urbain par un geste teinté d’une douce ironie, d’un humour subtil. Transmettre ce signal de détresse fait écho à un réel sentiment d’impuissance partagé par la communauté de la Fonderie Darling ; comment est-il possible d’assurer la présence de l’art, des artistes et des travailleurs culturels au sein d’un quartier en proie à une spéculation immobilière effrénée ? À quel point le corps peut-il tolérer d’exister au centre d’un chantier de construction perpétuel, à travers les bruits intenses, les vibrations et les débris ?

 
24 février 
MICHAEL EDDY 
 
Deux œuvres se font face : d’un côté se trouve une sculpture de la protagoniste Na’vi de la superproduction cinématographique Avatar ; de l’autre, sur une banderole suspendue, l’image d’un des chevaliers anonymes figurant dans les publicités de recrutement d’Algorithme Pharma. Sur la Place Publique, Michael Eddy met en parallèle ces deux personnages en s’interrogeant sur le processus d’identification aux récits et aux mythes, notamment par le costume et la personnification. Neytiri et Allez au front pour la recherche renvoient à la manière dont certaines figures deviennent de puissants outils pour façonner une forme de militantisme fantasmé, vécu par associations fictives. L’archétype de la guerrière spirituelle protectrice de son peuple et celui du héros médiéval calqué sur la figure de Jon Snow de la série à succès Game of Thrones incarnent un idéal de bravoure et de vertu qui résonne profondément avec l’imaginaire culturel contemporain. Au cinéma et dans la publicité, l’appel à l’action - sauver son peuple, soutenir la recherche médicale – s’arrime à un processus de déshumanisation vers l’héroïsme. Le divertissement, le kitsch, le populisme et l’idéologie s’entremêlent ; un dualisme entre la réalité et la fiction envahit progressivement l’espace public et l’appareil médiatique. Par cette mise en scène, Michael Eddy réfère également à sa propre expérience au sein de la Fonderie Darling, un lieu qui prend parfois l’allure d’un bâtiment-forteresse isolé au centre de la Cité du Multimédia. Alors que la rue Ottawa est depuis plus de dix ans le théâtre de nombreux antagonismes, l’artiste imagine la Place Publique comme un lieu mythique, symbole d’une position réfractaire à la transformation d’un quartier industriel en ville néolibérale.


05 mars 
FRANCES ADAIR MCKENZIE

Une conscience du site guide inévitablement les réflexions des artistes et leurs propositions sur la Place Publique; subtilement, les œuvres qui s’amoncèlent bifurquent vers des récits ayant comme trame de fond la résilience, la résistance et la solidarité. Untitled with suet 2021 (after Joyce Wieland’s Solidarity 1973) est un assemblage de chaussures coulées dans du plâtre, recouvertes de suif pour les oiseaux et fixées à une structure métallique peinte bleu ciel. Débutant sur le trottoir et pour dévier ensuite dans la rue, la proposition de Frances Adair Mckenzie est une référence au travail de l’artiste canadienne Joyce Wieland, précisément à un film expérimental documentant une manifestation des employées de la Dare Cookie Factory à Kitchener, en Ontario, dans les années soixante-dix. On y voit un plan rapproché de dizaines de pieds de femmes prolétaires qui marchent pour l’égalité salariale et des conditions de travail décentes. Contrairement aux images filmées par Wieland, les pieds moulés par Mckenzie sont indisciplinés et refusent de marcher au pas ; selon la direction où pointent les semelles, la file est parfois fracturée, parfois inversée du bas vers le haut. Seulement deux moules ont été créés pour réaliser l’ensemble ; comme l’Histoire qui se répète à travers le temps, les formes reviennent en boucle pour donner l’illusion d’une continuité, d’un mouvement vers l’avant. Pour contraindre ces mouvements au cadre sculptural, Mckenzie s’inspire de procédés de l’animation vidéo comme le cycle de marche (walk cycle) et de techniques de montage associées à Dziga Vertov et l’avant-garde du cinéma soviétique, comme l’assemblage séquentiel ou le dynamisme géométrique. Ode à la divergence et à l’insoumission, hommage féministe, Untitled with suet 2021 (after Joyce Wieland’s Solidarity 1973) revisite en sculpture une tradition cinématographique expérimentale qui allie la conscience sociale à la liberté de représentation.

L’artiste dédie cette pièce à Ellen & Adam & Divina


10 mars 
MARLON KROLL 
 
15 mars
SANDRA VOLNY 
 
À déterminer
MARION LESSARD

 

-

Place publique

Annotations est une œuvre vidéo évolutive de Simon Belleau visible dans une fenêtre de la porte d’entrée du 250 rue Queen, en marge de la Place Publique. Au fil des semaines, l’artiste annote les œuvres des artistes de l’exposition au rythme où il les… Lire Plus

-

Place publique

Alors que les mots permettent de réduire l’œuvre à sa plus simple expression, l’épuration des phénomènes du visibles recadre notre expérience du monde à sa géométrie la plus élémentaire. Observation libre d’une conception post-internet du paysage, Shadow… Lire Plus

-

Place publique

L’armature d’une fenêtre encadre le champ de vision ; elle permet de regarder au loin ou, au contraire, d’observer en secret l’activité qui se déroule au-dedans. À force de regarder par une large fenêtre donnant sur un mur de brique, Jeanette Johns s’est… Lire Plus

-

Place publique

La réciprocité entre les espaces intérieur et extérieur de l’atelier et de la Place Publique forme le point de départ de plusieurs des propositions in situ du projet. Philippe Battikha élargit le périmètre de l’exposition aux rues avoisinantes en isolant… Lire Plus

-

Place publique

Deux œuvres se font face : d’un côté se trouve une sculpture de la protagoniste Na’vi de la superproduction cinématographique Avatar ; de l’autre, sur une banderole suspendue, l’image d’un des chevaliers anonymes figurant dans les publicités de recrutement… Lire Plus

-

Place publique

Une conscience du site guide inévitablement les réflexions des artistes et leurs propositions sur la Place Publique; subtilement, les œuvres qui s’amoncèlent bifurquent vers des récits ayant comme trame de fond la résilience, la résistance et la solidarité.… Lire Plus